We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient with Good Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel De La Plage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel De La Plage
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Calais
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
584 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Convenient with Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We needed a convenient location for an overnight stay on the way to the UK. After reading several other reviews we decided on the Hotel de la Plage, mainly because of the location, and that they accepted our two cats and importantly the restaurant was well rated. Our experience confirmed everything we had read which was really pleasing. The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was basic but warm, clean and the bed very comfortable. Direct access from the car park was very convenient as we had a lot of cat stuff to unload. The biggest plus was the restaurant which offered great choices at both dinner and breakfast. The food was freshly prepared and of excellent quality.....hard to pass up the mussels!
We were 10 minutes from the ferry and town making it a great and quiet location.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a value for money overnight stay with very good food, and we would not hesitate to stay here again on future trips. Well done Hoelt de la Plage!

Room Tip: Be sure to try out the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    130
    119
    49
    45
See reviews for
74
188
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dronfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights on a shopping trip. The hotel is fine for an overnight stay but not for longer. Rooms are small and dark but adeqaute for an overnight stay.
Resaraunt was better than average, food was excellent and reasonably priced as was the wine.
Would use it again for 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mersea Island, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night in a triple room. The rooms are very small with one tiny window making the rooms very claustrophobic. The top ledge wall of the window was covered in mould/mildew and the window was so dirty you could not see out of it very well. The bathroom was worse, with the tiles around the bath and up the wall also black with mildew. It was not a bathroom you would want to take a bath in! The bath itself had patches of the enamel missing inside the tub, which were rust coloured, altogether a very unpleasant room. There was a kettle and tea and coffee but this was the rooms only saving grace. I don't know if we were just unlucky with our room but I would not stay here again.
The restaurant on the other hand was very good. It was nearly full even though it was a week night. The food was very good, the room was bright and cheerful. There was a large choice on the menu, with most main courses costing about 12 euros. A large buffet was available for salads, with prawns, crab, salmon etc, all very nice.
Despite the nice restaurant I could not wait to leave the next day. I would not stay here again, there are plenty of other hotels in the price range with cleaner rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calais hotels

Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
625 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Ideal place to night stop in Calais, clean rooms, tea and coffee making facilities,TV. etc.
Pleasant restaurant but service left a bit wanting.
I would happily return here, as its literally by the beach

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked this as we had a lateish crossing from Dover. The staff were helpful and the meal we had in the restaurant was nice. The room (we had been allocated a disabled room as I was on crutches, although we had not asked for one) was adequate for one night and bed was comfortable. However, the bathroom really needed a refurb. It was clean but had that mould in the plastic look about it and a couple of the fixtures were falling off. It was cheap but would probably book the Campinile next time.

Room Tip: Don't get allocated a disabled room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterBiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed overnight on our way down to the Loire Valley. Very easy to find from the Tunnel. Rooms very clean and well equipped, including free wifi. Beds comfortable. Staff very helpful and friendly. We ate in the restaurant as we arrived late, but you are close enough to walk into town for a bigger choice. Meals were fine and in keeping with a budget hotel. Excellent value for money when passing through Calais.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the entrance to the reception where the smokers gather, unless you enjoy the smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrymulvaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is a good 2 star budget hotel. The location is on the sea front and very near to the ferry port and only a short distance from the Eurotunnel.
The staff are very friendly and speak good English, if you have a dog then this hotel is ideal for you because there are plenty of places to walk your dog.
The rooms are okay for a one or two night stay, clean and tidy with tea and coffee available in your room. The restaurant is very good value for money and I would recommend it as the food is excellent and good value for money. Plenty of free parking at the hotel.
We have stayed at lots of budget hotels in the Calais area and this is one of the best budget
hotels that we have stayed at, so give it a try!!

Room Tip: Book a sea view upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#3 of 23 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#4 of 23 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre St Pierre
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence du Golf
Hotel Residence du Golf
#19 of 23 in Calais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Plage

Property: Hotel De La Plage
Address: 693 Digue Gaston Berthe, 62100, Calais, France (Formerly Kyriad Hotel Calais Plage)
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De La Plage 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel De La Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing