We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce and convenient”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Hotel Victoria
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NIce and convenient”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel is close to the ferry port, in a convenient location after crossing to have some rest before driving on the continent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
13
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I've been using the Hotel Victoria for about 10 years, as a stop over when I arrive by Chunnel or ferry. It ain't the Hilton, but it's clean and convenient, with street parking and 5 mins walk to numerous restaurants. Reasonably quiet environment, and beds, showers etc are fine. There's no dining room, but the manager brings a good continental breakfast to the room on a tray (extra fee, but I recommend it). Over the years, I've had a double, a twin and the 4-bed 'family' rooms. Good value if you want a place to stay the night before moving on; if you were looking for luxury or romance, it's probably the wrong place.

Room Tip: Rooms are up one or two flights of stairs, not a problem if you're fit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maninthemoon1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This was just a stopover until we caught the ferry the next morning, so we didn't expect the Ritz, but we didn't expect Faulty Towers either.The owner was rude, miserable and totally unsociable. It advertised "breakfast" but there was no dining room, so if you paid the xtra for this you ate it in your room. Only one plug socket, but that was out of action as it had screws in it so you couldn't use it, there wasn't even a shaving point in the "bathroom".
They say you only get what you pay for, so I am expecting a refund, because we got nothing really.
Even when we asked for directions to the nearest fuel station it was too much trouble and he was rude again.
Certainly won't be visiting that "hotel" again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie0023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calais hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Unfortunately the Hotel Victoria hit the three strikes of travellers

1/ Rude (very rude actually) innkeeper at check in, just what you need after a long train journey

2/ Noisy, not sure what the manager was doing at the desk at 11.30pm but made a racket

3/ Crap beds that made us scratch all night

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ultracrepidarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We happened upon this hotel whilst looking for an overnight stay before we caught the ferry, the manager/owner was very helpful and spoke good English..we had a family room, 2 double beds and even though the interior is dated it is absolutely spotless, and i'm fussy!!!! there were no smells either!!! the bathroom was gleaming and you could have eaten your dinner in it!!! if you look past the decoration, the beds are clean, the bathroom clean and i'd advise you to have breakfast as well if you have the time. Its 5euro extra each but for a family of four (its served to your room at the time you request it) we got 8 warm half baguettes, a jug of coffee, a jug of hot chocolate, 4 glasses of orange juice, butter, cheese, enough jam, marmalade etc it was well worth the money!! Its ideal for a stopover or a couple of days and i'd certainly be using it again, and its a 2 min walk into Calais centre but quiet enough not to notice!!! All in all, look past the decor and you get a clean hotel with bathroom!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dtm145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 10, 2006

I checked into the Hotel Victoria after I had just watched France lose in the World Cup final on July 9th. I chose this hotel because I just happened to be walking past it - it was about 11pm and I found the inn keeper to be very friendly, spoke perfect English, and gave me a room with a bathroom and a double bed for 42 Euro, and he arranged an early check out for me without any hassle at all. The room was comfortable and typically French. In a nutshell, I got exactly what I was looking for - a comfy, clean, cheap French hotel, friendly service and a good nights sleep. I would definitley go back. If you have a catch an early ferry and you need somewhere to stay within walking distance of the port then this is the place.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2006

I stayed at the Hotel Victoria in June 2000, six years ago, and still remember it fondly. It was clean, inexpensive and well-kept. I picked it out of a book at the Dover ferry, and liked it so well that I stayed there again when I came back through Calais to take the ferry back to Dover. It's not the Ritz, but so what? The owner was courteous and pleasant, the room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was good. For the price we paid, who could ask for more?

  • Stayed June 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
680 reviews
1.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#3 of 24 in Calais
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#7 of 24 in Calais
290 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: 10 Rue De Madrid, Angle Rue Du Commandant Bonningue, 62100, Calais, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Victoria 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing