We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service and food. Value for money.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe de Paris

Cafe de Paris
Reserve with
Cafe de Paris is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 149 Restaurants in Calais
Price range: $9 - $39
Cuisines: French, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: You are Welcom !
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good service and food. Value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had travelled for 11 hours through France and didn't arrive at our hotel until 10pm so we were desperate for some food. We were recommended the Cafe de Paris by the hotel receptionist saying it would be the only restaurant still open.
The service was great even though it was late, we didn't feel rushed by the staff in the slightest. The food was lovely and definietely came in generous portions. Couldn't complain.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank donna_josh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    157
    74
    43
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Always busy, usually good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Have eaten here 4 times over the years, and couldn't get in once as they were full on a Saturday night. It is always busy, predominately with french customers which must be a good sign, but they usually cope well with the demand. The food is NOT cordon blue but good french brasserie fare with generous portions and large sticky desserts. I normally go for the moules which are served in a large steamer in various sauces, the portion is huge and the mussels are always perfectly cooked and very sweet. I have seen other reviews that say this place lacks atmosphere (maybe they went at quiet times) I have always found it to be very buzzy and the staff put on a good show while being efficient at keeping you fed and watered. Good fun for a casual meal on a stopover in Calais.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RacingAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Ordinary food in Calais”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Not much to say about this restaurant other than you go there because it is in the center of town and is always open. The food is OK. The atmosphere is non-existant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff_Proulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good for an aperitif”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Haven't eaten here but the beer is good. Normally call in for a couple before eating elsewhere. They had three different Grimbergens on last time. A good wine list too, some, very reasonably priced, including a couple of organic ones.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beardydaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkburton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We went to the Cafe du Paris, on the recommendation of the hotel. My wife and I where on an overnight stay in Calais.

We opted for the a la carte menu. I had the snails followed by the sole. Both dishes where great. My wife had the onion soup and the black pudding tarte tatin. The soup was a little bland but the black pudding tarte tatin was full of flavour and delicious.

We both had the cafe gourmand to end the meal. A selection of puddings and an espresso.

We were both looked after very well. The staff were friendly and spoke English.

We will be back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HSM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Paris also viewed

Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Cafe de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing