We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay Hotel/B&B”
Review of La Cle d'Opale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Cle d'Opale
Ranked #1 of 9 Calais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My colleagues and I booked this Hotel/B & B sight unseen and what a pleasant experience we had. The owners of the establishment could not have been more accommodating and helpful. The rooms are clean and well catered and the Bathrooms have undergone refurbishments and were just what we needed.
This place would be Ideal for Businessmen and also Tourists.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 290 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

A one night stay in Calais which was to do a little shopping. Found this place on the Internet and loved it. Isabelle the hostess was very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. The house was modern and very clean inside even though an old property.

I would definitely recommend this for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWF1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights , very peaceful
Like staying in somebody's beautiful house , absolutely spotless .
Easy access everywhere , walked everywhere , if you walk near the port you will find a lovely French " brasserie "
Family run and so delicious . People in Calais very friendly .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraineuk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here the night before taking the eurotunnel and we were extremely well looked after by the owner. Her guest house is recently renovated and rooms are clean and nicely decorated.
We didn't have breakfast as we had an early start but the owner very kindly got up early to see us off and even offered us an early breakfast or a breakfast to take with us.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Travel_girl_bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Situated in the city center, away from the majority of the other hotels in Calais, La Clé d'Opale is a 4 rooms bed and breakfast furbished with style and taste.
Since it's located in a old building, it's not insulated the way a hotel would be. So it's up to the clients to be considerate so that everybody can have a good night sleep.
The owners, Isabelle and her husband, are passionate about what they do, and it makes all the difference. They attend your every needs and care about you.
I would definitely come back there.

Room Tip: You probably want to be at the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripgirllondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

A charming hotel with Isabelle proving to be a very charming hostess. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the bed really comfortable. The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of our favourite restaurant (la buissonniere) and the markets and Isabelle could not have been more friendly or helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Calais.

Room Tip: The front rooms are larger with bigger bathrooms but overlook a busy main road. The rear rooms are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell_Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I had recommended Calais and La Cle d'Opale to my friends for a weekend trip and we had a great time. Isabelle could not have done more to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms were very comfortable and the atmosphere of the house which had been so well re-furbished was so relaxing and a nice change from hotels. It is well located in the lace-makers part of the city and within walking distance of the town centre. Isabelle also booked restaurants and taxis for us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolfladyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calais
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.9 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
716 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#3 of 24 in Calais
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
La Maison Blanche
La Maison Blanche
#1 of 4 in Sangatte
215 reviews
16.5 mi away
La Goelette
La Goelette
#2 of 12 in Wimereux
126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chambres d'Hotes du Parc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cle d'Opale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cle d'Opale

Address: 154 boulevard la Fayette, 62100, Calais, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Calais
Price Range: $103 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Cle d'Opale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing