We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and good fun...would recommend”
Review of Hotel Meurice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Meurice
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The public areas are quirky with a mishmash of art and furniture, a lovely sweeping staircase....the room was a little tired with peeling wallpaper and the shower looked a little unclean but bed was comfy. Great free parking right outside the hotel, easy to walk into town. I wasn't as enamoured of breakfast as others but the bar is lovely and cosy and a real camaraderie between guests as it's quite intimately small! Would definitely recommend over the soulless chain hotels appearing on the horizon as you drive out of the Eurotunnel...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTHawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 735 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Definitely come back here. It is very central. Free parking in the street. Great breakfast. As per description when booking. You won't be disappointed. Bar is open until the early hours as well.


One negative the owners have a dog which is free to roam the hotel. However it wasn't very intrusive and just walked by.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank tristangumede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Hotel Meurice is a quintessentially French hotel with lots of period character - you feel like you're staying in a boutique hotel. Each room is intricately decorated yet different. The toilet in our room was separate from the bathroom, which was spatious and clean. The fresh breakfast was also good, albeit small selection.
The hotel is tucked away on a side street, and only a 5 minute walk away from the hustle of Calais.
The only downside to this hotel is no free wifi.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor seem to be most spatious than those on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dillyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

really lovely hotel: quirky aristocratic building, friendly staff, within walking distance of everywhere in calais. our double room was lovely & cosy: super warm in deepest december, big deep bath & separate toilet. EXCELLENT breakfast. really can't say enough nice things about this hotel; feel bad for everyone who has not stayed here while visiting calais- a must x

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwendolyn_mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Meurice last night, and thought it was lovely. It's a very beautiful building. The room was very comfortable, the location was great, the bar was warm and cosy, and the staff were amazing. The moment we walked in we felt welcome. I can't think of a thing to criticise. The breakfast was really good - we were greeted with a freshly squeezed orange juice, and the breakfast buffet was really extensive - there was a cooked breakfast as well as a very generous French breakfast of croissants, preserves, baguette, cheeses and hams. The location is just right - the hotel is in the centre of Calais, so you can enjoy the town, but is also only a short drive from the terminal. The hotel also has a restaurant which we didn't eat in this time as we had already made plans, but next time we will do.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Lovely period furniture and all the quirkiness of a really old building - although the outside could put you off! Friendly staff, good sized room with tea tray, plenty of hanging space and drawers, tv and even an old fashioned trouser press, Private secure car parking (8 euros per day) which is a must when your car is loaded with your valuables! Evening meal in the attached restaurant was good value at 17 euros for 3 courses. Breakfast was also very good with lots of choice and Nespresso coffee.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gourmet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed two nights here and enjoyed it thoroughly. The old world charm meets one as you enter and see the lovely old staircase. The hallways are lined with artwork and are wider than most of our European hotel rooms! The breakfast was in a lovely room overlooking a garden and the food selection was excellent. This hotel is conveniently located and on a quiet street. I would recommend it for your visit to Calais.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calais
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
1.4 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
507 reviews
1.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
3.1 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meurice

Address: 5 rue Edmond Roche, 62100, Calais, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: $71 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meurice 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meurice hotel, the first one of the name, is situated right in the heart of the city of Calais, in the middle of his animations, bars and numerous restaurants. Every room is provided with a classic, sophisticated decoration and personalized in whom were able to stay numerous personalities such as Charles de Gaulle, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry or Sydney Bechet. Meurice de Calais is close at the same time to the station and in 5 min of the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meurice Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing