We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful value!”
Review of Hotel du Beffroi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Beffroi
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Calais
redditch UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful value!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We were on a cheap pre Christmas escape and were pleased to find that 4 nights at this hotel were a real bargain. We expected a slightly jaded, scruffy room and were delighted find a spotlessly clean, well decorated ground floor room, which to our surprise opened out onto a garden! Our 4 fluffy towels were changed daily and the little shower room was spotless.The reception was very friendly and helpful and didn't mind us having just a coffee for breakfast.Its location was so convenient for many restaurants, bars and shops, which all looked fantastic with all the Christmas lights and decorations on.We shall definitely try to stay there again soon.

Room Tip: No tips, just trust the Management!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imatravellinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    24
    16
    10
See reviews for
11
48
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Good location with free parking in a street with a good mixture of restaurants and bars. Rooms are a little small but ok for this price for a night or two, very clean!! Close to ferry port.
Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Don't be put off by the exterior. We had a room on the ground floor for two nights with a little garden. It was extremely clean, just the right size and the hotel has a nice atmosphere. There's a lot of effort gone into the decor, even though it doesn't all match! The location is perfect, on a quiet street just off the centre square with all the bars, restaurants and boulangeries and the market just down the road on a Saturday.
Very quirky, comfy and clean. The only tiny complaint is the adjoining door slams shut when it's opened. Definately worth the money we paid.

Room Tip: Room 2 on the ground floor. It has a french door out into a little garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed one night here, right near the centre of town, very convenient. Clean, good bed & shower. Basic but good.
All the rooms are upstairs, maybe not so handy if that is a problem.
Breakfast was good but coffee wasa bit bitter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynnMRochesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Don't be fooled by the uninviting look from the front of the hotel or the dark brown paintwork up the stair case. or even be put off by the fact that you cannot check in before 5pm . The room we stayed in was basic, decent furniture but clean and we got what we payed for . That is a budget overnight stay that we will use again. Parking was easy and free. Didn't bother with breakfast
,at 9 euro for basic continental breakfast too expensive. chris

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPSait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calais
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

pleasant and friendly and even humorous personel, good organization, immediate assistance and help, clean room, comfortable bed, clean sanitary, delicate and well composed breakfast, easy to find and short way to shore and city centre

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Georg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked for 38 Euros a night through Booking.com so was very sceptical at the quality we were going to receive and went with the intention we would have to move. However we were very surprised at the cleanliness and quality of the accommodation. From the outside you do wonder, especially as there is a lot of work being undertaken in the area (Place D’Armes is currently a building site), but you are put at ease once inside. If you are looking for 5* facilities you will not get them, if you are looking for somewhere basic and clean you will be happy with your choice. The hotel has no lift but has 3 rooms on the ground floor (Rooms 1,2 and 3). I would recommend room 2 mainly as it does not face the street and has an area to sit outside. Parking is available in a garage for 10 Euros if you don’t want to leave the car on the street and the free Wifi worked well. I would stop again and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhooseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#10 of 24 in Calais
41 reviews
1.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#3 of 24 in Calais
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Calais Centre - Gare
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Beffroi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Beffroi

Property: Hotel du Beffroi
Address: 8 rue Andre Gerschel, 62100, Calais, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Beffroi 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Beffroi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing