We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Calais
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We traveled as a family with two young children (7 & 4) for 3 nights.
Tiny room with 2 double-queen sized beds. Plenty pillows, although stained. Outdated, 70's style pastel colored bathroom with old tub and faucets. No storage on bathroom at all. None. No place to put your things. Wall mounted soap dispensers for hand soap and shower soap. Unfortunately our shower soap was empty after the first night and did not get replaced. In fact, the empty bottle got ignored after the first service, despite me having propped it up on top of dispenser, and having put it next to empty tissue dispenser the second day. Flimsy, cheap towels. Hair in bathtub (not ours), and sticky residue on night stand. Room service maid left leaning rag in bathroom on 2nd day service, on top of our stuff! Also saw one step into a room after one short knock, no vocal identification at all. Guest wasn't happy. Glad it wasn't my room.
Noisy elevator next to room going until late at night and starting early morning.
No upgrade, despite priority club membership.
Friendly staff, all English speaking.
Can't couch for closeness to beach, as beach access bride was closed during our stay. Front desk said it'll only be a 15 minute walk to beach with next access bridge -- turned out to be 30-40 minutes!! No mentioning of bus line that travels between beach and hotel (No. 5).

All in all, ok to stay for short trips, no more than one or two nights. Certainly not up to Holiday Inn standards!

(And now enjoy the standard response of the manager: excuses, followed by "hope you give us another chance".)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anjacweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments. You may be disappointed by my reply as I am not the kind of person to write standard responses to guests comments. Sorry about that !!
You can trust that tomorrow morning I will have a word with our housekeeper. What you have written about cleanliness is not acceptable.
I will also forward your comments about the bathroom design to our owners.

I agree with you that this part of Calais is going under big renovations and it is not easy at all to access places like the beach or even the city centre by using the usual roads. But if you come back in a few months, I am sure you will appreciate the new look of the city.

Yours sincerely

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 494 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

Myself, my husband and my three children had a very pleasant stay in Calais (two nights). The staff were very friendly, the room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. It was a great base to stay, the coast of the Pas de Calais region well within a half an hour drive and the sights of Calais within walking distance. Very hard to find fault.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a great view over the ferry port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheshirehousewife01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you will come again and discover more about the Calais area.
Kind regards.

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our second time at the Calais Holiday Inn located by the harbour, mid way between the ferries and the tunnel and very close to many restaurants. Good rooms, dog friendly and British TV with internet access via the set. Fine walks by the harbour and sea front and plenty of car parking opposite the hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptSteveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice62100, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments.
We are glad to know that you will visit us again. You are more than welcome !
Kindest regards

Patrice HAULTCOEUR
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We booked 2 family rooms (2 double beds in each room) for 3 adults and 1 child. Needless to say really comfortable as each could have a bed if so wished. The rooms were clean with choice of pillows. Mini bar and for us a pleasure as our rooms overlooked the harbour. Sadly we were only there for just 1 night as it was a treat for our 8 year old grandson who wanted to travel on a "BIG" ship. Luckily for us he meant a ferry and not a cruise ship! The Manager was so helpful and recommended places for us to eat in the town. He spoke perfect English as our French is very little. The staff we came into contact with were very friendly. The housemaid found I had left a very expensive goose down pillow and informed Reception straight away and luckily we returned to the hotel to use the toilets and the pillow was brought down to me. The public toilets were very clean and fresh and definitely a good indication of a good hotel. We were fortunate to park immediately in front of the hotel entrance for free. All in all, very good value for money and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. We hope that you will choose to stay again with us when you next come for a "cruise" !

Kindest regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Close to the port and town centre. Excellent market on the day of our departure. Loads of free parking opposite. Good clean room and friendly staff. Strangely we were given a complimentary bottle of American wine despite being in France. Awful wine, which we saw in a bargain bin for €2.50 later!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for being with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come again.
Kind regards

Patrice HAULTCOEUR
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nearby to food, port etc. Hotel fairly clean, friendly staff. No underground free parking, but there is side road to park. Not much to do in the hotel, or outside, however I was there for new years so most places were closed. Not everyone spoke English but they were polite. Was a good short break.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gai4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thanks for your stay and your comments. I am happy you enjoyed being with us and hope to see you again in our hotel.
Yours sincerely
Patrice HAULTCOEUR
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

stopped overnight to break up a 14 hour drive. The hotel is ideally located in the centre of town with plenty of outdoor parking across the road (didn't use the underground car park). Staff are friendly and polite and even chuckled at my shocking French! we stayed in a two double bed room which is fine for a family with teenage kids with a little judicious use of the bathroom. We had an excellent meal in the Milan Pizza restaurant in the square immediately behind the hotel. all in all an extremely convenient stay 5 mins from the ferry and 10 from the tunnel

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markmsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our hotel. I am glad we were able to provide your family with a good rest. You know where to stay when you next come in the area!

Happy New Year and kind regards.

Patrice HAULTCOEUR
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
616 reviews
1.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
1.3 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#7 of 24 in Calais
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Calais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Calais

Address: 6 boulevard des Allies, 62100, Calais, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: $83 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Calais 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn - Calais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calais
Calais Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing