We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late”
Review of Calais Beach

Calais Beach
Ranked #2 of 35 things to do in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Late”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

It's late Autumn - yet the beach area has a magnetism of its own - the ferries are numerous and close-in at the port end. It gets very windy at this time of year.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank hyweln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    224
    54
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“No loos open in October”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We sat at the beach to eat our sandwiches, it was fine except none of the loos were open. There are lots of seagulls but they sat by silently until you fed them.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parcay Les Pins
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Blowing off the cobwebs”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A long walk on Calais beach in the low season was just the ticket after travelling to the UK and back to France for the weekend. Soft and clean sand, fishermen out collecting worms and watching the ferries move from the port was a good start to the day before our next leg of the journey back to the Loire Valley.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frenchholiday01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Lovely beach!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Calais has a lovely beach with fine, golden sand. There are clean toilets at the ferry terminal end of the beach, adjacent to the campervan park. Look out for the stone commemorating Matthew Webb, the first recorded person to swim the Channel. We enjoyed walking out on to the jetty and watching the ferries come and go - there's something vaguely therapeutic about it! It takes about 25 minutes to walk from the ferry terminal to the beach. When we visited before we found it quite a relaxing walk, but this time we had to negotiate the 'tent cities' of what I understand are potential illegal immigrants waiting for a chance to enter the UK. It was quite unnerving (having to walk around groups of men hanging around on quiet street corners, that sort of thing) and didn't give a very good image of Calais.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Canetoad71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“On a clear day you can see England”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Peaceful, quaint. Needs to be see if only from the stanpoint of how the French enjoy the beach holidays.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamtraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calais Beach also viewed

Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Calais Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing