We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, pleasant and well run for an overnight stop”
Review of Cottage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cottage Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good value and definitely one up from the chain motels such as Formule 1 (though no better than a Camponile). The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the restaurant was quite good. Very convenient for ferry and rail crossings, and not to far to walk from the centre of Calais.

Room Tip: Not on the car park side (which also face the busy dual carriageway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveT8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 301 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Good value, budget hotel. Restaurant breakfast very good value, dinner menu also good for a one night stay. Hotel ideally situated to port/tunnel, A16 and Auchan!!, car parking also good. Within easy walking distance of town centre too. Our room though, looked in need of redecoration/refurb and there was a musty smell when opening the door (next to the bathroom).

Room Tip: Do not use room 219 if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john_bradley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed at the beginning and end of our holiday for one night each time. Perfect for arriving late off the Tunnel and leaving early to catch your Shuttle back.
Rooms comfortable clean beds fine slept good, breakfast buffet style with a wide choice of food, from cereal to cold meat cheese jams pastries etc. Evening meal was a buffet starter again with a wide choice of food, chose the lamb which was excellently cooked with a choice of buffet desserts.
Good prices friendly staff basic and clean hotel at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room at the back of the hotel, unless you are getting up v.early to travel, as the front r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinRouge79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great for a stopover after or before a ferry crossing, this is a basic hotel serves a good purpose, no frills.
Staff were friendly for France, service was good and the breakfast was excellent. The rooms were basic but clean. The beds ok
I would stay here again but please dont expect the Ritz.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was our fourth stay here. This is a good basic little motel perfect for a first/last stop of the holiday. 5 minutes from the ferry terminal, just off the motorway. Also 5 minutes from the Euro city shopping centre.
Restaurant is OK and good buffet breakfast. Rooms clean. Caters particularly for the UK travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on route to the Chunnel... judging by the UK cars in the car park so did everyone else.

The room was fine. Comfy bed. Tv. tea making facilities. Bathroom also fine. its not luxurious and we didnt expect but were quite surprised on what we found. stayed in worse on a 2 week holiday.... but we wanted to break our journey.

Free wifi in bedroom was a plus......

We stayed on the 2nd floor. As advised in car park dont leave valuables in.you car. so had to empty the car and as there is no lift we had to carry everything upstairs. however on seeing us struggle the hotel reception asked to help us out.

Thinking breakfast was included we ate a small bite before we left. we checked out and were presented with an extra €20. We questioned this as I had only had a drink and some fruit - my husband a coffee and pain au chocolate and €10 was deducted. we could have eaten same meal in the Chunnel service station for a fraction.

Would stay here again.... as it breaks up a long journey. if you jusy want a nights sleep in comfort and very clean at a great price I would recommend this hotel. furthermore the Chunnel is less than 5mins away.... you arrive more relaxed for your onward journey

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzzzyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Food is limited in restaurant and poor quality. Room are very, very small even for France and no discernible sound proofing so you might as well be sharing a room with all the neighbouring guests.
The noisiest hotel I have ever been in!
They say they have English TV programs but reception is so poor or else not working so in truth they only have the usual French channels (not that it's important but they give an impression that is false about UK TV programs in their ads and website.)
Really it is a very bad quality hotel.
Their strong point is that it's 5 minutes from the channel tunnel and they accept pets very well ( we have 4 cats) plus there is free parking. That is why we chose it and I tended not to give much credit to the bad reviews. To give the staff credit they are friendly (well they are probably trying to compensate for the poor food they will serve you at dinner!)

However I believe that those giving this hotel a good rating must have rather low standards.
I truly think a hotel a bit further from the tunnel must be available which will accept pets and give much better value than this one.
I was well prepared to like this hotel and was not looking for anything flashy, but really this is not good value and I am sure there must be better than this in the many other chain hotels in Calais that I saw in the town centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwitzerlandChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
495 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#3 of 24 in Calais
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Premiere Classe Calais Centre - Gare
1.8 mi away
Campanile Calais
Campanile Calais
#12 of 24 in Calais
271 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Hotel

Address: 648 rue de Tunis, 62100, Calais, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: $62 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing