We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveler rating
56
158
59
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
158
59
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews railway station underneath hotel car park riverside dining hired a car egg boiler included in the room rate paid parking weekend visit rooms are small coffee machine clean hotel central location easy access soy milk base camp small lift
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 289 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2018

This hotel is situated quite close to the central station in Amiens and within reasonable walking distance of the famous cathedral and shops. A large (public) car park is located on a lower level to the hotel and may be accessed either via a slip road just past the station on the main road or by the main entrance down a side street. A couple of elevators will then take the visitor to a large open foyer, across which the hotel can be seen. Nobody to be seen when we arrived at the hotel so pressed the bell on the desk (which is adjacent to a bar) for attention. A few minutes later a member of staff duly appeared, booked us in, gave us our key and told us where - and at what time - the breakfast may be obtained. All very correct though it has to be said in a rather perfunctory manner, almost as if we had interrupted something that he was doing at the time of our arrival.
The room that we were directed to was quite small but still featured a king size bed! There was no air conditioning as such but at the time the ambient temperature was OK. A flat screen TV of good size was attached to the wall and whilst the remote control had several functions, not all appeared to be operational. The hotel provided free WIFI, which was OK for my needs.
The room also had a modern looking drinks machine. However, having poured some water into it, inserted a sachet and switched it on, it started to display changing coloured lights, made a loud grunting noise but then delivered hardly anything; certainly not a decent drink. Suggest HEI revert to the tried and trusted kettle at this hotel.
Bathroom facilities comprised a toilet, sink and large shower cubicle – no bath – with liquid soap dispensers on the wall. The so-called hot water in our room was not even ‘look warm’ either in the shower or in the sink. No longer in my youth, a cold shower is no longer the way I choose to start the day.
The complimentary buffet breakfast with a wide selection of cold items was good though in our opinion not quite as good as other HEI breakfasts that we have visited, especially HEI hotels in the UK, which often provide some hot food items.
Within the building complex there is a mini-market where last minute food items can be obtained although we can’t be sure at what time it closes.
Access to the car park was OK when we arrived but as we had to leave very early in the morning the hotel’s connecting door to the foyer was locked. Staff (again rather perfunctorily) said you have to go outside and round the corner – it was dark and raining at the time. We finally got to the car park door and entered the number of the parking ticket into the key pad. A green light flashed briefly but the door would not open! As nobody from the car park appeared to be on hand to help, we walked further down the road and accessed the car park via the main entrance. After walking around a deserted car park for some time we finally found our car. Since during this time nobody came to challenge us, it kind of begs the question: what level of security is there in this car park? For guidance, the car park pay machine only accepts coins or credit card. As we did not have sufficient money in coins to pay the €6.60 fee, we had to use a credit card.
In short, our stay at this supposedly revamped hotel proved to be rather disappointing. Hence, whilst I am conscious that other visitors, especially business people may not share our experience and may thus find the hotel to be perfectly acceptable, I am instructed by ‘she who must be obeyed’ that under no circumstances am I to book it again!

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMamiens, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Express Amiens, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Hi Edwin H
Thanks for this large review but a quite disapointed of this return..
I'll take not of your remarks to make this not happen again but did you contact at any time our reception which is open 24/24 7/7 for your water problem, or expresso machine ..to solve those?
Concerning the parking as told many times and indicated on website it's not OUR parking but a public one ... such a large review and maybe a star less for this part which is not from our fact make me feel sad.
Hope to see you again in AMIENS or in another IHG hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

This place is smack in the middle of town. However as an HIExp it is tired and dreary. Breakfast was unenterprising in a small and cramped dinning area. Rooms reasonable size but in need of modernisation despite describing itself as ‘new’.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Stuart_Away_Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMamiens, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amiens, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

Hi Stuart, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Amiens.
We are sorry that your stay did not entirely satisfy you. Our complimentary breakfast complies with IHG standards and we have a 75 seat room. Our hotel was totally renovated in 2015, so our rooms are quite modern.
We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amiens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018

Toilet paper too small, not fit for purpose. Quality of breakfast disappointing, not up to usual brand standard. BBC television and radio not available although staff said it should have been. The rough sleepers adjacent to the hotel entrance on the left were disconcerting. Location excellent, reception staff helpful. Bedroom clean and presentable. Rooms rather small.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APeterSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMamiens, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amiens, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Hi APeterSmith, thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Amiens. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our location, the cleanliness of our rooms and our staff. We are sorry that our breakfast does not meet your expectations, it is composed of more than 30 products including fresh and local products. We hope to welcome you again on your next stay in Amiens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

The Holiday Inn Express in Amiens is advertised as a new Holiday Inn Express however it is a rebranded hotel and the rooms are quite old. There isn't air conditioning in the rooms though they do have heaters. Breakfast is of a high standard and included in the room price. Parking is in the shopping centre car park next door and a bit run down and seedy.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barnycanbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMamiens, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amiens, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Hello Barnycanbill,
thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Amiens.
Our hotel was completely renovated in 2015 and meets Holiday Inn Express standards. Indeed, as indicated on our website, we do not have air conditioning but you have a fan at your disposal in each room. We are happy that the free breakfast meets your expectations. The Amiens2 public car park is currently undergoing renovations.
We hope to welcome you again on your next stay in Amiens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018

Stayed here for 3 nights in an emergency after our planned accommodation was found to be closed. At all times the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful, but on our first night when it had been 36C outside we had a small, dark room with no aircon and one fan. At midnight I had to go out into the street as it was impossibly hot in the room. Reception gave me their own fan, and luckily the next day we were able to change into a larger room with two windows. The hotel is well situated near the station and an easy walk into the centre, but whoever designed this building ought to be shot! Have an IHG loyaty card and have stayed in Holiday Inns many times, but would not return here. A hotel with no aircon nowadays is simply unacceptable. It also looks as though we have been charged twice for our stay, so will be taking it up with the hotel.

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank Dora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMamiens, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Express Amiens, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Thanks for sharing your review of your stay with us.

it is well indicated on our website that the hotel has no air conditioning and we suffered as the rest of France very hot weather. but also room size" which are all the same in an Holiday Inn exress no upgrade can be done ,
Fans are all working and can be put where you want in the room cause got a few sockets available around .

Can contact us but very surprise cause we never charged twice for a stay.

Once again, we are sorry that your stay did not satisfy you.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews