We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Cle d'Opale
Nearby Hotels
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$97
$84
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Particulier Richelieu(Calais)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$63
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Calais(Calais)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$90
ibis Styles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveler rating
220
71
6
2
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
71
6
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecure parkingfantastic staywithin walking distancerestaurant for our evening mealaccommodating hostesslovely little guest housecurving staircaseone nightimpersonal hotelhamquick nightsteep stairsoff roadbedroom and bathroomspent two nightscroissantschain hotels
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 305 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This very nice town house within walking distance of Calais makes an excellent overnight stop. The house itself is charming and has only recently opened its doors to guests. The owner made us very welcome and gave us a map as well as recommending a couple of bistros. We did not sample breakfast as we had an early crossing.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Cameramadsolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here overnight, having first of all checked out the rating on Trip Advisor. We had previously stayed in another converted lacemaker's house, but were unable to get a booking there on this occasion.

Isabelle, the owner gave us a very warm welcome ans showed us to our double room on the second floor. It was beautifully fresh and spotlessly clean, but although the shower room was very well appointed, the conversation did not make the best use of the room space. We had a look in the other double room on the same floor,which had a full bathroom, and would have preferred this room if we had been given a choice.

As the venture is a fairly new one, Isabelle is aware that some more attention to detail needs to be applied e.g. the rather unsightly wires reaching from the wall to the television and the tea tray which had a kettle and cups and saucers, but no tea, coffee or milk.

We slept well in the comfortable bed and enjoyed a delicious continental breakfast which was just right for us, although some guests might prefer some ham and cheese to be included.

I have no doubt that the owners will address these small issues to improve their business further.

Bonne chance, Isabelle!

Carol Livingstone
London

Room Tip: If you like a bath in your room make sure you ask on booking.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The house was beautiful with lovely décor. Very clean and the owners were really welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. We stayed for one night in June as we were travelling back from a wedding and it was the perfect place to get some rest along the very long journey. Each room is unique and has it's own newly fitted, modern bathroom. Out room was very stylish and the bed was very comfortable. I was even given a sneaky peak into the other rooms in the morning before we left and all were up to the same high standard. If we return to Calais we will only be staying here. My partner also left his phone in the room by mistake and the owners got it back to us in under a week - amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

beautiful house in a calm area. very friendly welcome from the owner who's very happy to help and recommend places to go or things to do. cosy rooms. shame we weren't allowed to use the super deluxe shower as it would flood the room, but the hand shower did the trick too :)
very fresh breakfast (one tiny negative point: we got fruit salad out of a tin, a bit of a contrast with the fresh croissants, baguettes etc) but overall we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Calais is so much better than it used to be and this B&B makes it all the nicer to visit. Close to the centre of Calais and ease of access to restaurants and the beach by car. Comfortable room, the floor upstairs was a little noisy as it has laminate flooring but we soon settled down to sleep. ALso close to the train to get back to England.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjaminrobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews