We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Du Vignoble au Verre

Du Vignoble au Verre
Ranked #20 of 149 Restaurants in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $39
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: a small restaurant with a traditional french home cooking, with a great wine selection 400 on the wine list, and a selection of 15 wines by the glass on the blacboard. eric the wine waiter can help you to offer the best wine as you wish with your meal.
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The service and food is amazing and 452 wines on the wine list wanted me to move in.The duck had been cooked for 24 hours and the reduction was great. The fish casserole worked very well and the Pomerol just went down to well, If you are in Calais please try it. They have had it for 11 years and deserve complements for a excellant job. Well done

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    53
    11
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just what you want>”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I have eaten here both at lunch time and in the evenings several times. It is a great example of a family owned restaurant, which offers a selection of excellent typical French cuisine. It has a very extensive wine list (the owner is extremely knowledgable) and you can order a limited (and changing) selection of wines by the glass.
This restaurant is quite small and intimate, looking out onto the Place des Armees in the Centre of Calais. You can tell from the decor that the owner is a wine buff!
We arrived without reservation, and were advised that we could have a table but service would be slow (which we didn't mind) as there were 2 large parties already seated and a limited number of staff. Nevertheless the owner looked after us very well.
the set menus are very good value at 32,23, and 18 Euros. There is also an ALC selection. Plenty of choice, not particularly specialising in fish. The vegetables are seasonal,and lightly cooked, and everything prepared is typically French. Not all the dishes "come off", but the cooking and presentation is good.
Our bill totalled 77 Euros without service (brought down by our purchase of house wine.) We couldn't hope to eat as well in the UK for anywhere near this price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikefromSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
670 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,735 helpful votes
“Very good wine and for a wine bar very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Although advertised as a wine bar they do fabulous food - and quiet reasonable (depending on xchange rate). Most of the staff speak very good English and will explain the fixed menu. The fixed menu isnt always the best option, but easiest depending on the time you have available. Lots of roadworks in town at the moment (market square mainly) so allow more time if your reliant on a ferry or Eurotunnel times... many people now seem to be incorporating an overnight stay and no longer doing a day trip - if so well worth visiting her, enjoy a bottle of wine or two. Most of the pork dishes appear to be the best with their current Chef, friends tried the chicken and complained it was dry and appeared to have been microwave heated (never a good way to serve food!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

4th time we have eaten here and once again we had an excellent lunch.Proprietor makes you very welcome and explains to you what is on the menu, if you cannot speak French his knowledge of English is good.There are some interesting wines which he will help you choose.There is extensive works going on at the moment in the Place d'Armes, do not be put off by this as there is ample parking opposite the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davbar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good meal and good wine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

A huge step up from most of the 'tourist trap' places around the Place des Armes, I pitched up here cold and hungry after a 50 mile bike ride. A kir with excellent chicken and red pepper pate soon perked me up, and then the 23 Euro menu arrived.
Well, The carpaccio was one of the nicest I've had, the pork tagine with couscous was wonderful, and the cheese platter with a mustardy salad was superb. Its well worth leaving room for the cafe gourmand - praline ice-cream, chocolate brownie and creme brulee, all in 2-3 bite portions. The wine list was extensive, but very reasonably priced, with a good selection of wines by the glass. I'll be back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TonySG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Du Vignoble au Verre also viewed

Bleriot-Plage, Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Du Vignoble au Verre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing