We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel”
Review of Hotel De La Plage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel De La Plage
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is a good 2 star budget hotel. The location is on the sea front and very near to the ferry port and only a short distance from the Eurotunnel.
The staff are very friendly and speak good English, if you have a dog then this hotel is ideal for you because there are plenty of places to walk your dog.
The rooms are okay for a one or two night stay, clean and tidy with tea and coffee available in your room. The restaurant is very good value for money and I would recommend it as the food is excellent and good value for money. Plenty of free parking at the hotel.
We have stayed at lots of budget hotels in the Calais area and this is one of the best budget
hotels that we have stayed at, so give it a try!!

Room Tip: Book a sea view upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 412 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

We recently stayed for two nights. We have stayed at this hotel last year for a night prior to driving down South. The hotel is great for a couple of nights. We used the resturant both nights and had good food and drinks at a very competetive price.
My only small negatives are the lighting in the bedrooms is very poor when you are trying to get ready to go out when the curtains are drawn and it would have been nice if the hospitality tray was a bit more comprehensive, we only received one tiny long life milk per person per day,barely enough for one drink each.
Everything else was great and we would not hesitate in returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Malc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The location is good in a quiet part of Calais near the beach. There is a good private car park, which is an asset in Calais. The rooms are clean and reasonably furnished, with functional, if not very modern, bathrooms . On this visit the free Wi-Fi worked, this has not always been the case on previous visits. The ground floor rooms do not have windows, but a door that opens on to the car park. If you like to have fresh air in your room this not ideal, ask for one of the upper rooms.

This is not the cheapest of it type in Calais, but all in all an OK overnight stop. To get the best rate book on-line.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at this sea front Hotel for 1 night, as part of our recent shopping trip, having previously stayed once before when under Kyriad management. Our room was clean and simply furnished, the bed comfortable, shower room aging but adequate. There were in room tea making facilities. The outlook (looking east) toward the port/beach from our room very pleasant, with a nice view of the sunrise. Booking by telephone, check in and out were efficiently handled. Parking is within the Hotel grounds. Room cost was E68 including E3 Friday night supplement. Buffet breakfast is available and looked OK but at E7.5 we decided to give it a miss. It is quite easy to get to, from either the Eurotunnel/ferry terminals and the hotel is within walking distance of several restaurants (and also has a restaurant itself (separate review).

Room Tip: A room on the first floor facing east, towards the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikefromSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Pat465
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We've used this hotel many times before when it was the Kyriad Plage and is now under new management and it's as good now as it was then. Restaurant/bar area has been refurbished and is now a lot brighter. The staff were familiar and welcoming and the food was as good as always and the bar has a better range of good belgium/french beers. The rooms are clean and comfortable with the required tea/coffee and kettle supplied. The hotel is right on the beach which is ideal for the kids as there are good play areas along the front. Also an easy walk into Calais where there are a good range of shops and restaurants. This hotel is ideal for a short break or just a night stop.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the staircase on the first floor can be a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squiffy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Very nice, friendly, informative staff who deliver excellent service in a very comfortable setting, with excellent food and hospitality. Rooms comfortable with tea and coffee, bathroom toiletries provided with towels. All rooms sufficient for a stop over or few days sight-seeing, clean and well presented. Plenty of parking around the hotel where you could park your car and be able to see it, in most cases.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie_deb_Coventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#3 of 24 in Calais
724 reviews
2 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Residence du Golf
Hotel Residence du Golf
#20 of 24 in Calais
260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
495 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#7 of 24 in Calais
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Plage

Address: 693 Digue Gaston Berthe, 62100, Calais, France (Formerly Kyriad Hotel Calais Plage)
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: $51 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel De La Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing