We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - excellent place to stay”
Review of Hotel Meurice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Meurice
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Hertford, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location - excellent place to stay”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice, the first time in the summer and then this December.
We had a larger superior room the first time but last time we had a lovely cosy little double on the ground floor. Both rooms was good value and very comfortable. Very good breakfast.
This hotel is in an excellent position, walking distance to the beach and close to the town for all the restaurants. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0anne999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    312
    93
    36
    19
See reviews for
122
382
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford,Surrey,England.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is by far the most difficult review I have ever had to right. As a person who likes places with character this Hotel ticks all the boxes but equally I can see how some people would have difficulty with some of them.
From the outside the building is rather unimposing, being along a nondescript side street it does not greatly impress. Once inside though, things change dramatically, you are met by an imposing foyer with an impressive staircase curving round to the upper floors. The whole interior is in total contrast to its rather drab exterior with beautifully laid out landings and hallways that lead to the bed rooms. On seeing this decor my first thoughts were that they must have got the prices wrong it couldn't be that cheap.
The staff at the checkin desk were excellent, warm, friendly and spoke good english. Before I forget along side the checkin is a cosy little bar, now I like bars and this one is good.
Breakfast is outstanding it is of the buffet type: You can enjoy orange juice freshly squeezed in their own juicer,construct your own full English breakfast from their range of sausages bacon egg tomatoes etc or opt for continental with cold meats and bread of different varieties fruit and more. At the time of writing this is included in the room price.
There is a restaurant on site but watch the opening hours. We were returning from Alsace, a seven hour drive and were told it opened Sunday, it did not. The Staff subsequently e-mailed to inform us of this fact and booked us in at a nearby restaurant. Good job I had the laptop with me.
There is a small lift that serves all floors including the basement parking,if you are claustrophobic you may well find it challenging.
There is secure parking in the basement for a few euros but for a large car it can be a tight squeeze, there is also parking on the street outside the hotel.
Now last but not least the bedrooms. They can be a little unconventional, large, clean enough though but the layout is a kind of nineteen thirties style, our room looked a little like it had not been decorated since then.
It had a large super comfy bed, lots of storage space and a TV that picked up UK channels.
I strongly recommend you read other reviews re bedrooms as this was just a one night stopover.
I will certainly be staying here again because warts and all, this place seriously does have character.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the-wandering-fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inside Suffolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed at the Meurice for two nights at the end of November. Have stayed many times before, and have never been disappointed. One must accept that this is an old chateau type hotel, but to me this beats hands down all the modern shining new hotels on offer. Situated within easy reach of both the Port and the extensive range of first class restaurants in Calais, this is certainly a gem of a hotel. Sometimes the reception can be a bit curt(depends who is on), but apart from this I have always thoroughly enjoyed my stays. The bedrooms are very comfortable and quiet with all mod cons, and the breakfast is plentiful with a good variety to choose from. I am already planning my next stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadHogInsideSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spalding
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights last week whilst in Calais. This wasn't our first stay but found the hotel a couple of years ago. It is a great period hotel, full of interesting features. The artwork on the walls is an evocative mix of old Calais and old masters, an impressive staircase takes to the two upper floors. The rooms are large (unusual for French hotels) and comfortable. Excellent breakfast with good range of hot and cold food.

I appreciate this is probably not the hotel for everyone, particularly if you like modern, but for us, this is a stylish, well appointed, ideally located stopover whenever we are in Calais. We will be back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jeccu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here before a couple of years ago and decided to stay again because we knew where it was. We were only there for one night. On arrival we were greeted by a large barking dog which did not make us feel very welcome, after a minute it was removed by the receptionist but not an auspicious beginning - and would have been a horrible experience if you were afraid of dogs. This hotel has not improved much during the intervening years. It is difficult to decide what image le Meurice trying to project, if any at all. The building itself is beautiful and very clean. There is an endless array of antique furniture in varying stages of decline. Endless chairs with bald covers and collapsed seats. On the other side of the coin,the linen on the bed and the towels are of high quality and not worn at all . The beds are very comfortable and the rooms warm with plenty of hot water and a separate toilet. The paintwork is in a chipped state. The worst being the pipes in the bathroom - a new shower unit complemented by extremely old and chipped pipes. We did not use the restaurant as there was a private function -we did have breakfast which was quite good with Nespresso coffee but served in a rather down at heel and cool conservatory. Yet again it sent mixed messages! It's a long time since I have seen tinned peaches, grapefruit and cold hard boiled eggs at a breakfast buffet but then the coffee, croissants etc were very good. One night here is fine - anymore and I might consider somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aud61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The front of this hotel looks like an old factory building but as you walk through the doors you are confronted with what appears to be the hall of a nineteenth century chateau with antique furniture and tapestries on the walls, very incongruous!
The rooms are furnished in the same antique style which is quaint and comfortable but not always functional, we heard several guests complaining that this or that was not working, however the place has a charm that beguiles you.
Staff are friendly and helpful; the breakfast is plentiful however the quality of the croissant and pain-au-chocolat could be much better, coffee was good.
Good value hotel with a unique charm, I will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worplesdon
Level Contributor
151 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The public areas are quirky with a mishmash of art and furniture, a lovely sweeping staircase....the room was a little tired with peeling wallpaper and the shower looked a little unclean but bed was comfy. Great free parking right outside the hotel, easy to walk into town. I wasn't as enamoured of breakfast as others but the bar is lovely and cosy and a real camaraderie between guests as it's quite intimately small! Would definitely recommend over the soulless chain hotels appearing on the horizon as you drive out of the Eurotunnel...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTHawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#3 of 24 in Calais
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
595 reviews
1.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
1.1 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#7 of 24 in Calais
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meurice

Property: Hotel Meurice
Address: 5 rue Edmond Roche, 62100, Calais, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meurice 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meurice hotel, the first one of the name, is situated right in the heart of the city of Calais, in the middle of his animations, bars and numerous restaurants. Every room is provided with a classic, sophisticated decoration and personalized in whom were able to stay numerous personalities such as Charles de Gaulle, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry or Sydney Bechet. Meurice de Calais is close at the same time to the station and in 5 min of the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meurice Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing