We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we needed”
Review of Hotel De La Plage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De La Plage
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Cheap and very cheerful. Clean, basic room in convenient location with excellent food. Overindulged on the starter buffet and then struggled with the excellent rabbit with prunes plat du jour. The bistro menu tucked away near the back of the menu is particularly good value if you like the plat du jour - €12.50 for buffet starter or dessert, plat and coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidmouthsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 412 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nice people, great food.Room was very clean with comfy bed.
Nice room. Quiet at night. Easy access to ferry and nightlife.
If you choose not to eat at the hotel, there is plenty to choose from within walking distance.
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladybug_24401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

After a dismal experience at another hotel in France the previous evening, this hotel was like a breath of fresh air! The staff were friendly and obliging. The restaurant in particular deserves special mention as the seafood was excellent and at a very reasonable price. The breakfast buffet was also better than usual for this standard of hotel. We look forward to staying again in December.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barrett65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Brilliant hotel - although our room was in the hotel next door - lots of parking - room was clean tidy and sea view - fridge, microwave, sink, and hot plates in the room. Brilliant location - restaurant in the hotel de la plage was fab - waiter was really helpful and we muddled through the menu together - food was really good and well priced - wine was good and the bill was reasonable. Will be back again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Nestled on the shore at Calais overlooking the Cabines on the Beach this is a find. Comfortable Roooms (No shower Curtains and Hip Bath Only) good beds and great Pillows with a Superb Restaurant. Starter Buffet had wonderful Seafood Selection and service and quality were excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms with Sea View are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheridan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed in the De La Plage when returning from trip to Germany.
Its good for overnight on the way to ferry/tunnel.
Rooms are clean and good size .
The best thing about the De La Plage is the food the buffet starters and desserts on the set menues are superb eveything you could want and you can watch the ferries sail in and out if yo are bored.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAFERDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

we stayed at the hotel as a stopover from a holiday in spain because we were driving the whole distance. The hotel is reasonably clean but just very basic. The staff were excellent and mostly spoke English as well as other languages. The breakfast was very good for the 7.50 euros when we stayed, the staff were certainly friendlier than a lot of the french we needed to talk to on our journey. The hotel is on a par with say travelodge which we have stayed at before and find quite noisey. Wheel chair access and ensuite, we just wanted a rest so it was good. The directions via booking .com were not accurate and it required a bit of searching out.

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor and I suspect the hotel is just a functional place to stop, the maid w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
2.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#3 of 24 in Calais
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence du Golf
Hotel Residence du Golf
#19 of 24 in Calais
260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
495 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#7 of 24 in Calais
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Plage

Address: 693 Digue Gaston Berthe, 62100, Calais, France (Formerly Kyriad Hotel Calais Plage)
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: $53 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel De La Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing