We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“always reliable”
Review of Au Coq d'Or

Au Coq d'Or
Ranked #40 of 150 Restaurants in Calais
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“always reliable”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very popular with the locals, have the prix fixee as it's a great deal, well executed food, reasonably priced wine. Probably not for you if you're a veggie who won't eat fish.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    80
    34
    39
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have been visiting Calais twice a year (for a booze cruise) for approximately 15 years now, and we always enjoy a typical French meal whilst we are over. This is possibly one of the best restaurants we have dined in, over the years, certainly for value for money and quantity of food served. We both had the prix fixe at €21pp. Firstly there was a amuse buche....a smoked salmon dip accompanied by 4 large head-on prawns. Once you had the bread as well this was a good starter size by itself. Then the starter of crepe for me and pate for him. Main course was moules for him and a pork fillet in mushroom sauce for me.Both portions were huge. Finally desert, strawberry tart and chocolate mousse. Portions huge, well served, hot, very tasty. Washed down with a pichet of rose for €8 and 2 litres of water, the meal came to just €60 for 2. the fact that it was a beautiful sunny late September day and we sat in the sun helped. (not too scenic view over the carpark though!) Excellent value and highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really very bad meal and dreadful service.”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

It is difficult to know where to start with this review, we have been using this restaurant for about twenty years and it was always reliable and sometimes very good indeed. I have taken lots of friends there and have recommended it to others. Sadly when we went there on Tuesday 21st of August the experience was nothing short of dreadful, the food was of poor quality, every meat dish coated in some sort of mushroom soup that was bland and tasted as if it was just being ladled out of a pot onto pre-cooked food. The service was also dreadful, we arrived at the restaurant at 6:45pm and we were finally handed the desert menu's at 9:50pm. The red wine only arrived after us asking for it twice and then it only came 10 minutes after my wife's main course that it was to accompany. My own main course of Cote d'Bouef was one of my worst ever dining experiences, when the meat arrived it tasted as if it had been boiled rather than grilled, my guess is that it was de-frosted in a micro wave prior to cooking. When I complained it was replaced with a similarly badly cooked, but much smaller, piece of meat. When I asked for this to be replaced with a duck dish from the menu what arrived was a few slices of over cooked duck breast. It may just have been a very bad night in the restaurant, I know that several other diners in the room had similarly bad meals that night. The staff seemed to have no interest at all in sorting out the problems that diners were reporting to them, nor was there any acknowledgement or apology from waiters or other staff. I will never be going back there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jigsawofgosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great welcome, food and service! Meal for 4 cost around 80 euros. Very good value and took great care with regards to daughter's food allergy. Couldn't fault it! Will be sure to return again next year!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dienw72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“terrible service”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

arrived at one o'clock for lunch here and were studiously ignored throughout our meal, have rarely felt so unwelcome in a restaurant and would not visit it again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank graham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Coq d'Or also viewed

Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Au Coq d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing