We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveler rating
178
52
23
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
52
23
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel glass of champagne no air conditioning one night free standing bath new section fabulous central location stand alone bath huge bath beautiful room main room small balcony sat nav comfortable bed star hotel first floor beautiful cathedral
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 278 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Booked based on the strength of TripAdvsior reviews, and was totally underwhelmed. This is really a B&B- no full service restaurant, no amenities (eg gym, pool), although rooms were decently decorated. Rooms vibrated constantly (I assume a train underneath the hotel), and we were not impressed with service. No room service or attendance after 10.30pm. We felt it was poor value for money. Would not return

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likest0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle W, Propriétaire at Hotel Marotte, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, as we try our best to be helpful, as many other Tripadvisor reviews can prove it. We are very central and only have 12 rooms, therefore a restaurant is not useful nor necessary. You would be surprised to find a pool in such a small boutique hotel ! However our suites offer a private sauna. We are happy to announce you that we are expending : we will open 22 more rooms, a spa, meeting rooms and even a restaurant in 2020. We may see you again then !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

We visited the Marotte in Amiens on our first night of motoring through France and Northern Spain. the owner, Estelle, greeted us and showed us to a beautiful room--she was delightful and very helpful throughout the visit.

I needn't elaborate further: the Marotte is first class from the word go and we'll certainly visit again next time we pass through Amiens.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warthog01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel. Warm, welcoming and helpful staff led by Estelle, who is super nice. Ask them any question about Amiens and you’ll get good advice.

Located just 500m from the cathedral and walking distance to many other attractions in Amiens.

Clean, tidy, spacious, comfortable bed, fantastic shower, internet speed fastest I’ve seen (250 Mb download, 75 upload).

Parking (valet) cost €15 per night, which was reasonable - our car was already waiting for us in the courtyard when we came down.

This was our second time at the Marotte and we’d stay nowhere else in Amiens.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Helena and Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle W, Propriétaire at Hotel Marotte, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Dear Helena and Les,
it is a real pleasure to work for guests like you. Your satisfaction and happiness are the highlight of our job.
We have made great efforts recently to improve our wifi system which has not always been so fast.
We have invested in a private car park to make your stay as easy and comfortable as possible.
We hope to see you a third time!
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018

Unfortunately our luggage did not catch up with us for 3 days, the worst bit being the floral tribute I was going to lay at the Anzac Day dawn service at the WWI Memorial in Villers-Bretonneux.

We stayed in the Elegant Room in the old section, which was roomy and very comfortable. Fabulous central location and despite the cold, rainy winter weather, we enjoyed the easy walk to the riverside restaurants and the little restaurants in the city centre.

Being fresh-air Aussies, yes, we did have to keep some windows open a little despite the cold weather. While we loved the charm of the old section, if we visit Amiens again, we will take up Estelle's suggestion of staying in the modern part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2travellers630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle W, Propriétaire at Hotel Marotte, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

We felt so sorry for you when you checked in without your luggage and wreath for Anzac day.
We found it only natural to help and care. We have chosen this job because we like to make people happy and share our local knowledge.
We are glad that despite this you keep good memories about your stay with us.
Nice regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

Lovely property beautifully extended in the centre of Amiens. We were greeted by the team and welcomed by Estelle the owner and taken our suite on the first floor of the new section of the hotel
Our kids were in the separate twin room and we had a lovely comfortable double bed in the main room. The real wow of the suite was the bathroom...fantastic rainfall walk-in shower, infra-red sauna and a massive stone bath.
Estelle kindly pointed us to a good area in the town for dinner which we used and had a lovely meal by the river.
We didn't take breakfast the following morning but went to a local cafe just 5mins from the hotel before leaving.
The Hotel is a little tricky to find but your satnav will get you there...you just park at the gates and the car will be taken off and parked off-site securely for you

Lovely property and would definitely return and would recommend to travellers coming through Amiens

Room Tip: Suite 5 for an awesome bathroom and lovely room
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank B0ardmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle W, Propriétaire at Hotel Marotte, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

We are happy that you all enjoyed our family suite with its amazing stone bath, huge shower and private sauna.
It is exactly what you deserved for your last day of holiday before a long journey to go home.
We loved your scottish accent !
Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews