We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Residence du Golf
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Gutersloh, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good for short stay”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This Hotel is good as an overnight stop before catching the ferry. No reception (this is in the Hotel next door) and no service. The rooms are clean but dated, could do with renovation. Close to the seafront and if you are lucky (as we were) you will be treated to an amazing sunset. I would stay here again when next traveling to the UK.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    80
    73
    38
    40
See reviews for
108
72
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel several times now and once again it was a good experience. The location, being right next to the beach is excellent. With easy connections to Le Shuttle & ferries and road connections make this hotel an excellent choice for a break.

Room Tip: A sea view room improves the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanTizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We needed a break in the Easter holiday, so used Tesco vouchers for Le Shuttle & planned a little trip to Calais. This hotel was fab. We had seen that we needed to pick up keys from next door, and there are plenty of signs to let people know this. It is budget, and perhaps parts or our room were a little drab, but it was perfectly clean and just right for two adults & two teenagers. We had a room with a sea view, and fridge, hob & great shower. It is a moment from the beach, unlike any other hotels nearby, and we enjoyed fantastic walks on the beach. The restaurant next door is owned by the same family and was great for fussy teenagers and ourselves wanting the usual French menu. Note of caution.......great crazy golf course next door, but not open on Sundays, we will have to happily return to make this up to our kids!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I had read Mixed reviews about this hotel. Some good and some slating it. I decided that I'd make my own decisions.
If you're looking for the Ritz or Hilton - this isn't for you. If what you want is somewhere clean, comfortable (we found the beds to be both) and convenient (for the Channel Tunnel, Ferry and Motorways) then this will suit.
We were on a shopping trip (3 females) and booked a family room for our stay. Conveniently the toilet and bathroom were separate - which is a plus. The small kitchen area was basic but more than adequate for preparing a basic meal. There is a small eating area, the beds and that's about it.
I've read reviews about smells - there wasn't any! I've read reviews about dull and dingy - it wasn't. We had to collect the keys from the hotel/restaurant next door - the smell of fish there was appalling. I know it's a fish restaurant, but I'm a chef, a fish restaurant shouldn't smell of fish!
The entrance to Residence Du Golf was like walking into the lobby of a well maintained apartment block. Ok there was no friendly receptionist/concierge but if all you want is to find your room and more than adequate instructions have been given when you collect your keys that isn't a problem.
We were right across the road from the beach. It was a beautiful May evening so we were able to prepare a light meal and eat across the road on the sea front.
The shower was good, water pressure more than adequate. Basic toiletries were provided.
If you expect basic, clean accommodation you won't be disappointed.
Would I visit again? Definitely and for longer this time. Think caravan or seaside chalet but in a brick building and more space and you won't go far wrong.

Room Tip: You can request a sea view room and this is definitely worth doing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manclady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Good enough to have a decent sleep and a basic breakfast to hit the road again. Do not expect a friendly front desk manager. Asking for a glass of water and being answered that breakfast time was already over is not the best of the answers... (unless he was ironic, which it did not look like)...although he served it in the end.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viatgerdelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 family rooms for overnight stay.when we arrived there our 5 years old said she does not want to stay in a dirty place,the outside of the hotel does not give a good impression at all.its in a nice location but very poorly maintained.we had to get the hotel keys from a next door hotel.When we entered hallway it smelt of dogs,quite sickening smell.
The bedroom floor had sand on and the previous people had left some belongings which we return to reception in the morning.
All in all would not like to stay here.The charge per night is too costly for such poor hotel.I have previously paid that amount per night for hilton/crown plaza etc..

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sh0bna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calais hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Do not know what some people expect, and, why they dont bother doing a 5 minute research of the area etc; one complained not by the golf course, it does not state anywhere golf course;
I stayed last weekend,( I travel 9 months of the year using usually Sheraton hotels) this was a quick stopover;
excellent position, walking distance to restaurants bars etc; on the seafront, with sandy beach, 10mins from tunnel;
spotless crisp bed linen, big soft towels, great adjustable heating, power shower plenty hot water, soaps/shampoo etc; fridge microwave kettle, tea/coffee bisquits in room, t.v. with english channels; recently decorated
24 hour desk with friendly staff,, modern restaurant bar on site, late check in and check out; plenty of parking; and £34 A NIGHT FOR THE TWO OF US, its not a resort hotel, or meant to be, but with room facilities a few days with a family; perfect; go to the bread/cake shop round the corner, do your own thing;
I think some people need to travel and wake up a bit; you get what you pay for and at £34 for
this I cant get it in the far east let alone Europe;

Room Tip: could ask for sea view but for overnighter, any; we were at the back, no problem and quiet as its pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pasta13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel De La Plage
Hotel De La Plage
#16 of 24 in Calais
401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#3 of 24 in Calais
470 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
1.4 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#7 of 24 in Calais
291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence du Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence du Golf

Property: Hotel Residence du Golf
Address: 745 Digue Gaston Berthe, 62100, Calais, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Residence du Golf 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Residence du Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Du

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing