We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place - shame about the bed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night after a long drive through France. It was the most expensive hotel of our trip at 160 euros. We had an *enormous* 'Executive' room with a double bed for the kids and us. Our bed was soft and lumpy and we didn't sleep particularly well. There was no way of curtaining off the kids part of the room, which was a shame. The room and bathroom were spotless and well appointed on the whole. Breakfast was OK, although we had to contend with a couple of coach parties. The hotel is very close to restaurants at Cite de Europe - although you will have to drive there - 5 mins.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostintheirishsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 942 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 times now for a single night when going to and from elsewhere in Europe. Clean, bright, free Wi-fi, friendly staff. Breakfast probably best avoided. Convenient for the tunnel and only a short drive from the ferry.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Was on a driving holiday with my brothers and we decided to get a late euro tunnel and we arrived at the hotel late as we were only aiming to leave early in the morning to get a good crack on into Europe. The Hotel itself was clean and well presented staff were friendly even though we had shown up at 10pm check in was efficient and checkout doubly so would recomend it for anyone looking to stop over especially driving from the UK...

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Josh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Be warned, if you are allocated room 225, turn it down straight away! The mattress had basically collapsed on both sides, which meant that unless you slept in the middle of the beds, you had a constant battle to stop yourself from falling out of bed!

We used the swimming pool which was fine, however both male and female changing rooms were so small that it was difficult not to get intimate with your fellow guests!!!!

Other than that, the holiday was perfectly adequate for a stop over before catching the tunnel back to the UK. However, with cheaper hotels available nearby, I expected much better quality.

Room Tip: don't go near room 225!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxBristol_leexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear StreetTripleLee,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. We are glad you liked our convenient location as well as our facilities. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you were not fully satisfied with the sleeping accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed 1 night on stop over. Room clean and comfortable. Easy to find and park. 2 mins from cite de Europe and tunnel. Breakfast good with usual and also hot buffet breakfast. Usual price 15 euro which I thought a bit steep but if you pre purchased night before 10 euro. Evening restaurant meal also looked expensive at 28 euros and choice un inspiring . TIP eat at cite de Europe after shopping (wine shopping for us) for 17 Euros in Brasserie got main, desert, drink (wine, beer or soda) and coffee...we all had the steak. Did not use pool etc but would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobytykeYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this place is "average" but as a one night stop-over either arriving in France, or heading back to the U.K. "Average" is probably good enough. Somewhere clean to lay your head, breakfast was just "OK" 5 minutes drive from Eurotunnel. You shouldn't make this a holiday destination, but again, as a stop-over, it works just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceejmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Ceejmeister,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Holiday Inn Coquelles is easy to find off Junction 41 close to Calais, you can't miss the roundabout just before the hotel as it is has the mole which made the first hole for the Chunnel in the middle of it!

Hotel is modern and clean but not near the centre or any shops, however, the main shopping malls are only a few minutes away (NB they are all closed on Sundays!). Check in was ok although the king executive suite was disappointing, with two children in the room there was little space for any suitcases once the foldout bed was put up. Wifi is patchy, you need a code for each device (reception provide free codes for as many as needed) but the signal was too weak in room 139 to work at all. A disappointment given that we had some maps and things to download.

We didn't realise that there was a small swimming pool/sauna/steam room which was a bonus after a long drive - though check opening hours, it is closed between 1300-1700 on Sundays when many families like us could have used it to get rid of kids' excess energy after a long drive!

We didn't eat in restaurant as didn't look cheap and limited menu so headed off to centre of Calais just ten mins away by car.

Quite good value for money room wise, free parking but not behind secure gates like some hotels in the area, but very close for Eurotunnel crossing without being noisy from rail or sea port traffic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ascsroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calais
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
361 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#3 of 24 in Calais
716 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hotel  La Matelote
Hotel La Matelote
#2 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
410 reviews
2.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles

Address: 2099 Avenue Charles de Gaulle, 62231, Calais, France (Formerly Hotel Copthorne Coquelles Calais)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: $85 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Calais Coquelles is located 2 minutes from Euro Tunnel, Cite Europe Shopping centre, Eurostar station, main Motorways to European destinations and Calais harbour. Surrounded by a peaceful park with an INDOOR SWIMMING POOL, private car park, Bedrooms with air conditioning during Summer period, a fitness centre with extended facilities (Sauna, Steam Room...), meeting rooms with day light, possibility of cocktail and dinner until 350 people and just 3 minutes from the White Cliffs of Cap Blanc Nez and the sandy beaches of the Opale Coast.. !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles Hotel Calais
Calais Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing