We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget transit stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Residence du Golf
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Calais
nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Budget transit stop”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very handy, 5 mins drive from euro tunnel and within site of ferry port. Right on beach.

Rooms ate clean and functional. Little kitchenette no pots though. Microwave and kettle. Did just the job to break up the driving.

Very clean. Nice bathroom with tub. Double bed and two bunks for kids. Will certain,y think of this place again when chunneling it.

Ideal for families of 5

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colywobbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    80
    75
    39
    40
See reviews for
109
74
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calais
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I like this hotel with it's view of the sea. The room was a bit small but it had a door between the childrens bunk beds and the adults bedroom. Breakfast was very reasonably priced and there was plenty of choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Due to the close location of the hotel to the euro tunnel we stayed here both on our journey to the south of France and on our way back to the UK. The close proximity to the euro tunnel, motorway and ferry crossing make this hotel and ideal stop-over. We will stay here again in the future.

On our outbound journey we stayed on the ground floor. It was very noisy and we didn't get much sleep. We stayed at the hotel in the middle of a heatwave and we didn't feel safe having the window open throughout the night as there were no security bars and he windows were very large. There plug socket in the bathroom was faulty which meant that we blew the electric.

On our return journey we had requested a sea view and stayed on the second floor and to be honest it was like staying in a different hotel. The room was much quieter and we had a decent night's sleep. The room was also much more spacious and well laid out (more like an apartment than a hotel room). The view was excellent (we could see Dover as dusk fell).

It's great that the hotel rooms have a kitchenette and the fridge was a godsend during the heatwave!

The hotel was nice and clean.

The location is great especially for a stroll along the beach. There is a restaurant and bar next door (part of the same hotel) with a lovely outside area and really friendly staff.

The breakfast was rubbish and very overpriced but with the kitchenette there is no need to have breakfast provided by the hotel.

I would rate the parking as average. It felt safer to be able to park our car at the front of the hotel rather than the back. At the back of the hotel there is a piece of wasteland and it was really quiet so it didn't feel as safe. Nothing happened as far to any of the parked vehicles, as I'm aware but it's something to consider.

Room Tip: Second floor room was quieter. Sea view room was larger and better equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ultraviolet-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We wanted a one-night family room stopover with fridge, microwave and washing-up facilities before our early morning return to UK on Eurotunnel. I found this hotel with kitchenettes at a good price on Hotels.com and booked it. From the photos, I feared that it would be a tired place of dubious cleanliness in a low-rent area. However we were very pleasantly surprised. The room had everything advertised, it all worked and was clean. Nice beach just across the road through ranks of beach huts. We chose to eat dinner at Cite Europe - several family restaurants available. I would definitely use this cheerful place for future stopovers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, england
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Booked a trip to France for the new year and to get some long over due wine supplies. We usually stay in Le Touquet but wanted to be close to Calias so booked the Hotel du Golf. I booked a sea view at a cost of £74.00 per night. We got a sea view..... if you hung out of the window by your toe nails. The room was shabby,, not even up to Travle lodge standard and plug sockets were hanging off the wall. The microwave had a leg missing so was on the tilt, but the main annoynace was a major sign above the hotel which had not been secured and rattled and banged throughout the night. We had very little sleep and the receptionist could not have cared less. They finally made a small reduction to the room price after we complained, We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burntbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calais hotels

Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Booked for one night before a return tunnel crossing.
I needed a hotel close to the tunnel, as i had an early crossing, and this was perfect due to being less than a five minute drive from the terminal entrance.
Rated as a 2 * hotel, money was obviously being spent on public areas and it looked like a few updates were in progress.
Plenty of parking on site, and check in was very easy with efficient friendly staff. The particular lady i spoke to on reception was very nice.
Snacks available in vending machine near reception.
Room was spotlessly clean and spacious with a nice big comfortable double bed in the main area, and two good sized bunks inside the entrance. Also included were a bathroom, and separate toilet. The main area was also furnished with a large flat screen tv (three English language channels), small dining table, fridge, sink, double hotplate, kettle, and microwave. As i understand it, crockery & cutlery were available to hire? Tea and coffee making kit on a tray in room on arrival too.
Breakfast was available, but i can't comment as i didn't make use of this service.
Hotel is located next to a decent restaurant, and is only across the road from the beach. Crazy golf and children's play park only a few minutes walk along the road.
I'd cheerfully stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winkertonk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Spent the night here on a visit to Calais. This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel. 3 adults were sharing the room. A good sized bedroom, seemed clean enough, tv & tea & coffee making facilities, plus a fridge microwave and electric hob, for anyone who wanted to cater for themselves, however you might have to bring your own cooking utensils or you may be able to get them from reception. One of the group had the double bed, while the other two had to use the bunk beds which were situated opposite the toilet and bathroom. Not ideal, for adults, but was ok for one night. This type of room has probably been designed for a family, with a couple of young kids. Last time we stayed the bar was open, but not this time, however you could use the restaurant next door. The young lady on reception was helpful, finding out the price and ordering a taxi for us to go into the centre of Calais, as it was a least a 20 minute walk, which. We didn't fancy as it was raining. Great position for the beach which is beautiful golden sand, would be great in the summer. We opted for the buffet breakfast at 7.50 euros. Not bad they offered fried eggs and bacon and omelette, if you wanted it. It was ok and saved us having to go into the centre of Calais to find something. However we might have been able to use the restaurant next door, had we want to. Not bad for the price, 102.50 euros for the night, including the breakfast for the 3 of us. We are looking at doing s coupe of nights next time, but will probably look for a hotel in in the centre next time, but certainly wouldn't rule out the Hotel du Golf.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamC184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.0 mi away
Hotel De La Plage
Hotel De La Plage
#16 of 24 in Calais
402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#2 of 24 in Calais
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence du Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence du Golf

Property: Hotel Residence du Golf
Address: 745 Digue Gaston Berthe, 62100, Calais, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Residence du Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Du

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing