We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olde Charme”
Review of Hotel Meurice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Meurice
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I am going with the others, who rate this hotel as being a heady mix of eccentricity and oldey woldey charme!! Staff absolutely lovely - couldn't have been more helpful, charming and polite. Sorted out an initial booking problem with minimal fuss and upgraded our room to a slightly larger one f.o.c. due to a large party booking. Heady mix of antique furniture, including an ancient throne-like commode halfway up the stairs and ornate washbasins in reception washrooms. Cosy snug/whiskey bar, featuring massive selection of malts. Someone had gone wild with v strong cleaning products in the Reception; when we arrived, my husband nearly keeled over with the "fumes" however, this had largely dispersed by the next day (or maybe we'd just got used to it). Re. The dog in reception, previously mentioned by other TripAdvisor members. He is on a lead permanently, but basically, it appears he was a "rescue" and has been traumatised when v young. We won him over by little titbits from our dinner/breakfast! Plenty of hot water from shower, although it was somewhat vertically challenged and wouldn't stay up its little pole long. We couldn't get our TV to work, but we weren't that bothered. Wifi is now free - it worked very well in our room as well as all over the hotel. The room was very well heated, including during the night, which did make it a little hot, despite being able to open the window a bit. Big, solid walls = v quiet! Lovely bath towels, linen, exactly as others have described. Bed firm - I loved it, but it was too firm for my husband - it's all a matter of personal taste. The restaurant next door - attached to the hotel - was excellent. Food was delicious and very good value. So..... if you want something personal and different, I would definitely go for this hotel. There is a secure car park underneath the hotel, currently 8€/night, although plenty of off street parking (do remove valuables in this case, car robberies are still "big" in France).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimski44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Meurice
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 710 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here with my son for a couple of nights and liked most aspects of the hotel.
The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk to the shops, restaurants etc. Calais-Ville railway station is around 10 minutes walk from the hotel and the ports are a short bus or taxi ride.
I was encouraged by the good reports on here so I thought I'd give it a try.
Our twin room was a reasonable size and had a large en-suite shower room and separate loo.
The shower worked well and there was plenty of hot water.
The room had TV with plenty of French channels including Canal + & Canal Sports. There were also some English language channels.
The beds were comfortable with good quality linen. It was difficult to get the curtains to fully close properly in the room.
Breakfast was included in our rate, there was a good selection at the buffet.
The building itself was quite old fashioned and charismatic.
Staff were ok but not amazing and I didn't like the fact there was a dog (presumably belonged to one of the owners) that kept peering round from one of the rooms just next to reception and barking loudly when we checked in and out.
Everything else fine.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crinse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The previous reviews were right in that this hotel is a one off and just what we like ourselves rather than new box like paces. After a long drive this was a haven. Very comfortable and beautifully decorated room on first floor with big bathroom. Great big bed with fluffy pillows. The tv connection was inconsistent but got bbc 1 in the end. Wifi is free once you get your device connected. Big breakfast selection in really good position and near the Ancienne restaurant which is really good. Receptionist when arrived was superb and so helpful.
Good garage below hotel. Try it and enjoy a hotel as the used to be!

Room Tip: First floor with a bath
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjbarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Hotel Meurice has lots of character, unusual old furniture, a lovely little whiskey bar just off reception and a marvellous central staircase. It is situated a couple of minutes walk from the main road with lots of restaurants and bars. We had a nice meal and then looked for a nice bar but they were all full of young people wiht loud music so we returned to the cosy bar in the hotel for our nightcap. Our rooms on the ground floor were on the small side but had a separate bathroom and separate WC which is always nice, flat screen TV and WIFI (you have to pay for it - about 10 euros for 24 hours). Everything was perfectly clean. However, none of us slept too well and we could hear a noise of running water all through the night. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel. I do think this is a little gem and I would return again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you like your French hotels cavernous, extremely comfortable and with non-matching furniture, this lovely old, slightly eccentrically decorated, hotel in Calais is well worth a trip. In a peaceful setting opposite the Parc Richelieu but two minutes from the Rue Royale in the St Pierre end of town, the Meurice offers great value and a real sense of old-fashioned France. They have been slightly defeated by their cable TV connection (happy times wagging the dongle around to catch the BBC six o'clock news), and it's been a long time since I saw hessian walls in a hotel, but our family room was fantastic (no 44, at the end of a corridor hung with wonky Modigliani reproductions and photos of bathing huts). Two interconnecting rooms, one double, one twin, separated by a curtained arch, and a spotless and well-equipped bathroom. Breakfast included - total cost for a family of four...just over £105. The beds were comfortable, the linen pristine and very high quality, the welcome friendly but not over-pushy. Breakfast next morning was excellent, although I personally prefer to have coffee made for me rather than extruded from a Nespresso machine. Other than that, a huge choice of hot and cold dishes, excellent croissants and even a selection of sliced cheeses and charcuterie for Dutch and Belgian visitors.
We were slightly perplexed by the fact that the "house" restaurant, La Diligence, was dark on the Friday night before Christmas, but the receptionist explained that the restaurant is now separately managed from the hotel and undergoing some renovation work.
A peaceful and very atmospheric hotel. We loved it!

Room Tip: Room 44 is the only family room, I think...but if not it's the one to ask for.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filitosa96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

On arrival they had not received our booking through booking.com but this was not a problem and were checked in straight away. The hotel from the outside appears grey and dull but when you enter it was like going back in time with all the different furnishings and a grand staircase. The room was on the ground floor with a very comfy bed, a seperate toilet to the bathroom, plenty of white fluffy towels and a selection of toiletries. We stayed for one night but are planning to stay longer in the future. The staff could not be faulted they were great especially sophie who was on reception even though my french is terrible and she did not speak much english she lent me her ipad and used that to translate. The breakfast was continental and was adequate but some items were cold but they did have plenty to choose from so did not go hungry. Loved the fresh orange juice. There appears to be a lot of work going on in the town but this did not spoil our stay. Plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from in the area. We are already planning our next visit at this hotel it is around the corner from the main street so was lovely and peaceful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night, Sunday 4th November, whilst returning from Paris. What a simply Marvellous establishment. Shabby chic with great style and the ambience of a bygone era. The staff are just lovely too. If you're ever planning on staying anywhere near Calais, please make a beeline for this place. It would be such a shame to lose a hotel with such character to the recession. Not only will we be making a beeline for it in the future... I suspect we'll actually arrange future France trips around it. (Great food in Calais too!)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean-claude c, Propriétaire at Hotel Meurice, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012
Google Translation

Merci beaucpou pour votre appréciation sur notre hôtel. En effet, nous essayons de maintenir ce côté vieille France avec tout le charme qui en découle. Au plaisir de vous revoir bientôt parmi nous

J.C.COSSART Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
172.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
1.1 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#8 of 24 in Calais
299 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meurice

Address: 5 rue Edmond Roche, 62100, Calais, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: $69 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meurice 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meurice hotel, the first one of the name, is situated right in the heart of the city of Calais, in the middle of his animations, bars and numerous restaurants. Every room is provided with a classic, sophisticated decoration and personalized in whom were able to stay numerous personalities such as Charles de Gaulle, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry or Sydney Bechet. Meurice de Calais is close at the same time to the station and in 5 min of the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meurice Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing