We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Meurice
Nearby Hotels
$107
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Calais(Calais)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$71
$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $52/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Les Dunes(Bleriot-Plage)
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$101
$93
ibis Styles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (760)
Filter reviews
760 results
Traveler rating
251
350
98
40
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
350
98
40
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssweeping staircaseantique furnituregrand staircasejacuzzi bathfaded grandeurseparate toiletold styletraditional french hotelcharming hotelstep back in timeloved this hotelthe ground floorquiet streetside streetrue royalefew minutes walkrestaurants and bars
Filter
Updating list...
496 - 501 of 760 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here with my son for a couple of nights and liked most aspects of the hotel.
The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk to the shops, restaurants etc. Calais-Ville railway station is around 10 minutes walk from the hotel and the ports are a short bus or taxi ride.
I was encouraged by the good reports on here so I thought I'd give it a try.
Our twin room was a reasonable size and had a large en-suite shower room and separate loo.
The shower worked well and there was plenty of hot water.
The room had TV with plenty of French channels including Canal + & Canal Sports. There were also some English language channels.
The beds were comfortable with good quality linen. It was difficult to get the curtains to fully close properly in the room.
Breakfast was included in our rate, there was a good selection at the buffet.
The building itself was quite old fashioned and charismatic.
Staff were ok but not amazing and I didn't like the fact there was a dog (presumably belonged to one of the owners) that kept peering round from one of the rooms just next to reception and barking loudly when we checked in and out.
Everything else fine.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crinse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The previous reviews were right in that this hotel is a one off and just what we like ourselves rather than new box like paces. After a long drive this was a haven. Very comfortable and beautifully decorated room on first floor with big bathroom. Great big bed with fluffy pillows. The tv connection was inconsistent but got bbc 1 in the end. Wifi is free once you get your device connected. Big breakfast selection in really good position and near the Ancienne restaurant which is really good. Receptionist when arrived was superb and so helpful.
Good garage below hotel. Try it and enjoy a hotel as the used to be!

Room Tip: First floor with a bath
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjbarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Hotel Meurice has lots of character, unusual old furniture, a lovely little whiskey bar just off reception and a marvellous central staircase. It is situated a couple of minutes walk from the main road with lots of restaurants and bars. We had a nice meal and then looked for a nice bar but they were all full of young people wiht loud music so we returned to the cosy bar in the hotel for our nightcap. Our rooms on the ground floor were on the small side but had a separate bathroom and separate WC which is always nice, flat screen TV and WIFI (you have to pay for it - about 10 euros for 24 hours). Everything was perfectly clean. However, none of us slept too well and we could hear a noise of running water all through the night. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel. I do think this is a little gem and I would return again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you like your French hotels cavernous, extremely comfortable and with non-matching furniture, this lovely old, slightly eccentrically decorated, hotel in Calais is well worth a trip. In a peaceful setting opposite the Parc Richelieu but two minutes from the Rue Royale in the St Pierre end of town, the Meurice offers great value and a real sense of old-fashioned France. They have been slightly defeated by their cable TV connection (happy times wagging the dongle around to catch the BBC six o'clock news), and it's been a long time since I saw hessian walls in a hotel, but our family room was fantastic (no 44, at the end of a corridor hung with wonky Modigliani reproductions and photos of bathing huts). Two interconnecting rooms, one double, one twin, separated by a curtained arch, and a spotless and well-equipped bathroom. Breakfast included - total cost for a family of four...just over £105. The beds were comfortable, the linen pristine and very high quality, the welcome friendly but not over-pushy. Breakfast next morning was excellent, although I personally prefer to have coffee made for me rather than extruded from a Nespresso machine. Other than that, a huge choice of hot and cold dishes, excellent croissants and even a selection of sliced cheeses and charcuterie for Dutch and Belgian visitors.
We were slightly perplexed by the fact that the "house" restaurant, La Diligence, was dark on the Friday night before Christmas, but the receptionist explained that the restaurant is now separately managed from the hotel and undergoing some renovation work.
A peaceful and very atmospheric hotel. We loved it!

Room Tip: Room 44 is the only family room, I think...but if not it's the one to ask for.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filitosa96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

On arrival they had not received our booking through booking.com but this was not a problem and were checked in straight away. The hotel from the outside appears grey and dull but when you enter it was like going back in time with all the different furnishings and a grand staircase. The room was on the ground floor with a very comfy bed, a seperate toilet to the bathroom, plenty of white fluffy towels and a selection of toiletries. We stayed for one night but are planning to stay longer in the future. The staff could not be faulted they were great especially sophie who was on reception even though my french is terrible and she did not speak much english she lent me her ipad and used that to translate. The breakfast was continental and was adequate but some items were cold but they did have plenty to choose from so did not go hungry. Loved the fresh orange juice. There appears to be a lot of work going on in the town but this did not spoil our stay. Plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from in the area. We are already planning our next visit at this hotel it is around the corner from the main street so was lovely and peaceful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews