We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster!!!!! Not an experience to ever be repeated!!!!”
Review of Belazur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belazur Hotel
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Possibly the worst place I have ever stayed!!!! Where to start!!!! Booked for two nights as the reviews said nice, friendly hotel in central Calais. Yes, they were right it was in central Calais!!!!
The first impression of the hotel from outside was extremely tatty and in need of a good overhaul. We could not get into the hotel but spoke to someone outside and they said that it was OK in the past but now was full of immigrants for social housing. This was not a good first impression. We checked in and were told where our room was and took the smelly lift to our room via very dark corridors. The room was ok'ish in the fact that it had a double bed and a single on the floor and a tiny tiny shower-room but the sheets were clean!!!!! Tatty and depressing was first impression and this was probably one of the better rooms. We just thought it was for two nights so we could bear it!!!! Well we could have if the bar in the very near vicinity had not played very loud music until 2am!!!! Then to top it all the drilling in the room above us started at 8am!!! We did complain about the noise but the receptionist chose at that point not to understand English and offered to move us from room 12 to room 8 (not a million miles away from each other!!!) SO WE DECIDED TO GRIN AND BEAR IT!!!! We decided not to go to either breakfast as we preferred to eat out as we were unsure about what we would get served!!! The bathroom was bijoux (to say the least!!!!)
The hotel is under renovation and should not be open to the public. It is tatty and not a nice place to stay. On the plus side the sheets and towels were clean.
NOT TO BE REPEATED

Room Tip: In another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Planet3484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 120 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

: I would like to complain of the hotel. The room was really miserable!It was very cold and wet.There was smell of mold all around. The blankets were very old and ragged,there were holes from cigarettes on them. There was no toilet paper in the toilet. We had an really awful night there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Totka Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is a bit dated and old fashioned but the staff were friendly.The location is its best asset.It is close to the beach,bars and restaurants.There is a large free car park in front of the hotel.Good value at less than 60euros a night including breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djw55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Went with brother in law & our sons for weekend booze cruise - having read some of the previous comments the standard of room & service was far better than expected. We were welcomed by the very helpful receptionist & our rooms were of an acceptable standard for us lads !!

Well positioned for bars & restaurants.

Still continued refurbishment, but I believe this hotel is on the upward trend

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My grown-up son and I stayed here on a cycling trip through France. We picked this at random on arrival in Calais, which was our last call. Despite being in very scruffy lycra and cycling jersey after a week on the road, I was treated with utmost courtesy, and they allowed us to store the bikes in the garage for free. Room was fine: clean with comfortable beds and a working shower. We didn't take breakfast but my son, somewhat wistfully, reported that it looked like a really good buffet. Overall pretty much what I'd expect from a two star hotel in France, and good value.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back, rather than the front overlooking the square. Views of the garages, but much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericonabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

They are renovating the hotel, so parts of it are up-to-date. It's clean and it's in a good location (halfway between city hall and the beach). My only complaint is that it was very noisy the night that I was there due to Eurocup celebrations in the neighbourhood. Overall impression - good if you're on a budget, but keep in mind that it's a 2 star hotel and you can probably find a nicer place to stay if you're willing to spend the money.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I have seen some pretty scathing reviews which might have put me off if I had seen them before I booked. However, our experience was fine, and we would use the hotel again.

When we arrived reception was closed - just like most places in France it was shut for 2 hours over the lunch period. This wasn't a surprise, so we parked in the street and went for a walk around the square. When we got back, all was open so we went in. There was a big sign saying that there was work in progress, asking guests to be patient - in English as well as French. The reception and bar areas certainly seemed to have been recently overhauled.

The room was slightly faded - 1970s caramel bathroom suite giving away when the last renovation took place. There was a faint hint of smoke in the air, but I suspect replacing the carpets would cure that and it wasn't overpowering. The bed was clean, it wasn't the comfiest bed I have ever used but it was perfectly servicable, and there were extra pillows and blankets in the cupboard if we wanted them. No coffee-making facility in the room, which was a small disappointment

There was free parking in the square, but we're a bit precious about our 45 year old Citroen (we think it's a classic!) and so we opted for the 9€ secure parking, which wasn't in the rather scary car park behind the hotel - it was actually in the locked garage which was lit and appeared to be heated in the winter. We'd organised this beforehand via email, and the hotel was quick to respond to the question.

Breakfast was perfectly good, with decent coffee. While we were having breakfast, the receptionist came to say that due to an error by a new member of staff we'd been charged twice, and she was in the process of refunding the amount - since we were about to ask for another night's stay it all worked out in the end.
Can't comment on the bar as we didn't use it. There was a board offering snacks, but we wanted a meal so we wandered up the square to the Coq d'Or, which was so good we went back the next night.

We felt that the hotel seemed to have become somewhat faded over the years, but had been taken over or possibly inherited by someone who was trying to inject new life. If it was a big corporate then maybe it would be fair to expect them to change everything at once - but it had the feel of a family trying to get things back on track, trying to do do one thing at a time.

We felt that the hotel tried really hard, and delivered reasonable value for the money. We will go back next time we're in Calais, and we would be confident that things would be improving.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Beffroi
Hotel du Beffroi
#21 of 24 in Calais
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Calais Centre - Gare
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
172.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#11 of 24 in Calais
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belazur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belazur Hotel

Address: 23 Place D Armes, 62100, Calais, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: $45 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belazur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Belazur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belazur Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing