We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than old style Campaniles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Amiens Centre Gare
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Amiens
Certificate of Excellence
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Much better than old style Campaniles”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Perfect spot for a city hotel. Right next to the station - which we could not hear - and car park 50 metres away. And the car park is only €7 for 24 hours!!
Friendly welcome. Booked a twin room but given a large double but no problem to change - but also no apology!
Good shower etc., mattress did not suit me but maybe that's just me! Staff always helpful, even booking a table at a restaurant in the centre for us. Only had breakfast here but that was OK if a tad pricey but that's French hotels for you.
Reception staff all spoke good English.
Annoyingly slow movement switched lights in upstairs corridors and by the lifts.
Would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    301
    98
    14
    13
See reviews for
77
224
51
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

OK. Yes, this is a chain, but this is probably your best budget choice in Amiens.
I'll list the positives, the negatives, and let you decide. I personally recommend this hotel, worth some caveats.
Positives:
Close to the train station. Heck, you can be in Paris in 75 minutes.
Close to a big super market. Shoppe at the Marche U, save exorbitant eating out costs!
Close to everything you want to see in Amiens: the museums, the cathedral, the old city etc.
Close to parking. Free on Sundays too.
Clean, spartan room. New hotel, so it is still in very good nick.
Excellent shower *

Not so positive:
Close to train station. Yeah, you're going to hear some rumbling until about 1030, and one or 2 service trains around 5 am. Other than that, outside noise is minimal.
The shower. Its great, but its an open concept bathroom and all that splashing water is showing evidence of mould. This place in a year is going to be covered in mould. Note to hotel. Get some shower baffles up pronto.
The bar. The lighting is high gloss fluorescent, and is not a pleasant place to have a drink. Another note to hotel: change that lighting!
The bed: it's firm. Really really firm. I like that, but I would be surprised if some people didn't have a miserable rest on these mattresses.

So there you have it. No frills but a decent choice

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is one of a new generation of Campanile hotels with very contemporary style. Well located for the city, if you don't mind walking up to 1Km to various attractions. Staff were very helpful and pleasant but probably could have made more of an effort when the breakfast milk ran out!
The multi-story car park opposite only cost 8 euros for the weekend. Would happily stay there again if we ever return to Amiens. Good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

A newer hotel than other Campaniles we have used. Convenient for getting into the Centre - not too far to walk comfortably. Friendly staff, with many speaking good English. Food was good- apart from the ubiquitous Lipton Yellow Label tea! The room was comfortable -very comfy. We both used the cushion as an extra pillow, but I'm sure if requested extra pillows would be available. The staff informed us of the 3 day car park pass - the car park is typical of it's type. Being at the end of a one way street there is not passing traffic and the hotel is very quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutlandlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
289 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Campanile have definitely upgraded since our last stay with them some years back... This is a very smart hotel in a good location, just minutes from the centre of the city and other places of interest. Well appointed rooms, plenty of room to relax and everything looking sharp and pristine. There's a car park just opposite where you can park for 7 euros overnight. (I believe there is an arrangement the hotel have with them for a three day permit for 11 euros.) The staff were very helpful and friendly. If you want somewhere from which to explore Amiens and the surrounding area (the WW1 battlefields and memorials) this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one NOT overlooking the station- I think it could be a little noisy from these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delius17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice hotel with freindly staff, and a stone s throw from the train station...so handy if you don't have a car..If you do, ther us parking next door in a multi story for the nominal sum of 7 euros per 24 hours...
The hotel rooms are adeqate, and have all youc ould want including tea making facilities and hair dryers...Surprisely no noise at all from the train station even though we had the window open all the time....
Didn't eat in the restuarant but our friends did, and said it wasn't that good and they had to wait a long time for a reservation, so book early....
A quick way to town centre is through the train station..out the otherside, cross the road, and you're on the pedestrian walkway that meaners past shops and restuarants on the way to the centre..about a 20 minuute walk..
We were there for the Raderie weekend so it was rather a long walk to walk back with our purchases...(normally stay at the Ibis, which is much more centrally located, but was full this time)

In short, a nice hotel, not a bad price...but would probably opt for one a little more central if we go again....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gipsy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle England
Level Contributor
206 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just by the station in a new redeveloped area this was a great find. A 20 minute walk to the bright lights and next door to the station. Rooms were larger than usual Campanile - more Holiday Inn and this extended to all the facilities. Friendly staff and efficient service.

Room Tip: All rooms were well soundproofed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleEnglandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amiens hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amiens
0.6 mi away
Mercure Amiens Cathedrale
0.8 mi away
Ibis Amiens Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Prieure
1.5 mi away
La Chambre d'Amiens
La Chambre d'Amiens
#4 of 20 in Amiens
68 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Amiens Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Amiens Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Amiens Centre Gare

Property: Campanile Amiens Centre Gare
Address: 29 rue Paul Tellier, 80000, Amiens, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Amiens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Amiens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Amiens Centre Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campanile Amiens Centre gare, is a new construction,situated in the town center, just opened since March 2012. Comtemporary rooms are equiped with high standard bedding and coffee and tea facilities.Bathrooms have large shower or bath, and connecting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Campanile Amiens Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing