We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid three star with great indoor pool and fitness facilities. Good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Solid three star with great indoor pool and fitness facilities. Good service”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Well situated hotel, service good. Rooms clean and good for short stay. Pool, hammam, fitness centre is excellent and well appointed. Good for people who like to work out properly in the gym. Good location to drive to/from ferry or euro tunnel and explore surrounding towns. Would stay again. We as a couple have stayed twice and enjoyed each time. Staff speak good english, but happy to speak to you in french if you can speak french

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_A_Person_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    456
    166
    49
    22
See reviews for
229
426
32
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few times; worth paying for exec room. Only gripe is late opening of pool and gym 900 am is too late if you want a pre breakfast swim. Room clean. Breakfast fine and service pleasant.
Free car park. Near shops.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_2H20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear karen.simpson,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am glad that you have noticed the cleanliness of our rooms. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of it's product. However, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the operating hours of our pool. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

On route to euro tunnel, we came upon seriously bad weather and thus stranded in Calais as the trains were cancelled!
Whilst trying not to get hit by other drivers ( most seemed not knowing how to drive in snow) we drove to the nearest hotel, the Holliday inn!
I know considering the weather conditions and the number of people stranded in Calais one should be thankful for having fund a room.... Yet..... The hotel was horrid! Our room was filthy, the bathroom was disgusting (could not take a shower as one would have been dirtier after the shower)!
The carpet, curtains and the bed covered were dusty and grim! The heating did not work and thus the temperature inside was not that different to the outside!
The extra bed that they brought resembled beds in prisons.... quite shocking!
From sheer hunger we ventured to the restaurant and the food was not rather vile! Things did not improve as the breakfast was sparse and sad....
Really there is no excuse for such filth and grossness!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NedaNikbakht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you to have taken the time to give me a feedback of your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Coquelles. I must say on first reading I was convinced you were talking about another hotel. I personally brought you an extra bed to your room, whilst I made your bed you had ample time to let me know about any problems you might have had with your room. I feel it’s unfair to say the room was filthy the hotel horrid and the bathroom disgusting these are useful adjectives however remain very imprecise and misleading. Our aim is always to provide the best service possible for our guests and react immediately to rectify any issues and totally value objective criticism. Our guest satisfaction score are superior to most Holiday Inn hotels in Europe 83,3% v/s 79,5% in march Cleanliness of the bathroom 86.70% v/s 85.40 average Europe plus1.30%.
The bedroom was perfectly cleaned and returned according to the Holiday Inn standards and guests high expectations. We carry out 30 room cleanliness / maintenance checks per month as part of the Holiday Inn Self-Assessment program, the carpets are shampooed on a regular basis and the room has been totally refurbished including all furniture. As for the food and beverage we have recently been awarded the accolade of "Maître Restaurateur" and always strive to provide the highest quality both of service and food. A full English breakfast together with chilled buffet and daily baked French pastries, hot freshly brewed coffee are always served to the highest possible standards.
I look forward to you next visit to Holiday Inn Coquelles so you may appreciate the high standards we strive to reach for all our guests.
KInd Regards
Stephen Wise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arsy, France
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I do like the holiday inns, you sort of know what you are getting - its the first time we stayed in this one and decided on it after several so so stays at other hotels before

The hotel was easy to find and we have two adjoining rooms for the 5 of us, a room with a double bed and a room with two singles (pushed together) and a put-me-up bed - there was plenty of room for all 3 beds

the rooms were clean and cumfy, the bathrooms were large with plenty of hot water and a big bath, the rooms were a little hot to start with but at least the windows opened wide enough to get air in as the aircon was not available

we all had a good night sleep and also ate breakfast (free for kids under 14), it was something like €15 each, it was ok but we had to ask several times for tea as they didnt have the facilities to make it ourselves and also the milk was all gone and it took considerable time to get it refilled, not really a problem as we were in no rush, it was ok for the money and cheaper than buying food at the eurotunnel

The kids used the swimming pool which was nice and easy to get to

all in all, it was a good stay, I preferred it to the other holiday inn in Calais as the parking was free and also secure, its a larger hotel and more out in the country than the other one, its also only one junction away from the euro tunnel terminal so really easy to get to and from

We got a good deal with this hotel, it was something like £120 for the two rooms (sleeping 5)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poe.tuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed for one night 23 Nov 2012 for a shopping trip and it was a pleasant and comfortable stay. The meal in the restaurant surpassed our expectations and we would definitely stay again. The small drawback was the smell of damp and mould in the corridors on the first floor? It did not extend into our room fortunately, but was very noticeable when leaving our room. Perhaps they had recently shampooed the carpets and not deodorised them? Otherwise a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshiretraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Nothing to complain about in this hotel, rooms were fine (remember it is a 3 star, not a luxury 5 star), UK tv channels in room, free wi-fi - yes for one device initially but you only need to ask in reception if you want a connection for other devices. Food in the restaurant was absolutely stunning, best we'd had after a month in France!! Bar was lovely to relax, slightly slow service but I think the bar person must have been new to the job. Beds were comfy, slept very well, nice and quiet as well. Didn't use the pool but it looked nice, didn't venture outside of the hotel so can't comment on the area other than its close to the tunnel. This is a hotel with far more amenities and more comfort than other hotels around the tunnel, would definitely use again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here on business, having reserved a double room. First issue was that they didn't have a non-smoking double room & tried to put me in a single one ! Second, they declined my corporate card even though they accepted it as a room guarantee.

The room, whilst smelling slightly of smoke which wasn't the end of the world, was clean quiet & comfortable. The leisure club was good & the pool was useful.

The final issue was when I got home I discovered that I had been charged for breakfast every morning (I had pre-paid at the start of my stay with a personal credit card & didnt check the invoice when I checked out), even though they had told me at the start I was on a "room only" tariff. After a couple of calls to my travel agent this was sorted out, but less than ideal

Location-wise, the hotel is VERY well located, no more than 5 minutes from the Channel Tunnel terminal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattandAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear MattandAM,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am pleased you liked our location. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your room and the confusion with the bill. I am glad this was sorted out in a timely manner. Rest assured that all your comments will be reviewed and actions will be taken accordingly. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calais
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#3 of 24 in Calais
469 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
3.1 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
321 reviews
2.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
3.8 mi away
Hotel l'Escale
Hotel l'Escale
#1 of 1 in Escalles
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles

Property: Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
Address: 2099 Avenue Charles de Gaulle, 62231, Calais, France (Formerly Hotel Copthorne Coquelles Calais)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Calais Coquelles is located 2 minutes from Euro Tunnel, Cite Europe Shopping centre, Eurostar station, main Motorways to European destinations and Calais harbour. Surrounded by a peaceful park with an INDOOR SWIMMING POOL, private car park, Bedrooms with air conditioning during Summer period, a fitness centre with extended facilities (Sauna, Steam Room...), meeting rooms with day light, possibility of cocktail and dinner until 350 people and just 3 minutes from the White Cliffs of Cap Blanc Nez and the sandy beaches of the Opale Coast.. !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles Hotel Calais
Calais Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing