We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position on beach and excellent restaurant”
Review of Hotel De La Plage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De La Plage
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Always try to stay here when getting the wine in Calais! Rooms comfortable and clean,restaurant very good with friendly and attentive staff. A good bet whatever your budget .As is said ,why pay more?I have reviewed this hotel before, but there really is ,(as we tried recently) anywhere else that comes close.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikefr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 408 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

I elected to stay some distance away from Rue Royale/Place d'Armes because of the (seemingly interminable) construction in that area. A bad decision.

I'm willing to concede that Hotel De La Plage is probably a good bet in the summer when the weather encourages families to make use of the excellent beach facilities but on my last visit the bitterly cold conditions were matched by a horribly cold, dark and bare room. The tiny wall-mounted heater struggled to supply any tangible warmth and I seriously contemplated getting into the ridiculously hard bed fully clothed,

Checking out was tiresomely lengthy as there was nobody on the reception desk and the credit card machine - rather like the "wi-fi throughout" - was in a state of "marche pas".

Maybe I will try again when the weather improves but, frankly, unless they improve both their infrastructure and service, I probably won't. One for the (very) hardened traveller on a budget I think.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stay at the Hotel de la Plage (ex Kyriad) several times a year, to break our journey between Switzerland and the UK. Simple, clean, friendly- with pleasant bar and restaurant. Easy parking - and if you have a dog, ask for a room at the back and you can park right by your bedroom with door to car and field at the back for exercising (PLEASE PICK UP- sadly some do not!), and minutes from the Ferry or Tunnel.

Buffet breakfast is fine, and staff always friendly and attentive. We will continue to stay there every time we make the trip.

Room Tip: Only criticism is that some people who smoke leave the butts all over the place and those are not re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odile C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Hotel is excellent for stop-over or shopping trip. It is in the Kyriad hotel chain. Located right on the sea-front at Calais Plage. The rooms are clean and functional with coffee/tea making, hair dryer and television. The bar and restaurant area are bright and clean and although we did not eat in the hotel the menu looked great. The staff were extremely friendly and efficient. There was a good selection of food available for breakfast served buffet style. I have no problem recommending this hotel - it would be a good choice if you are travelling with children. The have a very pleasant terraced area over-looking the sea which I am sure is lovely during the summer months.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have a door but no window so if you like a window open at night you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went for a long week end, staff really friendly hotel very clean. Food was very good to plenty of choice and with wine and beer at good price to. Very near beach if you were going for a short summer break. i would go back again with out question.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed for a night, mixture of booze cruise and Anniversary. Previously stayed at the Bel Azur in Place de Armeeb(never again) and looking for a new place to lay over.
They do a special price for Jan and Feb and the rooms are small, but perfectly formed. The kettle was missing, but when I aksed (in my terrible Frence) then one was forthcoming quickly.
Clean room on the ground floor, good to watch the car, and packing in the morning.
We ate at the restaurant at night and the food was beautiful, starter from the buffet and then I had duck, jut cooked to perfection and my wife had pork, again cooked really well, but a tadge dry, it needed the sauce that she had with it.
Then a drink in front of the open fire and a chat with like minded people.
The only real unfortunate thing was the builders who started work outside the room at about 7.30 am, lots of hammering, not condusive to sleeping a good sleep ;-(
However, this aside,all in all a lovely stay and will definately use this place again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel overlooks the promenade and is close to the channel tunnel terminal. It is comfortable, clean, well equipped and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast is of a very high quality with plenty of variety including fresh fruit salad. As a stopover I think it would be hard to beat and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelpirate89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence du Golf
Hotel Residence du Golf
#19 of 24 in Calais
259 reviews
173.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
487 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#3 of 24 in Calais
713 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#7 of 24 in Calais
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Plage

Address: 693 Digue Gaston Berthe, 62100, Calais, France (Formerly Kyriad Hotel Calais Plage)
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: $57 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel De La Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing