We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stop off for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here again for an overnight stay in Calais. Rooms are a good size, clean and well appointed. Staff are very friendly and helpful (partner stranded in Paris due to rail strike, receptionist very helpful in printing out timetables and directions!). The restaurant is pleasant but lacking atmosphere and the food didn't quite live up to its description but for an overnight stop it is perfectly adequate. Added bonus of a pool and gym.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelnTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (966)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 966 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

Have stayed here several times before and the hotel still is a nice place to take the early train through the Eurotunnel. There are lots of parking spots, the staff is friendly, it takes 5 minutes to get to the tunnel and the rooms are fine. WiFi is not very good, however. I was not able to establish a VPN connection to my server due to it. The toom was a bit too warm to my liking, but then again, it was lovely weather.

The restaurant is dissappointing, however. Most of the staff don't speak English and the food is ok, but nothing special and therefore overpriced (which typically is the case in hotel restaurants). As there are no decent restaurants nearby - to my knowledge - I have had dinner there a couple of times, but am never really satisfied. When arriving before 8 pm, I recommend finding a restaurant in Calais in stead.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Robin J,

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your thoughts and concerns. We appreciate your compliments about our friendly staff and ample parking spaces. On the other hand, it is unfortunate that the restaurant was a let down during your stay. As our valued guest, we thank you for your feedback as this is our best resource for improvement.

Should your future travel plans bring you back to Calais, we would love to welcome you back in our establishment for a completely satisfying hotel stay.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Our room for the three of us was a good size (rm139). No complaints there. the big issue was that it was unbearably hot. the air-conditioning was not working properly and was measuring the temperature of the room as 26 degrees, despite us programming it to 16 degrees. We called reception twice and they sent someone to have a look both times, and achieved nothing. The room was clean, good size bed was comfortable but the incredible heat ruined it. The staff were unapologetic. Despite my asking that the bill was not taken off my credit card, they did this anyway and refused to take cash. Dinner in the restaurant was expensive, not least as my husbands steak was so tough he had to leave it in the end.

The swimming pool with sauna and steam rooms, was nice, and a good option to have after shopping, especially as we had our 9 year old with us.

Would we stay here again?? I would be tempted to try the Novotel suites not least as its so close to Eurocity, however I suspect that the swimming pool may well be the deciding factor for the men in my family, however if I was without children I would go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Ali00,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am pleased to know that you found our room clean and that you enjoyed the pool facility.

Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. We regret that you were satisfied with your room due to the problem with air conditioning unit. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the quality of food and level of service you received during your stay. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest services.

Once again, thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Really good place to stop either way on journey to/from the continent. Service was very good, room service breakfast order was collected and delivered on time. Facilities are really good.
Recommend this to all travellers especially those with young children.
Swimming pool with sauna and fitness gym on site.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Travellers used to the large rooms in Holiday Inns in the USA will be disappointed at the small cells on offer at this hotel - not that unusual in European Holiday Inns. So our stay started off with a feeling of being let down, but it got better. The room was quiet and efficient with an excellent adapted bathroom for my disabled wife, and the restaurant dinners were of a much higher quality than one would normally expect in a standard chain hotel.

Finding somewhere enjoyable to stay in or near Calais has been a challenge for decades, but with this hotel I think I've cracked it! Perhaps the best thing is that it is set in its own extensive grounds out in the countryside, well away from the dismal town that is Calais. The autoroute is quite near and may cause noise problems for some rooms, but not for our cell.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Spend 3 nights here having a shopping break. Stayed before quite a few years ago but in last 10 years have stayed at the Cottage mostly. It is a 4* and therefore I would expect better quality than The Cottage. Some things are but others let it down. Good points - beds are very comfortable, best nights sleep in ages. rooms have bath and not just shower and there is a fridge in the room. Breakfast tasty, cooked breakfast as well as continental.

Bad points. 1st day breakfast so disorganised they ran out of food. People were waiting around for croissants and pastries etc and they kept running out of items of cooked food at different times. this shouldn't happen as they have list of how many people in hotel having breakfast and should replace as running down not once run out. coffee on 2 out of 3 days cold, but not sure if this because French like it luke warm rather than very hot. Ate 1 evening meal in hotel. it was Ok. But service not the best. Some staff were lovely but the attitude of others lets the place down. We chose this hotel this time as took daughter and partner with us and they wanted to relax in pool. Unfortunately this only open at certain times and was so busy with families it would be difficult to have a proper swim. Gym OK lots of different equipment. Would I go again, maybe if price was right. It was a good nights sleep which is often not the case in hotels in Calais and there was good choice of breakfast. Its nice having a restaurant in the hotel where you can have nice meal and bottle of wine together, other nights it was soft drinks as drove out to restaurants. seems to be a good hotel for those who want to travel with their pets as we saw several sitting in the bars or out being walked in grounds with their owners

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheena-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear Sheena-Steve,

Thank you for writing us a review of your experience. We are very glad that you had the best nights sleep in our hotel. We pride ourselves in providing guests with a comfortable and safe environment and we’re glad you were able to experience this with us. On the other hand, it is very troubling to read about your experience at the restaurant during breakfast. We have taken note of your comments and we will certainly work on the issues you have raised to improve guest satisfaction for your next stay and for future guests as well. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the pleasure of having you again on your next trip to Calais.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Location is great - well placed for the tunnel and shopping yet out of the way and very peaceful in the extensive grounds.

Room was clean, comfortable and had nice quality bedding etc. The only thing missing was a fridge which would have been useful.

In the bathroom the toilet seat kept slipping around and the grab handle over the bath was loose so a few small details that needed to be fixed but nothing too major.

The room we had was underneath a huge extractor vent for what I think is the kitchen - ran until very late and on again at 5am prompt so this did affect sleep quality quite a bit but as least the room had tea and coffee making facilities so II was able to make a nice cup of coffee and watch the sun rise.

Reception staff helpful and efficient, restaurant staff were mainly good although one chap was a little surly.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and the food quality was good - sadly there was only one vegetarian choice on the night we stayed which was a bit of a disappointment.

Overall it was good value (book your breakfast when you reserve your room for the best price), we had a very pleasant stay in a nice clean and comfy hotel, but next time I would choose a different room.

Room Tip: Room 218 is beneath the extractor vent and above the kitchen entrance for staff so if you are a ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyIsabellaGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calais
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
505 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hotel  La Matelote
Hotel La Matelote
#3 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
3.8 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
625 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#3 of 24 in Calais
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles

Address: 2099 Avenue Charles de Gaulle, 62231, Calais, France (Formerly Hotel Copthorne Coquelles Calais)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: $90 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Calais Coquelles is located 2 minutes from Euro Tunnel, Cite Europe Shopping centre, Eurostar station, main Motorways to European destinations and Calais harbour. Surrounded by a peaceful park with an INDOOR SWIMMING POOL, private car park, Bedrooms with air conditioning during Summer period, a fitness centre with extended facilities (Sauna, Steam Room...), meeting rooms with day light, possibility of cocktail and dinner until 350 people and just 3 minutes from the White Cliffs of Cap Blanc Nez and the sandy beaches of the Opale Coast.. !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles Hotel Calais
Calais Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing