We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and good value”
Review of Cafe de Paris

Cafe de Paris
Reserve with
Cafe de Paris is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 150 Restaurants in Calais
Price range: $9 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: You are Welcom !
Kirkburton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly and good value”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We went to the Cafe du Paris, on the recommendation of the hotel. My wife and I where on an overnight stay in Calais.

We opted for the a la carte menu. I had the snails followed by the sole. Both dishes where great. My wife had the onion soup and the black pudding tarte tatin. The soup was a little bland but the black pudding tarte tatin was full of flavour and delicious.

We both had the cafe gourmand to end the meal. A selection of puddings and an espresso.

We were both looked after very well. The staff were friendly and spoke English.

We will be back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HSM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    164
    78
    45
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Handy for anytime meals”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Been to this establishment a few times.
Situated in the centre of Calais, convenient for the harbour and port areas.
The food can be hit and miss at times.
The beauty of this restaurant that they serve food throughout the day.
Menus available in English.
Paid street parking can be done outside, but sometimes difficult to find a space.
Popular with English tourist.
Varied meny.Relatively reasonable prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKNorseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good meal Good Price”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Central Calais. Café type Bistro.

We were a party of 4 and 2 of us had the 3 course Plat du Jour which included 1/4 litre of house wine. We had the Bar B Q Ribs which also included a coffee and a dessert of 3 minis and the wine as mentioned all at 13.95 - This was very good value. The ladies had a fish dish and Beef goulash - also very good.

The waiter was very friendly and fluent in English.

Would recommend as an informal lunch/dinner venue.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim_bayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Langley
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Easy to fine better options in Calais”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having been around for ages and obviously well liked by local residents I now question Cafe de Paris from the value angle. It seems to me that 6.6 Euros for .5 of a litre (less than a UK pint) of Kronenbourg is a tad steep. We are talking Calais not Paris after all...

I ate there yesterday wanting something basic and quick. The "traditional" onion soup was akin to wallpaper paste and pretty well uneatable. The omelette was thick, dry and tasteless and the frites greasy.

In fairness the bill wasn't unreasonable but I could have spent 21 Euros elsewhere and enjoyed the experience rather more,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Slow but reasonable value”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We arrived at about 1.15 pm thinking we had plenty of time for a meal and a visit to a wine warehouse before our ferry at 5.15. In the event we only just made it as although the service here was friendly, it was rather slow and appeared to be a little disorganised. The food however was good and the portions ample, providing reasonable value for money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GEOFFREY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Paris also viewed

 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Cafe de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing