We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ac Cote d'Argent Calais”
Review of Au Cote d'Argent

Au Cote d'Argent
Ranked #8 of 152 Restaurants in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Au Cote d'Argent restaurant right on the water at Calais faces the seawall with fascinating views of the watery parade of sea ferries churning in and out. The dining room puts you in the mood for excellent seafood, with varnished wood-panelled walls, marine blue carpeting and upholstery, nautical detailing and huge plate glass windows for viewing the waves. Chef Bertrand Lefebvre trained with some of France���s greatest chefs ��� Paul Bocuse among them ��� before opening his own restaurant here. The cuisine is simple, elegant in a selection of menus that include dishes like chicken livers saut��ed with mushrooms in sherry, fillet of red mullet with rice and shellfish with saffron or half lobster without shell but with coral sauce. The service is warm, the cooking refined and sophisticated, the wines are French and the experience a delight.
Londo
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ac Cote d'Argent Calais”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Right on the seafront. We went there in the evening and with a table upstairs has a brilliant view of the sunset over the sea. Food was very good indeed and good value for the quality. It is a very popular restaurant so it is best to book. From the outside not an imposing building exactly but inside there was a good atmosphere and good decor. Large free car park outside.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    146
    40
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We decided on an un-hurried trip back to catch the ferry back to England.

We planned an overnight in Calais and a decent lunch.

By chance we came across the Au Cote d'Argent on the seafront at Calais. The setting, on a sunny September day, was excellent with a table window overlooking the sea, beach and departing ferries.

We chose a set lunch (EUR 28 - there is a cheaper option at EUR 18 Monday - Friday) which included, for me, a small Fruit de Mer as a starter, followed by cod salmon stew, with an excellent cheese board to finish. My wife had a Fois Gras mousse followed by baked cod then creamy dessert.

All were excellent.

This is the kind of restaurant where the chef comes round to chat to you, to make sure that you really did have a good meal and it certainly was.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete-Watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with traditional service values...”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

What I found most pleasing about this restaurant was the impeccable service; it's done properly, the old fashioned way -- they even have a desert trolley! I also liked the impressive cheeseboard, which was the best I've seen -- huge selection. Starters and main courses were well put together but not outstanding. For my personal taste, most dishes were a little too salty. They have a good wine list, but much like the main menu it's a little pricey; you pay for the location here! Overall, I'd rate this place as good but no cigar...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A delightful restaurant with a wonderful choice of desserts”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We have been to this restaurant on several occasions and have never been disappointed. The front tables in the restaurant have a panoramic view over the sea and harbour where you can watch the UK ferries come in and out. This time we went for a three course lunch on our way back home via the tunnel. The staff are really friendly and the service excellent. The meal was delicious and especially if you are into sweets. There is wonderful choice of desserts from the trolley. Overal a gourmet experience and good value for money at 17.5 Euros. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CriticP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An excellent suprise”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We happened to walk past and request a table- had the sole fo0llowed by awesome desserts and one of the best cheese boards

Highly recommend

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BWHJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Cote d'Argent also viewed

Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Au Cote d'Argent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing