We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Powerful Tour”

Terres de Memoire Somme Battlefield Tours
Ranked #2 of 41 things to do in Amiens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a French company organising Battlefield Tours of the Western Front. Our groups are kept to small size. One day, two day, three day and private tours are available, leaving from Amiens Station. Booking is essential.Please visit our website for more information!
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Powerful Tour”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We recently took the Terres de Memoire WW1 battlefields tour out of Amiens. We wanted to focus on the Australian plus other aspects of WW1. Sylvestre's knowledge & passion for this subject were wonderful. Powerful experience . Great memories. Plan to get back from Australia to explore further. Highly recommended

Great job Sylvestre

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank LeeS_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    16
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must see for all Australians”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

It really surpassed our expectations, Sylvestre, the tour guide and business owner taught us about our own history in the French battlefields as well as immersing us in French culture. The day was well organised and we would highly recommend this tour to all Australians who visit France, it was just an hour by train from Paris. We visited cemetaries included a special visit to a communal cemetery where my great grandfather is buried, this is not usually part of the tour but it was included just for us. I had emailed them a few months prior and it really was a highlight of our six week trip away.sadly not enough is known or taught about the battles fought in this area, thousands of Australians died here. This is a must see!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna21P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Travelled from Australia to tour the battlefields.
My partners great grand father fought in the Somme and with a little bit of info we provided about him the company greeted us on the morning with full service records, notes and a map of the battle where he fought.
The company went above and beyond what we expected. We even detoured the tour to see the exact place he fought.
Highly recommended for anyone with an interest in seeing the battle fields.

Helpful?
3 Thank Gladsandkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just do it !”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Visited in May 2013 with my wife. Okay so I'm a little slow to place reviews!
From the moment of the first query online , and there were many that followed, to the booking of the tour, to the actual tour they were flawless. Their knowledge level was outstanding and Leah's help in getting us into the Victoria school and the shelter shed that says " do not forget Australia" to have photos taken was unforgettable.........viva la France

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank colin270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I agree with the previous reviewers -Excellent”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

I took the family on this tour with a mission to find my great uncles grave which has never been visited by family. Sylvester had already done some research on him and I was impressed that he had taken the trouble to find out some of his background. The visit to the grave was fitted into the whole experience. His knowledge of the Western Front was good and also his knowledge of Australia and how Australians think. Recommend these tours without reservation as they cater for smaller groups which allows flexibility of any individual requests.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles_shona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terres de Memoire Somme Battlefield Tours also viewed

 
Amiens, Somme
 

Been to Terres de Memoire Somme Battlefield Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing