We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to find and Unreliable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had trouble finding this hotel, so phoned only to be told that they had given our reservation to someone else! Although they said check in was until 11pm (and it was 9pm) they had expected us to phone by 6pm and let them know we would be 'late'. They had also refused to take our American Express card but despite making the booking seven days before hand did not tell us. If you want to find yourself without a room late at night in a foreign country by all means book into this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Andrew G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 123 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here overnight before sailing back to dover after a weeks holiday in France. On arrival the reception area was slightly dated but the receptionist was nice enought and gave us keys to our room. The restaurant looked lovely so we expected a lovely room too. Unfortunately this was not the case. The room was very basic and very old fashioned. There was a double bed, a bedside table, a small table with a chair and a small shelf with a tv on it (i think the tv was the modernest thing in the room). The wardrobe was a single small metal bar underneath the tv shelf, good job we were only there for one night. There were 2 lamps and a very dim ceiling light in the room. The sockets that the lamps were plugged into were hanging off the wall, not very safe to be honest.
Next i went into the bathroom, the stink was awful, the tilet was a little odd, electric in some fashion and the shower looked very old and not exactly clean. Apparently it is like being back in Greece and you can't put toilet paper down the toilet, but the sign telling you this is actually behind the toilet so you don't see this until you have already done it, and no it won't flush away due to the poor toilet.
I wouldn't recommend this place, not even for a quick overnight stay, i'm sure you could pick up the ibis budget or camponile which are very clean and modern for the same price.
The final thing i would say about this place is definitely don't book it if you tall. I'm only 5ft9 and the bed wasn't long enough, feel hanging over the end which resulted in a poor nights sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna_josh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I am amazed that an incredibly good restaurant which I have eaten in several times before, could even THINK of owning/linking themselves to such a dingy, dirty, horrendous "hotel" Filthy dirty carpets, cracked and broken windows, a bathroom which can only be compared with a "down the garden" but with the bonus of having running water! The loo was so noisy one needed ear plugs. The bathroom SO small I surmised that one could actually sit on the loo and have a shower (there was no hook up for the shower so it had to be hand held) and if needs be, could be sick in the sink all at the same time! Very effective time wise! The room was dingy and dark, and dirty so I did not want to touch the telly control, so I have no idea whether the telly worked or not. We actually had an hilarious evening texting and sending pictures to our children..... one in Saudi and one here in England with photographs of this MORE than basic room/hotel! No lift, or porter or help with luggage, so one had to lug ones suitcase up 3 flights of stairs. Building resembles a 1950 high rise council estate. When you arrive you have to pay upfront... ie before you see the room, I now know why! I wish we had read your trip advisor reports before we booked there....... we would NEVER have booked!

Room Tip: Forget staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesmwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here en route from Oxford to La Rochelle and knew we would be only there for a few hours so didn't want to pay the earth. The 35E we paid on booking.com was fair but I would not want to pay anymore.
Pros - very close to the Euro tunnel terminal, very accommodating for a late check in (they gave us a pin code for the door and left a key in the key safe). The bed linen appeared quite clean.
Cons - very basic rooms with old decor and poor furnishings. Although a non-smoking room the soft furnishings (Ben throw etc)smelt of stale smoke. The bathroom en suite was not very clean and smelt of damp and also had no light.
We decided to get on the road early so did not stay for breakfast.
In conclusion this is a no frills hotel that provides a cheap place to briefly stop over but I would not recommend staying for much longer.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Suzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Having read some of the reviews about this hotel, we were in fear, and apprehension about our stay. We booked the hotel with Hotels Booking.com, and at €37.50 for a double room, this represented excellent value. The rooms were tired, and the furniture in need of a change, but they were clean, with comfortable beds, and warm. Stayed in room number 11, which was spacious, offering good views over the port. Would return if in Calais.

Stayed: April 2013
2  Thank Fueng2768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was a very poor excuse for a hotel, we choose it because of the location, and the offer and reviews on booking.com, we were sorely dissapointed. The room was semi clean, and the noise from the street until 3 in the morning, was not anyway welcoming, We opted for breakfast in the moriing, at 9+ Euros, what a joke that was, there was a toaster, no bread, juicer no fruit to juice, there was stale rolls and a couple peices of bread, very dark, very dry, there was a coffee machine which had a large selection to choose from, only a couple of buttons worked, Got half a cup had to use the milk for cereal to fill cup up but the milk was sour. So no cereal, there was nothing about this meal to rave about, there was also no staff there to ask for help. Never again.

Room Tip: Dont go there Dont waste your money on breakfast..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graymovers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

It really is not unreasonable to assume that because a restaurant is excellent, its own hotel is likely to aspire to the same standards.
Not so in this case. I have been to the Sole Meuniere restaurant many times and it's always been good. This time I decided to stay at their hotel and was shocked how awful it was.
It reminds me of hotels I used to stay in in East Germany in the 70's. Dark, dingy, filthy dirty and depressing. The public areas are just beyond belief.
The carpet in our room was filthy, the shower was falling to pieces and had mould growing on the ceiling, the bedcovers were dirty and old (the sheets were OK) the lighting was dim, the paint on the bedside tables was peeling, the curtains were both dirty and old ... the whole experience one one would not wish to repeat.
You are given a code to gain access the hotel after 9pm (when reception closes). It is written on a tiny, scrappy piece of paper which when I left my room I accidentally left behind. Both 'emergency' phone numbers on the door didn't answer and so I was left freezing cold outside the hotel unable to gain access until I was able to get my partner on her phone to come down and open the door. Again, quite appalling.
Calais itself on a Friday night sounds like a wild west town. People shouting and bellowing until 3 in the morning outside our window - nothing to do with the hotel - but it is still intimidating to stay in that sort of area.
I wouldn't wish staying here on anyone ... there are many far better hotels in Calais for the same sort of money.
I really do urge the owners to do something before the myriad of lousy write ups about the hotel begin to drag the restaurant down with it.

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking the road .... you will be awake all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterkirchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#3 of 24 in Calais
723 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
1.7 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
0 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
495 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel De La Plage
Hotel De La Plage
#16 of 24 in Calais
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant

Address: 1 boulevard de la Resistance, 62100, Calais, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: $47 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing