We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous French Dining & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Histoire ancienne

Histoire ancienne
Ranked #5 of 150 Restaurants in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $44
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Histoire Ancienne restaurant in Calais is a classic bistro with 1930���s art deco d��cor, fresco painting that recalls Toulouse-Lautrec, Mucha prints, traditional zinc bar, tables laid in white linen, harlequin floor and open fireplace where local fish and meats are grilled. So far, so intriguing. Patrick Comte is a fourth-generation chef who trained in some of Paris��� most superb restaurants, including Le Crillon and Prunier, and here uses the finest local ingredients in inventive dishes like duck tartare with comfit tomatoes and parmesan shavings, grilled sea bream marinated in lemon, coriander and ginger. Order the warm chocolate cake with molten interior with pistachio cream at the beginning of your meal. There���s a proper vegetarian menu, too.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous French Dining & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Three friends and myself were recommended Histoire Ancienne and we went last Saturday (27 April). Our train was cancelled and we were therefore an hour late for our reservation but the restaurant were brilliant and got us another table within 15 minutes. The food, staff, atmosphere were all superb and I would thoroughly recommend it. It is very French and I don’t think there were any English people in there (apart from us obviously). Will be going back there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeches14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    221
    47
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“So French with great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Right in the heart of Calais and easy to park outside or nearby at Lunch time. Good sign when local people frequent the place and not just us from across the channel.

Service very good and informal. My duck comfit was really tasty, highly recommend.
Quality wines which is very tempting to have a bottle, however, driving prevent you from that delight!.

Everywhere is free parking the first 15 minutes but you need a couple of hours which is not expensive anyway.
The place is vaguely in Art Deco style with some fun paintings around the upper part of the walls and some great seafaring menus from cruise liners around 1900.

A little gem which we all look for!.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vikingo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gem in Calais”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I did not do any research before arriving in Calais for dinner as we initially planned to get some grub on the ferry back to Dover after a long day in De Panne (Belgium).

Histoire Ancienne is a gem. We walked-in at 6pm sharp and we were the first diners there. We chose the set menu from Menu Carte Histoire Ancienne (3 courses for only €27.90).

The food was nicely presented and delicious.

We found ourselves very lucky indeed as this place is pretty popular and all the other tables were already reserved by the locals.

I will definitely return to Histoire Ancienne again in the future.

** Note: the main courses appearing in the menu online are different from what you see at the restaurant. **

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank inthemix516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Fabulous find amongst many average brasseries in calais.
This restaurant doesnt disappoint on service or food.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank koett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Delicious French food and lovely service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We have been to lunch at this place twice now on day trips to Calais. It is the kind of restaurant that you'd hope to find in France. Both times we have been last to leave after a leisurely lunch but have never felt rushed. The fixed-price menus are excellent value for money and the cooking is classic French, with the emphasis on quality of ingredients. The foie gras starter served with cured meat and a delicious relish was exceptional. The two mains we tried, the grilled lamb skewers and the salmon/scallop combo were also excellent. There is a short list of wines available by the half bottle at lunch, which is perfect when you have an afternoon of shopping still to do.

Although as English people this kind of restaurant and cooking seems like a treat, the atmosphere of the restaurant is very "every day" with regulars enjoying the food and ambience in a very relaxed way. It would be very difficult to match the quality of food at this price on our side of the channel. We'd really strongly recommend this to anyone coming back to the ferry at Calais as a last taste of France. Calais may have limited appeal as a town but this place makes a day trip worth it on its own.

Helpful?
Thank LeighLouis17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Histoire ancienne also viewed

Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Histoire ancienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing