We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in Calais”
Review of Hotel Meurice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Meurice
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Calais
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Calais”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My hubbie and I stayed just for the night on a short break to Calais and Boulogne. We stayed here and thought that the beds were very comfortable, our room was clean and well equipped. The shower room looked a little dated, but we liked the separate loo. The breakfast was excellent and all in all it's a super little stop over near some great restaurants and we would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTS_London186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    309
    91
    35
    18
See reviews for
121
380
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were travelling back from Switzerland and met up with friends for a stop over and dinner in Calais. I agree the hotel is not much to look the rooms are tired and could do with a makeover but the bed was comfortable, nice clean linen we had a shower and toilet, what more do you need for one night. The breakfast was great and a bonus was the freshly squeezes orange juice and Nespresso machine. You can pay in sterling in fact you are encouraged to do so.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the exterior, this is a typical 3 star french hotel perfect for a stopover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge Uk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed here for a stop over on the way home and with a relatively early tunnel crossing. We arrived around 4pm on the Monday after Easter and our first impression was that the outside looked a bit shabby. However when we went through the door we were greeted by a most delightful receptionist who did everything she could to make us welcome & realised the interior, although seemingly quirky was really interesting and made us smile.
We did note the hotel is under new management and the restaurant was closed when we were there.
We had booked a secure garage parking place and although tight to get in to it did feel secure and had direct access to the 2nd floor by lift where our room was.
The room was outwardly old fashioned and to some would seem too dated but was clean and very comfortable and we slept well. In fact we felt really comfortable. On fort glance the shower didn't look great but although in need of a bit of refreshment worked brilliantly!
We went to breakfast at 7.15am and were delighted [and somewhat amazed] to find freshly squeezed orange juice, a french version of an english breakfast, Nespresso coffee machines with the usual cereals and fresh fruit.
We would definitely give this a go again - we paid 72 Euros including breakfast [parking extra] and felt we had great value for money. don't use it if you want modern, predictable chic but give it a go if you are prepared to adapt and enjoy old style french value.
Oh and forgot to say Free WiFi

Room Tip: If you want secure parking pre-book Make sure if you have breakfast if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneStourbridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I recently visited Calais and stayed at the Meurice. Appearances on the outside do not reflect the charm of the hotel as it was built in post-war haste as much of Calais was. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable with exceptionally friendly staff. Although the decor and fittings are not perfect as May be expected by visitors from the USA, it does have a certain chic appeal. The breakfast range is excellent.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cestrianbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshie England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Just got back from a one night stay. We had a ground floor room which was a typically french room. Great shower; lovely soft white sheets and bedding. Beautiful shower gel provided. Breakfast was real french feast. Overall fantastic value for money .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel is a post-1945 building, replacing one lost in the Allied bombing of the Second world War. Sadly it has little to recommend it today. Perhaps it's under new ownership, perhaps it's in the throes of a remodelling. The reality is that apart from a scruffy paper notice on the lift there's no explanation of the restaurant being closed for new management. Our en-suite shower room was frankly unhygienic, with black mould in all the tile grouting. There's never any excuse for rooms to smell of foul drains, which made our room a most unpleasant experience.
This hotel needs urgently to get into the 21st century or close.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InningsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaca, Spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Charming French Hotel. Free street parking right in front of hotel. Easy walk to are sites and restaurants. Cozy little bar. Great breakfast in a bright and pleasant solarium overlooking the garden/courtyard. Room was small by American standards. Limited outlets in room. Overall, we like this hotel and would return.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor overlooking the garden/courtyard. We liked this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfredhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calais
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#3 of 24 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre St Pierre
1.4 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
3.1 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meurice

Property: Hotel Meurice
Address: 5 rue Edmond Roche, 62100, Calais, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meurice 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meurice hotel, the first one of the name, is situated right in the heart of the city of Calais, in the middle of his animations, bars and numerous restaurants. Every room is provided with a classic, sophisticated decoration and personalized in whom were able to stay numerous personalities such as Charles de Gaulle, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry or Sydney Bechet. Meurice de Calais is close at the same time to the station and in 5 min of the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meurice Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing