We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the ferry port”
Review of Hotel du Beffroi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Beffroi
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Reviewed September 11, 2011

A small and cheep hotel providing simple room accommodation. Although a general air of being in need of a good facelift. the rooms where clean and comfy. suitable for small families or couples. the hotel manager was friendly and helpful. the Hotel is situated close to the main road full of restaurants, yet was also quite at night

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluesmanphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 82 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

We arrived after a 10 hour trip in the car, tired and hungry. The receptionist was talking to a friend and we stood for 10 minutes while they laughed and talked without even greeting us. The reception area smelt badly of toilets. When she finally gave us her attention there was no booking for us even though i had the confirmation in my hand! No apology at all. We had booked a family room but there were none available so she gave us reluctantly two rooms opposite each other. The corridors were dark and smelly, there was no lift. the rooms were small and the beds smaller! The shower in one room only had cold water. Oh yes - the "friendly" receptionist made us pay in full BEFORE giving us our keys even though she had credit card details. We did nt opt for breakfast here. Overall a very unpleasant stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jankesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

The hotel location is in the center of Calais towards the water front. The main busy street is just a 30 second walk away, so it's convenient but out of the way enough to not be noisy.

The hotel itself is a nice little hotel, the rooms are spread across two floors making a total of around 16-20 rooms.

The room is basic but most importantly clean. There is a little 13" TV with a few French channels on, a desk and phone, a single open wardrobe and big doors that open out to let lots of fresh air in. The bathroom is more of a small cupboard and is very compact. However everything that's needed is there and it's all clean. There is a single shower cubicle at on end of the narrow room. This gave good hot water and a good pressure. Fresh white towels, soap and shower gel/shampoo are all provided which surprised me at the cost of the room.

Breakfast is an extra 9 euro per person, this wasn't worth it as there was only a few pastries and coffee etc. My advice would be to go to one of the many cafe/restaurants down the main street away.

The staff at the hotel where friendly but be warned they speak very little English. With my partners good French vocabulary we where able to check in and pay etc. with no problems.

The hotel doesn't have it's own car park but there are plenty of spaces on the street in front and surrounding.

All in all I would highly recommend the hotel for an overnight stay. It's cheap, clean and positioned well. If you don't know much of the French language it's worth taking a phrase book.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamsingleton1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

A group of 8 family and friends stayed in the hotel while cycling from London to Paris. We had a fantasitc experience.

The rooms were all very individual and for the money we payed, decorated to a very high standard. It was very boutiquy.

When we experienced problems with out support vehicle the next day, the staff were very helpful. They made phone calls for us and my mother even insisted on getting a photo with them as she described them as 'life savers'.

We would definately stay here again if we were in Calais.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibbyDeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel du Beffroi when there were problems with the Ferry.
I know it is a budget hotel in a pretty miserable town and the weather was awful, but still it was a bad experience.
On arriving it was closed, we couldn't even get in! we had to get a number and call the number on the website to get a code to get in the hotel (safe I suppose).
On reaching our black and red decorated room I wanted to run downstairs, but it was only for one night and the sheets were clean.
But saying that the bed was so uncomfortable and the room so dark with a strange air to it, I think we dosed off about 4am.
The en-suite shower room was dusty, old, broken and tiny.
We will NOT be returning to the Hotel du Beffroi....sorry, but my advice is pay a little more and go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franandhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kitina77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
Thank axel q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
0.7 mi away
Brit Hotel Calais
Brit Hotel Calais
#11 of 24 in Calais
16 reviews
1.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
0.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Calais Centre - Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
0.6 mi away
Hotel De La Plage
Hotel De La Plage
#16 of 24 in Calais
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Beffroi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Beffroi

Address: 8 rue Andre Gerschel, 62100, Calais, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: $47 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Beffroi 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Beffroi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing