We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place when the weather is unreliable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Futuroscope

Futuroscope
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With more than 40 million visitors since it opened, Futuroscope is one of the best-loved leisure parks in France and the only one of its kind in Europe. Futuroscope is the ideal place to relax in, with 60 hectares of tranquil green countryside and 25 original experiences you won't find anywhere else: films in giant format, thrill-filled attractions, 3D rides with 4D effects, games, live shows, open-air activities, and more. The spectacular theatres inside Futuroscope are gigantic sculptures and their futuristic lines blend in smoothly with the surrounding landscape. Discovery and thrills guaranteed for everyone, young and old!
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place when the weather is unreliable!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Loads of indoor motion simulator theatres with dynamic seats so a brilliant choice for a rainy day. There are outdoor rides too but this is not a white-knuckle theme park. Amazing architecture and photo opportunities.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank EdwinaTyphoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,161
    3,436
    1,395
    478
    221
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A dated park”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have to say that I was disappointed with Futuroscope. In all, there are about 20 attractions in the park of which around half are showings of a movie in variable forms whether it is Imax, 3d, 4d etc. The problem is that this was all probably excellent when the park was built 25 years ago but you can see better quality films in your local cinema with digital technology that is now available.

There were only one or two rides to go on, with only "Dances with Robots" worth recommending. The architecture is nice and the park is well kept. Most of the attractions are understandably in French and you are given a headset with an English version of the narrative. The headsets aren't particularly good though and it is ofter difficult to work out what is being said.

I wouldn't recommend a visit I am afraid and definitely wouldn't go back unless there was significant investment in the place. You can't call a park Futuroscope and then fill it with dated technology!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Adamolo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saumur, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“BEWARE OFF PEAK”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We first visited Futuroscope with two friends on 17th September; it was 100% closed that day and so we had a wasted journey.

We visited a 2nd time on 4th October when it was only 55% open. Out of 24 experiences, 10 were closed for planned maintenance and one had technical difficulties. The tickets were, of course, full price and no mention was made on the website. This is simply not acceptable. On top of the €70 for the two tickets you will also pay €7 to park your car and €2 for the headphones, that you already have plenty of, had you been informed to tale them beforehand. Many food outlets were closed and you end up rushing around trying to catch the start of one performance after the end of an earlier one. Most shows do not seem to be continuous and so you need a timeline strategy to optimise your visit.

Of the experiences that were open, The Monsters of the Deep was incredibly realistic, but the film being shown in I-max was nothing exceptional. My favourite was Dynamic Vienne, but heed the warnings if you do have a heart problem.

Something that is annoying is that many of these experiences are of American origin, but overdubbed in French. So for example, English listeners can hear Robert Redford speaking in dulcet tones describing the wonders of the universe in Cosmic Collisions. Sadly, French listeners have a manic space-pilot on Speed screaming at 100db, so Robert Redford is very hard to hear. The same thing happens in the I-max where a National Geographic type film is over-dubbed into high volume French, so that the original soundtrack is swamped in the theatre.

We have heard so many positive reviews about Futuroscope, we thought that we were being smart avoiding the queues but all-in-all, we both felt that the day was somewhat disappointing. We really wanted to see the Dance with Robots but that was closed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TA IL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant day out”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Went with family on a Thursday on September so very empty and no queues .

Some of the attractions are very good - we enjoyed the Sea Monsters and one about the universe .

Architecture is stunning and park very nicely laid out . Not a must do but would recommend as a chateu diversion

Helpful?
Thank Realtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A day well spend!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We went there in April, so there's not many people. It's a park mainly to see and enjoy, not so much to big rides, but money weel spend.
Great evening show!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank siul322016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Futuroscope also viewed

Montgenevre, Hautes-Alpes
 

Been to Futuroscope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing