We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, straight-forward overnight stop, good for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Premiere Classe Calais Centre - Gare
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Directions:
Sat Nav pulled it up directly, but it is on a bit of a funny entrance slipway which I missed the first time so ended up having to go round for a second try, luckily it was late evening and there were hardly any cars on the road!

Check in:
Arrived at about 8.55pm having been horribly delayed by tunnel problems so was a bit frazzled and hyper child was zipping around like a loon after having been trapped in car for too long, this didn't seem to faze the lovely receptionist who was chatting away with him whilst organising me.

Room:
Corridor stank of smoke and looked very dingy and for a minute I was worried that I'd made a horrible mistake with this booking, However after entering the first security door to our 'area' it was noticeably less and once in the room there were no further problems.

I'd booked a triple, and this worked out perfectly for us [1 adult 1 child], separate bunk over the main bed [small double - can't imagine trying to fit two adults in this!], small hanging space, little desk - all lights and sockets working well. Heating is independently set on the radiator. Little window with a chain. Bed firm, with floppy pillows, but generally quite comfortable.

We were on the end of a corridor on the first floor and it was very quiet, only when our neighbours decided on an early departure [2am - seriously people??] was there any noise so if you want little one to sleep through the night ask for 101. Felt very secure.

Bathroom was simple and not too cramped but the shower curtain was useless and the floor was absolutely flooded. Had to sacrifice the towels as it was starting to leak into the room! Not sure how it would be possible for more than 1 person to shower without causing a tidal wave!

Breakfast:
5 euros for an adult and 2.50 for a child seemed reasonable. Luckily little man was up at the crack of dawn so we were eating at 6.30am. At this time it was nice and plentiful, but as no one was making any attempt to fill it up I can understand some of the other reviews. By the time we and a couple of other people had finished, it seemed very depleted and the coffee pot was almost empty. I would say if you are a late breakfaster [anything after 7.30ish] this might not suit.

Wi-fi:
Couldn't get a connection via the iphone, but it was only over breakfast that the staff explained that this could be a problem, but the laptop found it fine after this.

Check-out:
You just leave the card in a little basket on the front desk, couldn't be simpler.


Overall:
For a one night stopover this is great, cheap as chips and very simple. But I couldn't imagine staying longer than this.

Room Tip: First floor rooms feel very secure. Bunk beds in the triple perfect for travelling with kids. End of...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DK1bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for Premiere Classe Calais Centre - Gare
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 311 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

open 24 hours so whatever your ferry arrival time you can check in
usually plenty of parking
basic but as a stop off its very good value for money
easy to find if you follow the signs for the railway station from the ferry

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I arrived on Nov 16 2013 at about 10pm. The man in reception must be the most objectionable prat on the planet. He had put me on the top floor even though there were loads of other rooms. The next room was filthy with a hole in thewall and I stuck to the floor as I walked. The third room was ok but stank of smoke. Believe me I know good from bad but this place and especially THAT MAN were shocking. Do not stay there, it is run down and disgraceful ......makes you feel like a low life.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with premiereclasse.com - Louvre Hotels Group
Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel quite a few times on our way home and find it very convenient and good value for a stopover. However we had a problem with the room this time. None of the sockets worked so we could not connect our computer or watch the tv. We arrived late and did not discover the problem until we were tucked up in bed...too late to change rooms. We were in a hurry in the morning and were unable to find the receptionist to report the problem. We'll go back -but will remember to check everything first!


  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with premiereclasse.com - Louvre Hotels Group
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We my brother in law and I stayed here on our return from Normandy. The hotel is very clean, and the staff very helpful, the location is ideal for exploring Calais as it is next to the station. The main down points where the amount of noise early in the morning as people left for early ferries, and there is an annex that runs the length of the car park that is not being used and looks like it. On arrival this is your first impression and It makes you wonder just what you have booked.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank PA38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Clean room with perfectly working basic facilities, reasonably sized at a very reasonable price. That's what we wanted for a few hours' rest on our way to England.

We got exactly that, plus two welcome surprises: an attentive, helpful reception staff both late in the evening and early in the morning, and a plentiful if basic continental breakfast to get us going.

Oh, the ferry dock is literally straight ahead when driving out of the hotel, and few minutes away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GianlucaMarcellino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Yes it's small, yes it's not got the facilities of a 5 star hotel, however, the clue is in the price,

The rooms are small but they are clean, the heating works well and there is plenty of hot water and a nice shower, The beds are comfortable and for an overnight or 2 nights as a central base it's ideal. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and do speak good English

Having stopped the world over in Luxury hotels and Motels, this is a fabulous hotel to use as a base for exploring Calais and the surrounding areas.

If you want the luxuries of a Kettle, large rooms and the ability to stop in then don't stop here but for a place to lay your head, it's fab

There are restaurants within a 15 minute walk and also a small Carrefour within a 2 minute walk

Will definitley be staying here again

Room Tip: If you want a family room(s) there odd numbered rooms are linked with an extra door, eg Rooms 105 an...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenSowter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calais hotels
172.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
710 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#3 of 24 in Calais
484 reviews
1.2 mi away
Campanile Calais
Campanile Calais
#12 of 24 in Calais
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premiere Classe Calais Centre - Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premiere Classe Calais Centre - Gare

Address: 3 quai du Danube, 62100, Calais, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: $41 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Premiere Classe Calais Centre - Gare 1*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Premiere Classe Calais Centre - Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing