We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional operation serving excellent fresh fish”

La Sole Meuniere Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 160 Restaurants in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $38
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: La Sole Meuniere restaurant is equally two steps from the centre of north Calais and two steps from the beaches. It���s also quite handy for cars coming off the ferry from England. But with a restaurant this good, you���d go out of your way to find it and then tell the world about it. La Sole Meuniere specialises in fresh seafood and fruits de mer and rarely will you find fish so well prepared. The restaurant is charming and classic, with white walls and table linens, comfy upholstered seating, and wide windows to take in the view of the Manche. The very professional staff seem to be everywhere at once, offering the freshest oysters, fruits de mer ���according to the humour of the sea��� and beautifully grilled noble fish, as well as more complex creations and meat dishes, all artfully presented. Excellent wines, excellent local cheese buffet.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We often lunch in the Calais area when stocking up on wine. This restaurant was recommended to us by a French friend. It was one of the best meals we've had in Calais. We went for the 30 euro menu. The grilled scallops were perfect: fresh and not buried in a cheese source as so often in France. The grilled sea bass was equally good. The fish cassoulet was generous with three large chunks of fresh fish on top of a hearty bean and potato stew. The sauce could have been richer but that is a minor quibble. The patisserie desserts were fresh and very rich. The total bill with a half bottle of good sancerre and coffees was a reasonable 87 euros. The service was professional throughout, the three waiting staff working hard as the restaurant was full (with a good mix of locals and Brits). While the menus were in french the staff were happy to speak English when necessary.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JRMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 533 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

On one of our many stop-overs in Calais - usually on the way somewhere - we happened upon this restaurant and had a great 3 course meal there but had the bizarre experience of being served by an equally preposterous waiter who did an excellent imitation of the infamous Basil Faulty.

The quality of the food was first class and would still go there again, but would sit the other end of wherever he was to avoid him.

It would take too long to explain all the 'quirks' he demonstrated but suffice to say it was all from the school of 'Basil'.

Having said that, I would recommend everyone experience the wonder of Basil, but just once.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TerryGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pnouchi, Propriétaire at La Sole Meuniere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017
Google Translation

Je vous remercie pour votre confiance et pour ce commentaire que nous sommes très heureux de lire.
Nous serons ravis de vous accueillir de nouveau.
Cordialement
Pierre Nouchi
Maitre restaurateur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We used to eat regularly at the Sole Meuniere on our trips to France but hadn't been for some time so when we turned up at the restaurant I thought we had come to the wrong place. The décor had been changed and was extremely pleasing being both welcoming and also more up market than before. It was therefore with some trepidation that we looked at the menu fearing that the prices would have gone up as well. They had but not by much considering we hadn't been for at least 5 years. We had the €20 menu which was fabulous in spite of being the cheapest offering. The portions were large, beautifully presented and the service was excellent. This is a must eat place and we will not leave it so long before we go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pnouchi, Propriétaire at La Sole Meuniere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017
Google Translation

Je vous remercie pour votre confiance et pour ce commentaire que nous sommes très heureux de lire.
Nous serons ravis de vous accueillir de nouveau.
Cordialement
Pierre Nouchi
Maitre restaurateur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Excellent Seafood Platter for 3 persons, great service and faultless food. Looking forward to my next visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dogmeat_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pnouchi, Propriétaire at La Sole Meuniere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017
Google Translation

Je vous remercie pour votre confiance et pour ce commentaire que nous sommes très heureux de lire.
Nous serons ravis de vous accueillir de nouveau.
Cordialement
Pierre Nouchi
Maitre restaurateur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stopped for a quick meal before boarding our ferry, it's was a bit of a pit stop,and now we regret not spending more time.We didn't have a starter and went straight to the main course, and it was the best Sole I have every eaten!! We did manage a quick desert, the rum barba was also incredible.
The service was efficient and charming,and the Maître d was very chatty which made the atmosphere friendly.
Next time I'm in Calais I will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nicolas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pnouchi, Gérant at La Sole Meuniere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017
Google Translation

Je vous remercie pour votre confiance et pour ce commentaire que nous sommes très heureux de lire.
Nous serons ravis de vous accueillir de nouveau.
Cordialement
Pierre Nouchi
Maitre restaurateur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sole Meuniere Restaurant also viewed

Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to La Sole Meuniere Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing