We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Au Vieux Fourneau

Au Vieux Fourneau
Ranked #15 of 149 Restaurants in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel manager has recommended the restaurant. Absolutely decent choice! Fish was incredibly cooked. The mussel soup that we took was also very tasty. It s also a good choice from the quality v. money perspective. Not very expensive and tasty. We would recommend this place if you wish to have something tasty and fresh.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    118
    25
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Can a 3 out of 5 be good...yes!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This bistro/ bar/ restaurant is lacking something because it cannot seem to make up it's mind what it ought to be. Too informal for a restaurant, too formal to be a cafe/bar...it's hard to convey. The lunch menu at 9 euros is very good value and superior to anything at the same price in England in similar surroundings. A little pate starter followed by half a roti chicken with chips and a small salad garnish which included one of my favourites, chicory. All washed down with an inclusive generous glass of drinkable white wine. Service was ever so slightly aloof despite talking in reasonable French. I did notice upon leaving that for a few Euros more a few doors away what appears to be an exquisite small restaurant worthy of a visit with good value lunch menus, so look around first, but this place wasn't too bad at all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank donfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Langley
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unfortunately not improving”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I so want to enjoy Au Vieux Fourneau but she simply doesn't want to play...

Having visited again last week in a "give it the benefit of the doubt" frame of mind it was, regrettably, more (pretty dreadful food) and less ( attentive service) as before. Having waited for 2 minutes before anyone appeared to seat me it was disappointing not to be offered an aperitif and having to almost demand a wine list. That said the two demi's of Chablis and St Emillion were agreeable and reasonably priced.

The starter was not good. Scallops cooked with horribly over salted haddock could have been rather special but, as usual, it was smothered in the ever present overkill of colours, flavours and presentation. My entree of confit de canard looked like a train wreck in a greengrocer shop - covered in a bewildering selection of vegetables that simply didn't belong there.

Worst of all they have dropped the soufflé grand marnier from the dessert menu thereby ensuring I won't be coming back.

Its really not that Au Vieux Fourneau is bad - although it remains an awful long way from good - rather that a dinner here is a lost opportunity to visit any if the Calais restaurants (I can think of at least six) that offer a vastly superior experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the 3rd time we have visited this restaurant and will be going back. Each time we have been in the evening, it is always busy with lots of English and French customers. The food is good value for money and there is a pleasant atmosphere. If you plan to go on a weekend, I would suggest either arriving early or booking a table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chamois25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Langley
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tries a little too hard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

i have used the Restaurant on three separate occasions and the results have been remarkably consistent.

On paper it is a welcome addition to the offerings of Calais - of itself a town with a disproportionate selection of excellent Restaurants - and ticks some of the boxes. It looks very much the authentic item and the menu, together with the associated 'formules" , read well.

Unfortunately the Chef simply overwhelms everything. It is impossible to order any starter or entree without extensive and unnecessary garnishes, sauces or unwelcome flavour injections. If Au Vieux Fourneau offered simple wholesome dishes - un plateau de fruits de mer, escargots, sole grillee etc - it would be wonderful and splendid value for money since the wine list is small and fairly well chosen.

Despite the foregoing I must congratulate the Restaurant in one area - they offer a magnificent Souffle au Grand Marnier dessert - something I have struggled to find in any other Calais establishment.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Vieux Fourneau also viewed

Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Au Vieux Fourneau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing