We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff and location”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Saint-Quentin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for one night one the way to our friend's house near Troyes. The staff were amazing, they gave us a bigger room, the shower and facilities were fab. They had a great litte bar, and as we went out for dinner the location was great as we ate a restaurant just right around the corner. The parking at the hotel was free and this is an added bonus. All good at this hotel, but the staff were the best thing about the whole experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berniesutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand H, Gérant at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,

Toute l'équipe du Grand Hôtel vous remercie pour votre commentaire. Nous sommes heureux que notre hôtel vous ait plu.
Le personnel de l'hôtel met tout en œuvre pour vous satisfaire.
Dans l’espoir de vous recevoir à nouveau au sein de notre établissement et vous remerciant à nouveau pour votre commentaire,
Veuillez agréer Madame, Monsieur nos salutations les plus sincères.

Bien Cordialement,

Marie , Directrice du Grand Hôtel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 98 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our second stop here. Conveniently located for a night stop within 2 hours of Calais. The rooms are large and well furnished with comfortable beds and good bathrooms and there's free parking. We have had twin "privilege" rooms at the front and haven't found the road noisy but we were there at weekends. With hindsight we should have had the 12 euro breakfast as we spent 10 euros on coffee and 2 croissants at a dull motorway service buffet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 19lenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stopped over for one night on the way to spain and found this hotel in a great location and the staff recommended a local restaurant Brochettes & co. Very friendly food good but a little pricey, although we found that was France in general! Our room was facing the front of the hotel and was very spacious and the bathroom had a walkin shower and bath with inflatable pillow which was a nice bonus. The morning traffic started quite early so would recommend a room not facing the main road unless perhaps it's quieter at the weekend, our stay was midweek.

Room Tip: Traffic noisy so maybe a room not facing front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

An overnight stop before returning home, we booked through the Internet on previous recommendations. It is a large and very quiet hotel, apparently is busier in the week.one has the feeling that it would have been Grand once. The room was large, clean and comfortable, very warm , we had all the windows open all night. Great bath with inflatable pillow. The bed was very comfortable but pillows could be better. The hotel does not have a restaurant but we found something in town which was fine. Breakfast was not included but was a good spread for continental, cooked eggs and bacon available. Good coffee and excellent crusty bread as expected. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Tip, bar drinks very expensive.would return but always like to try different hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teeathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We booked for a very reasonable rate and were pleasantly surprised. This hotel is located right off the main square of St. Quentin within walking distance of several resturants, pubs, bars etc. The rooms are huge (especially for Europe) and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was even quite large with a soaking tub and a seperate standing shower. The only complaints I have are that there are quite literally no electric outlets available in the room, I had to crawl under a table and unplug the tea kettle to charge my phone. There is no air-con so it can get quite hot in the room but the windows open and let in a nice breeze. The staff speaks some English but not much so it can get a bit challenging at times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't front the street, you'll want your windows open and the street c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ambrai5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very comfortable hotel for a night stop 1 ¾ hours drive from Calais. We had a “privilege” room which was spacious, comfortable, quiet, smart bathroom, friendly staff, private parking across the road, 90 euros through booking.com, which was considerably less than the price quoted on the hotel’s website. St Quentin has a pleasant central square with several bars and restaurants. We were not impressed by the hotel‘s recommendation for dinner, le Glacier.

Room Tip: Privilege room 104 - no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19lenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our one-night stay here was totally unplanned. On our way home from holiday to Calais and the Eurotunnel, we were involved in a very serious car accident (caused by an English driver). Luckily, we weren't badly injured but our car was a total write off and we had to spend an extra night in France. The French police booked us in to this hotel and we couldn't have chosen better ourselves. The room was large and comfortable, just what we needed after our horrific experience, but what really made our stay so special was the helpfulness, kindness and concern of all the staff. They were exceptional, organising a restaurant (the excellent Le Glacier) taxis and extra suitcases for us as we were too dazed and shocked to do much for ourselves. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and hope that one day we can visit it again under rather less traumatic circumstances.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Quentin hotels
1.4 mi away
Kyriad Saint Quentin
Kyriad Saint Quentin
#3 of 15 in Saint-Quentin
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Saint Quentin Basilique
Ibis Saint Quentin Basilique
#4 of 15 in Saint-Quentin
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis budget Saint Quentin
Ibis budget Saint Quentin
#2 of 15 in Saint-Quentin
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Florence
Le Florence
#1 of 15 in Saint-Quentin
314 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel balladins St-Quentin / Gauchy
Hotel balladins St-Quentin / Gau...
#10 of 15 in Saint-Quentin
61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Memorial
Hotel Memorial
#6 of 15 in Saint-Quentin
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 6 rue Dachery, 02100 Saint-Quentin, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Saint-Quentin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Saint-Quentin
Price Range: $84 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hôtel has 24 spacious and comfortable rooms. All our rooms are equipped with hospitality tray with coffee, tea .., Flat screen TV, mini bar, bathtub .. The hotel has established partnerships with restaurant and gym to make you benefit from rates advantageous! We serve a buffet breakfast will face a green patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing