We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and Jaded Hotel to Match the Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaza Site du Futuroscope Hotel
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tired and Jaded Hotel to Match the Park”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The hotel was used as base for a night during a visit at Futuroscope. We stayed in the 'Top Club' section of the Hotel, this was only different to the standard section thanks to a minibar, some bath robes and a 'courtesy tray.'
The check in process all ran smoothly, and we got to our rooms with no trouble, however, when we arrived in our rooms we found that there was a window linking the bathroom and bedroom. This was a bit uncomfortable, as anyone having a shower would have their midriff in plain view, which is of course fine if you are staying with a partner, but it is a tad awkward to say the least if you are staying with your family. We did in fact try to cover up the window but we found it fairly tricky, and there was no curtain to use. The whole room was decorated in a rather drab 1980s style with orange and brown decor. The designers also thought it would be a good idea to line most of the room in faux ostrich skin, which did nothing to aid the overall experience. The air conditioning could not be controlled from inside the room, so we could do nothing to improve the pathetic dribble of air from the small vent. The shower bath/shower door was far to small for any reasonably sized man, so when the shower was turned on the floor would rapidly become drenched.
The facilities available gave the 'Top Club' section 4 stars, but these did nothing to compensate for the dreadful look and feel of the hotel.
The room was overlooking other drab and tired looking buildings behind the hotel and a car park. There was a poorly kept lawn with heating units whirring noisily, and did nothing to help my sleep.
While the staff were friendly and polite they didn't speak very good English, which would not have been at all helpful for any non-French speaking visitors.
The complementary breakfast we had at the hotel was really quite poor, it was a buffet with cereals like coco pops etc. The tables weren't cleaned after someone had left, I really did expect more a 4 star hotel.
So, overall a fairly disappointing visit, even for one night only.

Room Tip: I would recommend you stay in some of the other hotels in the area and take a short drive to the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dahno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    649
    311
    140
    34
See reviews for
809
382
7
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed here for the second time in July 2011 - using the hotel as a stop-off on the way further south and also as a base to visit Futuroscope.

Travelling with three children (14,12,9) we booked a family room and got adjoining rooms - one with large double bed and the other with three singles. Rooms were a good size and very clean with a decent bathroom.

We did not eat at the hotel. As other reviewers have said, the restaurant prices are fairly high - we ate at Futuroscope and bought groceries from the nearby Auchan supermarket. (The last time we stayed we also drove into Poitiers and had a decent restaurant meal).

Although there is a shuttle bus to the Futuroscope park it is also walking distance, so we didn't use it.

I booked online and got a very good rate of £125 per night for the two rooms - the standard of the room was much higher than the budget hotel rooms you could get for a similar price in the UK.

Check in / out was easy and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mum4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Comfortable rooms that are not too small. Indoor pool convenient. Breakfast and dinner a bit pricey but alternatives not too far away by car.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesson, France
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We were planning to visit Futuroscope so I booked this hotel as it claimed to be near the entrance to the Park. I called the hotel and asked for either connecting rooms or at least rooms next to each other. I was told this was not a problem. I booked rooms on the Club floor, primarily as it was claimed to be a non-smoking floor. We arrived at the hotel just after a bus load of guests had arrived so it took 20 minutes to be checked in. I asked for the connecting rooms and was told they had all been allocated. The best the receptionist could do was give us two rooms in the same corridor. She spoke to me in English so I will be kind and attribute her rudeness to the fact she was operating in a foreign language. When I asked for information about the hotel she told me I could find it all in the room. Of course there was nothing in the room. We took the kids to the swimming pool. The photo on the website must have been taken with a fisheye lens as it is much smaller in reality. You also have to wear those ridiculous french swimming "speedos" or you are not allowed to use the pool. It was freezing. The rooms were OK, the beds comfortable and we all slept well. Breakfast for the guests on the Club floor is served in the basement. We arrived at the time it was supposed to open but there was no staff present. We served ourselves to coffee and the meagre breads and cold meat laid out for breakfast. As we left 20 minutes later, the staff arrived with the rest of the buffet. We walked to Futuroscope (10 minutes) because the free bus didn't show up. The parc was great. We booked for dinner and decided to take the buffet at around 25 per person excluding drinks. The selection was poor and the quality not great. Service was inattentive at best. Breakfast on the second day was better - the staff showed up only 10 minutes late and this time there was some hot food. The bacon was digusting, the scrambled eggs made up from powder, I suspect. As we were taking our bags to reception at the end of our stay we noticed signs to a lounge that apparently was available for guests on the club floor. Of course, none had told us about this and there was no information in the room. Check out was slow and we had problems with our luggage transfer to the train station. We had paid 18 euros for the 2 bags to be transported from and to the hotel. As there was no one at the station when we arrived to receive our bags (we had to drag them all the way to the hotel), we didn't receive the necessary paperwork so that apparently meant it was a problem for the bags to be returned to the station. It eventually got sorted out but the receptionist made a big drama out of it. An OK hotel that is clearly set up to receive groups who are travelling on the cheap and don't expect any service. Having paid a lot of money, I thought the standard of service, even for France, was poor.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tonytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chasseneuil-du-Poitou hotels

Salisbury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Don't believe the photos of the hotel on it's website - it is not at all as plush or elegant as it suggests. I was quite surprised how basic the hotel's ground floor was given the opulent photos.
After a long journey all we wanted to do was to get in to the swimming pool - the main reason we chose this hotel. But - it was closed.
Never mind, a nice meal and an early night. The earliest table we could reserve was 9pm!
Once again our holiday spirit prevailed, we got changed and headed for a relaxing drink in the hotel bar. Then it took 30 minutes to get served!
Finally, we joined the queue for the 9pm sitting. Every other guest was heading for the buffet - which appeared lovely but we just wanted a main course and bed by that time, and at 25e per head it would have just been a waste, so we asked for the menu to order a la carte (still around 17e per head) . The staff were clearly very disgruntled, took an age to take our order, and when it arrived the food was terrible. Drinks for the children were forgotten and we eventually left and went to bed. We found that all the staff were dismissive and unhelpful.
The rooms were fine and good value, but this hotel obviously makes it's money up through charging through the nose for any extras - food, drinks, wifi, etc.
Futuroscope the next day was great!
I would advise finding another nearby hotel- there are dozens that are equidistant from Futuroscope.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldwrapped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed for four nights in August. We had connecting rooms. The rooms are OK, nothing special but ok. Please note THERE IS NO ROOM SERVICE and NO TEA MAKING FACILITIES IN THE ROOM. We had to insist and were finally given a kettle from the 3rd (4 star) floor! We booked with Thomas Cook and the room was said to have pay to view Movie channels, will it didn't and the hotel said they hadn't had them for some years. They offered us DVDs but they were all in French. So we had to buy some in the supermarket. Our son is Autistic and needs TV time to wind down. It also turned out that Breakfast was NOT INCLUDED, despite asking the Thomas Cook rep about it. So we had to pay E35+ to eat the breakfast each morning which we felt very aggreaved about. This is not the hotels fault, but beware when you book through an agent that you are getting what you pay for. The hotel is ideal for Futuroscope you can walk to it in 10 mins. However, don't have any expectations for a good view, it is horrible like a building site! The staff were helpful (came up with a kettle for instance), but not at all friendly, not even a smile on arrival. You would ONLY stay here to go to Futuroscope really, so it serves its purpose. We paid £500 for 4 nights for two rooms which wasn't bad really, though a croissant thrown in would have been nice!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helenesays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north Wales
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Its difficult to go into much detail as we only used the hotel to sleep in. We didnt eat there or use any of the facilities.
It is within 10 mins. walking distance to the park which was very handy although there are a number of other hotels in the area.
We had booked a family room and ended up with2 interconnecting rooms which was good. the rooms where clean but no hint of extravagance at all and very basic. \\ididnt like having to contact reception to control the air conditioning ,very strange. The hotel is in need of some upgrading but for a base for the park it was fine

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pentrelegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chasseneuil-du-Poitou hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Site du Futuroscope
Hotel Ibis Site du Futuroscope
#2 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
1,077 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Parc - Pirates
Hotel du Parc - Pirates
#11 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inter Hotel Alteora site du Futuroscope
Inter Hotel Alteora site du Futu...
#6 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Poitiers Site du Futuroscope
Novotel Poitiers Site du Futuros...
#8 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
1,003 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Alisee Poitiers Nord
Quality Hotel Alisee Poitiers No...
#5 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Poitiers Site du Futuroscope
Mercure Poitiers Site du Futuros...
#1 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Site du Futuroscope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Site du Futuroscope Hotel

Property: Plaza Site du Futuroscope Hotel
Address: 1 avenue du Futuroscope | Teleport 1, 86360 Chasseneuil-du-Poitou, France (Formerly Clarion Poitiers Futuroscope)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Site du Futuroscope Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HRS, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Site du Futuroscope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Futuroscope
Plaza Site Du Futuroscope Hotel France/Chasseneuil-Du-Poitou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing