We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved every minute in this hotel”
Review of Hotel Meurice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Meurice
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“loved every minute in this hotel”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

stayed one night in this hotel 30/03/13, got to say was abit worried by the look of the outside of this building, but once inside was very pleased, loved the way it had been decorated and all the old furniture, our bedroom was very clean and tidy and the bed was so comfortable didn't want to get up, the young girl on the main deck was very helpful, lovely hotel would stay again if ever in Calais :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean-claude c, Propriétaire at Hotel Meurice, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your words about our hotel. Hope to see you soon.
Kindest regards

J.C.COSSART
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    312
    93
    36
    19
See reviews for
122
382
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the hotel at the end of a weekend break and were thrilled by the rustic old world charm of this traditional french hotel. Our choice of hotel was based on tripadvisor recommendations. We would recommend this gem of a hotel to any one seeking old world french charm.

Room Tip: we stayed in a lovely room up the grand old staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean-claude c, Propriétaire at Hotel Meurice, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Google Translation
Nous sommes très heureux de votre attrait pour le charme de notre hôtel,, charme que nous nous efforçons de maintenir au mieux pour toujours vous satisfaire.

Bien cordialement

J.C.COSSART
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at the Meurice and wished it could be longer! The bedrooms were beautifully decorated and clean with very comfortable beds and good shower. The shower gel provided is amazing and there were tea/ coffee making facilities in the room alongside flat screen TV. Rooms were a good size. Breakfast was very nice with a large selection of continental options... the french baguettes are amazing!

We also made the most of the bar in the evening which was gorgeous old style french saloon... serving whatever you wanted! Also, reception were very helpful booking taxis whenever we needed!

All in old, the Hotel is wonderful decorated in a old style French fashion... it's not for those who prefer characterless, more modern hotel as this hotel has bags of it!!

Room Tip: The room in the what seemed to be newer wing are done in the French Shabby Chique style (goregous) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean-claude c, Propriétaire at Hotel Meurice, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you very much for all yours description and your opinion about our hotel. We have the same vew about what must be an hotel.

Hope to see you soon, may be with friends!!

Yours sinderely

J.C.COSSART
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Booked Hotel Meurice purely on the strength of the Tripadvisor reviews.
Passed through, & stayed, numerous times in Calais over the years, usually at either Holday Inn or Mercure. This hotel, however, could not be further removed from a corporate chain.
A real step back in time, & all the better for it. Very little that is new & modern throughout, from the fixtures, fittings, furniture, through to the attitude of the staff.
The room was large, clean, but could probably use a spruce up. Seperate loo, & a shower that had a mind of its own. (normal temperature for a couple of minutes, then SCALDING!)
One of the most comfortable beds that I have slept in, coupled with real quality bed linen. Very little external noise for a centrally placed hotel.
Booked a spot in the hotel garage, which I would certainly recommend if you have spent a fortune at Cite Europe. Bit of a carry on having to ask reception to open/close the garage door, but looking lovingly at the wonderful old cars stored in the garage made up for it.
Buffet breakfast was ok, but lacking any wow factor, and didn't seem to be replenished once items had gone. Breafast is taken in the rather cramped conservatory, but an overflow area was available down the hall when full.
Would definately recommend taking advantage of the offer on the hotel website, & pay in £uk cash for a much better room rate.
Nice & handy for a short stroll to the restaurants & bars in the centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allertonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean-claude c, Propriétaire at Hotel Meurice, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for all your description of our hotel. We are different and try to stay it with a good quality of services.

See you soon,

Kindest regards

J.C.COSSART
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Of the French towns I visited, I can’t say Calais was the prettiest, but I loved this hotel in the city center. It was charming with some unusual features, like the pant press in our room, the unique orange juice machine in the dining room and the smattering of antiques throughout. We were also fortunate enough to have our “own” sitting room right outside our door. Oh yes and I can’t forget the resident dog “guarding” the lobby. The lobby had free wifi and a large variety of brochures of sights to visit in the area. The staff was friendly and patient with our rudimentary French, suffice to say, I think their English was better than my French.

The hotel was tastefully eclectic in a design that matched its ambience and age. Some of the furniture were true antiques and the rugs were a little worn but that added to its charm. Our rooms were decorated with white striped wallpaper and the boy’s room had a flower motif, but it matched the character of the rooms and gave it that French feel. The boy’s had a sitting area in their room with a marble fireplace. Both bathrooms were done in white tiles and looked fairly new. Our bathtub was huge, unlike the beds which were the European style of two twins pushed together, but we had come to expect this in our tours throughout Europe. Both rooms were spotlessly clean.

Outside our rooms, we had this huge foyer with a couch, table and chairs which was like an extension of our room. It was a nice place to sit and relax and sample some of the French wines that we had purchased. There was also a bar downstairs with the oversized diamond patterned leather chairs.

Breakfast was included in the price of our room and they had the most interesting fresh squeezed orange juice machine I had ever seen, which operated by inserting half an orange in a circular press.

My travel agent had booked this hotel, as it was recommended as the place to stay in this port city, so if you need a place to rest your head on a journey from England to the continent or vice versa, I would suggest the Hotel Meurice in Calais.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAnneCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean-claude c, Propriétaire at Hotel Meurice, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your descirption of our hotel, we can't do more.
Hope to see you soon.
Kindest regards
J.C.COSSART
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We did enjoy our stay here, most of the hotel is nice, the public areas were clean and well presented with a lovely big staircase.

Our room was very large but a bit tired dated, in need of some fresh paint. The bathroom had a musty smell but was clean, we couldn't figure out where the smell was coming from, we didn't complain as we where only staying for 2 nights and it wasn't over powering.

The continental breakfast had a good selection of food, the coffee machine was a Nespresso, which seemed vex quite a few guests but gives out a nice drink if you know how to use it. They did have a small cooked selection of food on offer but I didn't try any of that.

They also serve evening meals but we ate out, so can't comment on this.

Its a decent enough hotel for a good price and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EVL33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean-claude c, Propriétaire at Hotel Meurice, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for those words about your stay in Hotel Meurice in Calais. We will try to correct this odor in the bathroom.
Hope to see you soon,

Kindest regards
J.C.COSSART
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haute-Vienne, France
2 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Being regular visitors to the UK we often stay in Calais and this is the best hotel we have found in 20 years. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast is super in nice surroundings. I can imagine that parking could be a problem in the summer but we found a space right outside the hotel in March. We will be back again in April

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean-claude c, Propriétaire at Hotel Meurice, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your words!! See you in April

Kindest regards

J.COSSART
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#3 of 24 in Calais
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
595 reviews
1.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
1.1 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#7 of 24 in Calais
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meurice

Property: Hotel Meurice
Address: 5 rue Edmond Roche, 62100, Calais, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meurice 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meurice hotel, the first one of the name, is situated right in the heart of the city of Calais, in the middle of his animations, bars and numerous restaurants. Every room is provided with a classic, sophisticated decoration and personalized in whom were able to stay numerous personalities such as Charles de Gaulle, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry or Sydney Bechet. Meurice de Calais is close at the same time to the station and in 5 min of the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meurice Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing