We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant Always Pleases”

La Sole Meuniere Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 150 Restaurants in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $36
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: La Sole Meuniere restaurant is equally two steps from the centre of north Calais and two steps from the beaches. It���s also quite handy for cars coming off the ferry from England. But with a restaurant this good, you���d go out of your way to find it and then tell the world about it. La Sole Meuniere specialises in fresh seafood and fruits de mer and rarely will you find fish so well prepared. The restaurant is charming and classic, with white walls and table linens, comfy upholstered seating, and wide windows to take in the view of the Manche. The very professional staff seem to be everywhere at once, offering the freshest oysters, fruits de mer ���according to the humour of the sea��� and beautifully grilled noble fish, as well as more complex creations and meat dishes, all artfully presented. Excellent wines, excellent local cheese buffet.
Sidcup,kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant Always Pleases”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have visited this restaurant several times,and on each occasion have found the food to be excellent, great service, and worth the trip to Calais just to eat here.

Great attention to detail, every course is served to perfection.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPNicoSidcup_kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pnouchi, Propriétaire at La Sole Meuniere Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Google Translation
Je vous remercie pour votre confiance et pour ce commentaire que nous sommes très heureux de lire.
Nous serons ravis de vous accueillir de nouveau.
Cordialement
Pierre Nouchi
Maitre restaurateur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    140
    31
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Incredible fish - Best ever Fruits des Mer”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Some incredible fish, it may look expensive but the amount of the fish is immense.

I would highly recommend visiting this place.

I'm going back next time I'm in France!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

4 of us had a meal here last night. We all chose the 51 euros set meal, but even with that there are quite a few supplements if you chose scallops or sole.

The fish was fantastic - cannot fault anything. Everything was beautifully cooked and presented, the service was friendly, and the waiters all spoke English. The cheese course was interesting - we had a selection of 4 or 5 each, and for the desserts we had a selection of 4 different ones.

Not a cheap evening, as with pre-dinner drinks, two bottles of wine, bottle of water, coffee and brandy, it was about 400 euros, but well worth it for a special occasion.

Good idea to book for a Sat night, as every table was taken yesterday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank llamacalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“After a chunnel ride---a very nice stop”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stopped for an aperitif at a locale....walked to the restaurant...We selected this restaurant for the fish (duh!). We enjoyed a wonderful cocktail and a bottle of white wine. The dishes were superb (sole for my wife and St Pierre for me), the service wonderfu,l the ambience was very nice....A wonderful way to begin a 4 day driving trip through La Belle France.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LTE02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The BEST restaurant in the WORLD.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I am 55 and been round the world, I have never experienced food and service like this anywhere else. Also it is NOT expensive. A REAL MUST.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank POOH1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sole Meuniere Restaurant also viewed

Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to La Sole Meuniere Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing