We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Coquelles March 28th. We were running late due to incident on the Tunnel . We rang the hotel to explain they couldn't have been more helpful. We arrived quite late Virginia on reception was most welcoming and helpful check in was very smooth and fast. Our room was lovely clean comfortable and very relaxing. We have already booked our return trip for June. Thank you again Virginia your helpfulness confirmed our decision to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mossy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 921 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here en route to the alps. On arrival we were struck by the impersonal reception area.
Our bedroom was basic, needed re-decorating and had no view at all. The bathroom featured a visible dirty toilet brush and jaded out of date fittings. The beds were not comfortable. The restaurant was over-priced - I paid 26 euros for a fillet the which was 1inch thick and tiny with a few frozen chips - no vegetables, the drinks were over-priced no wonder the bar was empty!
Breakfast was in a cold room with no personality or charm, the coffee was bitter and awful and we were glad to leave. We will not be returning!

Room Tip: Are there any?
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback which we value enabling us to react immediately with all guests concerns. We strive at all times to offer the highest quality, all our mattresses have recently been changed, our restaurant menu is regularly changed according to the season prices ranging from 16,50 to 24€ for a beef tournedos and menus from 16,50€ to 28€ , the prices are similar to most establishments in our category. We would have been delighted to change your dish if it was not to the required quality. Finally the breakfast, the coffee is brewed freshly each morning, if it again was not the best we would have been delighted to make you another cup. We hope that you will return soon to the Holiday Inn Coquelles in order to appreciate the high standards you should receive.
Best Regards Stephen Wise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Polite friendly and helpful staff
Hotel is bright , clean and welcoming and in a quiet area.prices in the bar area and restaurant are the same as in Calais
Location is good for shopping and the euro tunnel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopwood25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Well situated hotel, service good. Rooms clean and good for short stay. Pool, hammam, fitness centre is excellent and well appointed. Good for people who like to work out properly in the gym. Good location to drive to/from ferry or euro tunnel and explore surrounding towns. Would stay again. We as a couple have stayed twice and enjoyed each time. Staff speak good english, but happy to speak to you in french if you can speak french

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_A_Person_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few times; worth paying for exec room. Only gripe is late opening of pool and gym 900 am is too late if you want a pre breakfast swim. Room clean. Breakfast fine and service pleasant.
Free car park. Near shops.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen_2H20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear karen.simpson,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am glad that you have noticed the cleanliness of our rooms. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of it's product. However, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the operating hours of our pool. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

On route to euro tunnel, we came upon seriously bad weather and thus stranded in Calais as the trains were cancelled!
Whilst trying not to get hit by other drivers ( most seemed not knowing how to drive in snow) we drove to the nearest hotel, the Holliday inn!
I know considering the weather conditions and the number of people stranded in Calais one should be thankful for having fund a room.... Yet..... The hotel was horrid! Our room was filthy, the bathroom was disgusting (could not take a shower as one would have been dirtier after the shower)!
The carpet, curtains and the bed covered were dusty and grim! The heating did not work and thus the temperature inside was not that different to the outside!
The extra bed that they brought resembled beds in prisons.... quite shocking!
From sheer hunger we ventured to the restaurant and the food was not rather vile! Things did not improve as the breakfast was sparse and sad....
Really there is no excuse for such filth and grossness!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kensingtonyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you to have taken the time to give me a feedback of your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Coquelles. I must say on first reading I was convinced you were talking about another hotel. I personally brought you an extra bed to your room, whilst I made your bed you had ample time to let me know about any problems you might have had with your room. I feel it’s unfair to say the room was filthy the hotel horrid and the bathroom disgusting these are useful adjectives however remain very imprecise and misleading. Our aim is always to provide the best service possible for our guests and react immediately to rectify any issues and totally value objective criticism. Our guest satisfaction score are superior to most Holiday Inn hotels in Europe 83,3% v/s 79,5% in march Cleanliness of the bathroom 86.70% v/s 85.40 average Europe plus1.30%.
The bedroom was perfectly cleaned and returned according to the Holiday Inn standards and guests high expectations. We carry out 30 room cleanliness / maintenance checks per month as part of the Holiday Inn Self-Assessment program, the carpets are shampooed on a regular basis and the room has been totally refurbished including all furniture. As for the food and beverage we have recently been awarded the accolade of "Maître Restaurateur" and always strive to provide the highest quality both of service and food. A full English breakfast together with chilled buffet and daily baked French pastries, hot freshly brewed coffee are always served to the highest possible standards.
I look forward to you next visit to Holiday Inn Coquelles so you may appreciate the high standards we strive to reach for all our guests.
KInd Regards
Stephen Wise
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I do like the holiday inns, you sort of know what you are getting - its the first time we stayed in this one and decided on it after several so so stays at other hotels before

The hotel was easy to find and we have two adjoining rooms for the 5 of us, a room with a double bed and a room with two singles (pushed together) and a put-me-up bed - there was plenty of room for all 3 beds

the rooms were clean and cumfy, the bathrooms were large with plenty of hot water and a big bath, the rooms were a little hot to start with but at least the windows opened wide enough to get air in as the aircon was not available

we all had a good night sleep and also ate breakfast (free for kids under 14), it was something like €15 each, it was ok but we had to ask several times for tea as they didnt have the facilities to make it ourselves and also the milk was all gone and it took considerable time to get it refilled, not really a problem as we were in no rush, it was ok for the money and cheaper than buying food at the eurotunnel

The kids used the swimming pool which was nice and easy to get to

all in all, it was a good stay, I preferred it to the other holiday inn in Calais as the parking was free and also secure, its a larger hotel and more out in the country than the other one, its also only one junction away from the euro tunnel terminal so really easy to get to and from

We got a good deal with this hotel, it was something like £120 for the two rooms (sleeping 5)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poe.tuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calais
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#3 of 24 in Calais
484 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
0.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
175.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
3.1 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
710 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#7 of 24 in Calais
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles

Address: 2099 Avenue Charles de Gaulle, 62231, Calais, France (Formerly Hotel Copthorne Coquelles Calais)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: $91 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Calais Coquelles is located 2 minutes from Euro Tunnel, Cite Europe Shopping centre, Eurostar station, main Motorways to European destinations and Calais harbour. Surrounded by a peaceful park with an INDOOR SWIMMING POOL, private car park, Bedrooms with air conditioning during Summer period, a fitness centre with extended facilities (Sauna, Steam Room...), meeting rooms with day light, possibility of cocktail and dinner until 350 people and just 3 minutes from the White Cliffs of Cap Blanc Nez and the sandy beaches of the Opale Coast.. !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles Hotel Calais
Calais Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing