We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got abandoned in the port!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Premiere Classe Calais Centre - Gare
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Reviewed June 19, 2014

So as you may have guessed - we got abandoned in the port. Our cab driver brought us here as we were in a bind with no trains and no buses available for some reason or another.
We were 2 adults and 2 two teens so I had to get 2 rooms which were mostly connected, it worked out well for us. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I don't speak French (which is my problem, not theirs) so communicating was difficult at times. The night clerk speaks English & French and boy was I happy to see him. He helped us work out some train times for the next day and he was overall a beacon in the storm.
The breakfast was actually really good and a really good value. Do have breakfast there as it's the best deal around.
The train station is directly across the street so it was a good home base for us while we figured out our route into Paris.
A short walk from the hotel is a really nice little town who's charm wasn't revealed until morning. So would I recommend it? Yeah in a pinch and if you can get a good price. The rooms were very basic, but did the job well and certainly beat sleeping at the docks with the crazy drunk guy who wanted to be our friend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 318 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

We needed a room on 24th May. Premier Classe was, we thought, reasonably priced and had availability. The reception staff were helpful, although there was a distinct smell of drains, they quickly produced towels, there was only one hand towel in the room, and gave us a map of the town and directions to the area to go to eat. The room was dirty, the shower only had a curtain and as a result flooded the bathroom when it was used, and the whole place looked tired - it needs a complete refurbishment. Sound insulation does not exist and one might as well be sleeping in the same room as the one next-door. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harris-vyvyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Fortunately we only had an overnight stay at the hotel but I would not recommend it. It was clean and had free parking but that is all I can say. While we were there groups of people were checking in at all hours and it was very noisey. Also, the bar and reception area had a faint smell of sewerage. We only stayed here because my friend was on a budget but if we did the same trip again I would pay more and stay somewhere more appealing!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldengirl039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Not very impressed at all. The lady at reception tried to make me pay again even though I had paid at the time of booking. Our rooms were on the second floor so felt safe but were tiny and cramped. The shower curtain was grotty but everything else was clean. The worst thing was the smell of smoke throughout the hotel, corridors and rooms reeked. Was quite glad to leave and wouldn't bother again....

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jayanesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

It's a pity that throughout the hotel everywhere including the room smells of smoke and noisy child in next room but very good value for money in an excellent location. would stay again especially at that price.


  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with premiereclasse.com - Louvre Hotels Group
1  Thank BroadstairsHotrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

booked in at half term for a 1 night stop on the way to the Alpes.You basically get what you pay for.Our triple room was £31.00 in sterling and just under £4 for breakfast each,which was quite good value,as you could have as much as you wanted to eat.The room was small and basic,but clean.We had no light working in the bathroom and no window,informed reception,but hotel was full and couldnt be moved,luckily we had a torch in the car for emergencies on our travels ,but didnt expect to have to use it in our room.Didnt really complain as room was so cheap and we managed for 1 night.Good value for a 1 night stay,but wouldnt have been happy staying in room any longer.Also forget that the french seem to smoke alot and, as a non smoker,you feel like the fumes are seeping through the door.Probably would stay here again for a 1 night stop over.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ovendales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very Basic but very comfortable great parking clean and tidy great position next to the train station people are friendly and very security minded. We were only visiting for the weekend but found the hotel location perfect for what we needed. a must is to eat the three course menu at the hovercraft great value for money and the food is great


  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with premiereclasse.com - Louvre Hotels Group
Thank barbarawalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
1.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
1.2 mi away
Campanile Calais
Campanile Calais
#12 of 24 in Calais
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#3 of 24 in Calais
722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premiere Classe Calais Centre - Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premiere Classe Calais Centre - Gare

Address: 3 quai du Danube, 62100, Calais, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: $38 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Premiere Classe Calais Centre - Gare 1*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premiere Classe Calais Centre - Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing