We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location For ANZAC Day Service”
Review of Hotel Le Normandie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Le Normandie
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Amiens
Oxford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location For ANZAC Day Service”
Reviewed October 26, 2008

Needed an inexpensive hotel close to the train station in Amiens and this Hotel fitted the bill exactly. It is a 3 minute walk from Gare de Nord Amiens just off the main pedestrian shopping area. For ANZAC Day 2008 the city of Amiens provided free buses for other attending the dawn service at the Australian War Memorial at Villers-Betonneux leaving from the same train station.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful even though they did not speak a lot in English. The hotel is a small family affair and I enjoyed my 4 nights at the hotel. They can even provide car parking at an additional charge. I would recommend it to anyone in the area looking for very reasonably priced accommodation. You can have breakfast but I never do have hotel breakfasts when travelling alone, I prefer to go out and explore the city you are in and pick up what the locals are having.

  • Liked — Location to the town of Amiens and the price.
  • Disliked — Noise, could hear others in the rooms around from you.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Percy-Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    26
    28
    15
    17
See reviews for
4
40
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

After reading some of the reviews, we were really looking forward to spending 3 nights at the Hotel le Normandie. What a disappointment.

Dispite our disappointment, there were some positives. It is about 3 minute walk from the station, very close to shops and restaurants and was clean and the receptionist was very welcoming. She kindly helped us with my wife's luggage up the winding stairs to the second floor. The room overlooked the street, with the hotel's neon sign in front. The room was a dud. We don't mind them small, especially 2 star, but what was not acceptable was the bathroom. A small annexe within the room, not partitioned to the ceiling and with a lightweight concertina door. Inside this miserly annexe squeezed a wash basin, a toilet and a shower. No privacy. Ever heard the expression 'no room to swing a cat'? It fits the description. To compound the situation, no airconditioning and no fan - and we did ask for a fan. The weather was hot and humid, a recipe for 3 nights of no sleep. Guess, this reads like a bit of a whinge, but you can only call it as you see it. We paid one nights accommodation and moved the Hotel Carlton - 3 star and did the job.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Westbrook_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amiens hotels

London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Great location and prisintley clean, easy short walk from the train station and all major sites but having stayed in the hotel for 4 nights, we were exhausted. It is really noisy and despite earplugs, other guests can be heard climbing the steep narrow stairs, creaking across the floorboards with even snoring and voices from rooms above, below and from either side.

My parents room had a problem with their shower and management offered to move them to a different room - 2 floors above (remember there is no elevator) and wanted to charge them the higher rate for the new room! A compromise was reached and staff are helpful and friendly.

All in all, a convenient cheap stay but not at all restful.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2008

We are a couple in our early 60's. When travelling, we don't
mind considering a mixture of really good and medium-rated accommodation. On the plus side, Le Normandie is well
located near a pedestrian-friendly walkway, close to the
railway station, and it offers parking (6 euros/day in 2008) -
something of a plus. Their garage has room for only 4 cars,
so be sure to make your request early. The hotel itself
is reminiscent of a hostel. The room we had was dark, dreary, and had a large water stain in the ceiling. Noise had a negative impact on our stay, as we could easily hear people coming up the stairs (no elevator) and even other guests talking in the adjoining room. The staff were friendly and helpful. If you are budget-conscious, Le Normandie might be a consideration, but be prepared for a budget experience

  • Liked — Proximity to everything
  • Disliked — Shabbiness of property
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perzha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We stayed here 3 nights in May 2008. The receptionists were always very helpful and pleasant.

They do have a limited hotel garage which is great rather than public parking.

the room was very plain and cramped and the walls are thin so it can be noisy.

There is no internet and limited in room phone access. they do not have an elevator and all rooms require climbing narrow steps.

The breakfast was good and well provisioned.

The hotel is well located in the old city and the restaurants nearby were excellent. It is difficult to find the first time.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2007

Normandie was a great budget hotel.. could not really ask for much more, great location and is quiet for sleeping at the same time.. we had a room with a bath for 2 nights and enjoyed it alot..

  • Liked — larde rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bhys16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We stayed here for two nights on our way to Paris. The hotel is in a great, central location about 10 minutes from the Cathedral and the waterfront but is very quiet at night. We didn't use the car at all once we'd arrived, everything we wanted see was in walking distance. We had pre-booked a garage space, well worth doing fo 6 euros a night.
The staff were very helpful and did speak a bit of English and didn't laugh at my basic French. Breakfast is in a wonderful room with lovely stained glass windows.
A quaint little hotel with bags of character, very clean and comfortable. Our room was small there's no denying and my husband did find the shower a bit of a tight squeeze but we weren't in the room much so it wasn't too much of a problem.

  • Liked — The character and great location
  • Disliked — The small bedrooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amiens hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central&Anzac
Hotel Central&Anzac
#10 of 20 in Amiens
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Amiens Centre Cathedrale
0.2 mi away
Campanile Amiens Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Louis
Hotel Le Saint Louis
#8 of 20 in Amiens
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amiens
1.2 mi away
La Chambre d'Amiens
La Chambre d'Amiens
#4 of 20 in Amiens
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Normandie

Property: Hotel Le Normandie
Address: 1 B rue Lamartine, 80000, Amiens, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Amiens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Amiens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Normandie 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Normandie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing