We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit to Cottage Hotel Calais”
Review of Cottage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cottage Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Halesowen
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Return Visit to Cottage Hotel Calais”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Since my last visit some twelve months ago, the rooms have remained the same with a small bathroom and adequate size bedroom but the Menu on the evening has almost disappeared. There were just three choices plus a chef's special. This used to be a very good place to eat but unless you enjoy one of the limited choices it is no longer a place I would visit for the food. The Buffet starters had gone as had the Buffet Sweet choices. The wine list was very minimal and the prices had shot up.
The Buffet breakfast remains with no hot food choices. Typical Continental choices with a price tag of 9 Euros for a piece of ham, a crusty roll and a cup of coffee.
I do hope that this Hotel can get it's act together again as it has an ideal location for the Channel Tunnel and City Europe shopping. Sorry to mark the Hotel down on this occassion as the staff were all very freindly and spoke good English.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulHill61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    141
    75
    22
    9
See reviews for
54
151
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bourg-en-Bresse, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We only stayed here for one night which we were glad about because it was not really good enough for any longer, we only stayed there because they accept dogs. The room and bed was very clean which you would expect anyway but the bathroom was tiny and very shabby and a strange smell coming from the drains. The corridors were really run down and the carpets have seen better days. A bit of a depressing place all in all. The welcome was very good however and we didn't pay a lot so I suppose you get what you pay for. Didn't eat there so cannot judge the food. A good situation for the tunnel though but it's very noisy and you can hear everything in the corridor and from the neighbouring rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Vary handy for the tunnel. Had difficulty finding it as our sat nav kept sending us down older roads nearby. Very close to large Garden Centre. Rooms average - been updated in last few years - although it reminded us of ex soviet style hotels in Hungary. Our one chair was covered in stains - don't ask. However, the food was very good.

Room Tip: On the ground floor, when in your room, the bare passage way/corridor can act as an amplifying chamb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our return to the UK as we wasn't sure of we could make our train on time.
The Hotel is easy to find, ideally located for the port and euro tunnel and has a restaurant / bar

The staff are friendly and welcoming with badges identifying which languages they speak. Once checked in we went to our room on the second floor to drop our bags and return for a bite to eat and a welcome pint

The rooms are straight out of the 70's, the fake wood veneer, magnolia paint, low bed with solid mattresses and a bathroom that really needed taking out to a skip and replacing.

The restaurant was good though and the food excellent if a little on the small side for portions.

Good parking at the hotel and whilst it wouldn't be my hotel of choice it served its purpose and to be honest if we could get it at a better rate would stay again in the same circumstances

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyjones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is an ok place to stay for one night only if you are travelling back to the UK & waiting on a ferry. It had free parking & wifi.Breakfast was adequate for the price. But the room was extremely tired & small & it semed a wee bit dirty. The window opened but it was noisy outside & the bathroom was so small with a grimy shower curtain. The staff were friendly & they made you feel welcome with their smiles. The walk into the Centre took well over 30 minutes But well worth to escape the confines of the Hotel. Im not sure if there is anything better in Calais....but I will look harder next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debswilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were looking for a hotel close to the Eurotunnel Terminal in Calais. This hotel was the closest: only 5 mins by car. We were welcomed by a very friendly lady and all personnel had the same kindness.

The room and the bathroom were (very) small but clean and offered what is needed on a "one-night-stop". The beds were comfortable enough to have a good night's sleep.

We had dinner at the hotel and it was "Routier style": by far not exceptional but a reasonable price / quality ratio. The breakfast was simple high road robbery: 9,50€ for some toast with preserve, "powder" juice and very bad coffee is simply too much.

We got what we were looking for: a good night's sleep near the terminal but I am not convinced I got good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilde-Claude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here, on our way back from Italy, however! not by choice. Would suggest you avoid if you have a choice. Rooms so small you have to sit down to turn around. Bathroom even smaller.
Also hotel is in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 99CEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calais hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
1.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
1.8 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
700 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#2 of 24 in Calais
477 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Hotel

Property: Cottage Hotel
Address: 648 rue de Tunis, 62100, Calais, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing