We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Particulier Richelieu
Ranked #3 of 9 Calais B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 17, 2014

For this class of hotel it's 10 from 10. Amazingly nice. I was surprised. For this money.. it was very cosy, very clean, enough big and original in decoration.We ve been so satisfied! Bed was also totally fine! pure enjoy to stay, plus very very nice Benoit. Thank you very much!
Recommend this place to all who is looking simple location on the correct rate. You won't regret!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatyana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 195 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was our second overnight stay here, and if anything better than the first as Benoit continues to make progress with the tasteful restoration. Room clean and reasonable size for price, bed very comfortable, wifi much appreciated, and good breakfast. Stairs cab be rather tiring if you are on the top floor!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperDad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

English speaking owner, very helpful and friendly. Central location in Calais with secure off street parking with several excellent restaurants very close. The owner Benoit is refurbishing the hotel, but our room had a new bathroom suite and the room had been redecorated. Excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merryfreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Revisiting the hotel was somehow like coming home. Within the last 2 years Benoit, the owner, has been busy with renovations and still is. The old wooden stairs have regained their natural look and step by step, the house undergoes careful modernisation, respecting its history and charme.
A teamaker in our room was an appreciated new item (thanks for that!) - and I am sure, next time we will also find some soap for a relaxing bath in the beautiful huge tub.
Though the hotel was fully booked, we did not hear any noise from our neighbours.

The house is hardly beatable in the value for money category (if you do not expect plasma tv, power shower etc.); and for ferry travellers, shoppers and sightseers the best place in Calais I can think of.
Car drivers might be interested that the parking behind the house (secured by a locked gate) is still available for 4 Euros per day,
Suppose, our room is on the list for future renovations so that for minor reasons (wallpaper) it does not get the all points.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back overlook the car park, but they are utterly calm. Rooms to the front overlook a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocLangue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed here overnight for a recent shopping trip to Calais. Hotel is very reasonably priced and in a great location for the town of Calais. Free street parking, good selection of nearby restaurants and the owner Benoit speaks excellent English and is extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmillen1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Having stayed in Calais several times before as a stop over, we usually stay at the Ballidins, which has always been adequate for a budget stop over. This year, we decided to go for somewhere central to Calais.

We were impressed that very soon after booking, the owner Benoit contacted us regarding check in. On arrival, Benoit was there and he was very friendly and helpful. He gave us a map and pointed out the local restaurants etc. He then personally showed us to our rooms.
From the outside, the hotel is not that impressive. We had asked for parking to be reserved, but we didn’t need it. There is plenty of on street parking, without restrictions. If you get a room at the front of the hotel you can see your car and views of the park opposite. Location is spot-on. You are around the corner from many bars and restaurants. The Hotel is around 5 minutes walk from the train station.

From Tripadvisor we already knew that the hotel is undergoing refurbishment, and we understand that this painstaking task is being done personally by Benoit.
We stayed in room 5. This room was a double with a bath. The tap fitting did have a shower head. This room did not overlook the park. We have travelled as a couple, accompanied by a friend, who stayed on the floor below us, overlooking the park. We did notice that the landing light on his floor did not work, and it was very dark at night. There was a kettle and cups provided with tea and coffee, but no milk or sugar - We did not realise this until the next morning, and as we were in a state of undress, did not go downstairs to ask. The rooms were warm and clean. The pillows were very thin and we found the towels small. There were no bath sheets. The toiletries provided smelt very nice and seemed of good quality. We had an old fashioned bath and the décor in the bathroom was good.

On exiting for our evening meal, some individuals, who were clearly not welcome by the manager (possibly asylum seekers) did try and enter the hotel. They were quickly dispersed.
We didn’t have breakfast, but despite this, were offered a cup of tea or coffee when checking out. We paid €49 per room.
We would stay here again. It is a quirky, chic hotel, in a very central location, with brilliant customer service. Hopefully, next year the refurbishments will be completed.

Positives
- Customer Service
- Location
- Parking
- Quirky
- Warm and clean
- Secure – has pin number entry
- Close to station

Negatives:
- Towels
- Tea/Coffee facilities
- Undergoing Refurbishment

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyM_and_IanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Particulier Richelieu for one night last weekend. We got a room with full length double sided cast iron bathtub with legs! The room is tastefully decorated with lovely wall paper and antique furniture. We looked at two other rooms and they were equally pretty.

On arrival no one opened the front door so we called the number that was printed on the door. Benoit came within 5 mins to greet us. He was very helpful and told us the local attractions and gave us recommendation for restaurants and second hand shops. We saw him several more times, every time asking him more questions and he always helped us with a smile, very welcoming.

The hotel is centrally located, right next to many restaurants and on Saturday there is street market right next to the hotel.

Extremely good value hotel. Lovely host. Great location. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wingaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
1.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel De La Plage
Hotel De La Plage
#17 of 24 in Calais
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#3 of 24 in Calais
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chambres d'Hotes du Parc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Particulier Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Particulier Richelieu

Address: Richelieu | 17 Richelieu Street, 62100, Calais, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Calais
Price Range: $49 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Particulier Richelieu 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Particulier Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richelieu Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing