We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality food”
Review of La Buissonniere

La Buissonniere
Ranked #2 of 152 Restaurants in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $58
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent quality food”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was the second time I'd visited this restaurant on a day trip to Calais, in a group of approximately 25. The food was of the same high quality as the previous occasion 4 years' ago. All the staff were very friendly and the food excellent value. We had the set menu and I had a delicious gnocchi starter and then a chicken with almonds dish with soy sauce and rice - also tasty although quite salty and not exactly as I was expecting. The others in our group had quite a varied mix of food. They all commented on the quality and excellent presentation of the food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    748
    143
    32
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London NW6
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Superb food with a warm welcome”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I visited this restaurant two years ago and were so impressed with the warm welcome and tasty, well presented food during that visit, that we made up our minds to return one day.
That day came when we took up a special offer by EuroTunnel and crossed the channel to Calais for the day.
We walked into a restaurant that was absolutely buzzing with clientele of different nationalities, all 'oohing and aahing' as they were presented with their plates of food. We were delighted to have been recognised and welcomed so warmly after 2 years. (Now that's good PR!). The food presentation is beautiful and the cooking didn't disappoint. The management change the menu every two weeks so that the food is always new and different.
The friends who accompanied us were delighted to have discovered such a gem and I know that they will return, as he is a trencherman who loves his food and wine. And he certainly loved the dishes he sampled that day. He gave the thumbs up to the house wine as well.

It is obvious, when over hearing some of the comments from other tables, that this restaurant had been given the seal of approval. That type of discerning, happy clientele is always a good indication that a restaurant is getting it right in every way and that's good enough for me.
We will definitely be making return visits..

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doubledeeLondonNW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We picked this restaurant as a birthday treat for my Father. We had looked at reviews online and decided on this as we wanted a typical french restaurant. It was exactly as we hoped for, did what it said on the tin so to speak. The welcome was warm in both French and English. The menu was a delight to read and the food even better. From the Soupe de Poisson to the Crepes Suzette, every course and plate delivered. Even when we thought the meal was over, along came excellent rich french coffee with gorgeous petit fours. Typically french but executed beautifully and as the saying goes, if its not broken why fix it. My husband was more than excited by the wine list and picked a favorite of his, Gevrey Chambertain which went down very smoothly. In true French style, the wine glasses were changed to beautiful large bowl glasses suitable for a burgundy, an impressive detail. We were not hurried in anyway and on leaving to do a little shopping, we were offered the chance to come back later and they would call us a taxi to return to the port. We took them up on this and although the restaurant was empty, were we kindly given a seat and another coffee whilst the owner called us a cab. The service was impeccable and exceptional through the whole experience and we shall most certainly visit again when back in Calais. We decided to order from the A la Carte, maybe the few less positive reviews have been from those ordering from the basic set price menu which will be smaller and for those looking for a light lunch only.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMrsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydd, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A REAL French Restaurant!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Of course, dining out is an intensely personal experience. In our case, we try to sample local/regional food where the atmosphere contributes to our enjoyment of the meal. La Buissonniere more than satisfied us in these respects. We arrived late but were warmly welcomed, in French, by name (though the co-owner speaks perfect English, should it be needed). The restaurant looked typically French, the music was subdued and, at the time, the rest of the clientele was local (always a good sign). The menu was detailed and comprehensive, both a la carte and (what the French call) 'Formule'. We chose a three-course option including smoked salmon, oysters, rabbit, scallops, cheese and tarte tatin - all were presented attractively and tasted superb. As a sign of the owner's aimiability, she asked if we wished to have a 'pause' before the sweet course. By then we were the only people in the restaurant: this gave us an opportunity to talk (in French) with her which is always a pleasant experience. We have noticed in one or two reviews comments on the wine list: firstly, the wines on offer were in many cases vintage or of age and secondly, once we had explained we had a distance to drive afterwards, she opened a bottle and said she would charge us by the number of glasses we consumed. Given that the wine was a more than reasonable vintage (for which we were NOT charged a significant amount), her willingness to broach a bottle and leave it unfinished was a gesture of kindness. The final bill for aperitifs, three courses each, an excellent wine and coffee, was considerably lower than we would pay in London and the service was impeccable. To sum up, therefore, we found La Buissonniere an excellent restaurant to which we shall certainly return (not least because there are many more items on the menu we wish to sample).
Christopher and Frances Aubrey, Lydd, Kent

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F_M_Aubrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bize-Minervois, France
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always a "must" whenever we go to Calais”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

A shopping visit to Calais would never be complete without a lovely meal at La Buissonniere. We always remark how wonderfully traditional the restaurant looks, but the food is a clever mix of traditional French favourites and modern interpretations on French and other cuisines. The menu changes with the seasons, and there are always new things to try. (They have several menus at different prices, as well as a large à la carte.) The food is delicious and beautifully presented. Mother and daughter run the restaurant, and are always pleased to help with translating items on the menu, if your French is not great. When you have been there once, you will be welcomed back very warmly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue_Ac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Buissonniere also viewed

Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to La Buissonniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing