We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Amiens Cathedrale
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Amiens
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent two nights here whilst travelling through France at the beginning and on the return journey, both times the stay was enjoyable thanks to the friendly and welcoming staff.
The rooms were air conditioned and very child friendly.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amiens and we hope to return again to this beautiful city again.

  • Liked — clean contemporary decor, very friendly staff
  • Disliked — parking outside limited to ten minutes
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H7076, Directeur général at Mercure Amiens Cathedrale, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Robert,
We hope that you will come back soon in our city !
Thank you for that very kind post !
Your satisfaction is our priority and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us !
Looking forward to your next stay !
Best regards
Cyril VANTARD
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    509
    116
    20
    6
See reviews for
188
510
66
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Mercure Amiens Cathedrale is a well located, modern facility which serves as a good base for exploring both Amiens and the WW1 battlefields. The rooms are modern, clean and equipped to typical 3 star business levels. It is only a short walk to the Cathedral and the centre of the city as well as all the restaurants along the quai next to the Somme River. Car parking is in a parking station 2 blocks away where you can purchase a 3-day pass for 21 Euro. My only criticism is that the service is a bit "patchy" and as an example, our room developed an air-conditioning leak which necessitated a change of rooms. There was no offer to assist with the move and whilst the new room had a cathedral view (and thus was considered an upgrade), it wasn't as well equipped and didn't have a sofa.

Room Tip: If you want a cathedral-view room, I suggest you ask for a higher floor, both to improve the view an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H7076, Directeur général at Mercure Amiens Cathedrale, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Mark,
I thank you for the time you take to write your feedback.
We are glad that you spend good time with us even if you had a climatisation eak in your room.
I want to apologize for this desagreement.
Your review will help us to improve our services,
Sincerely
Cyril VANTARD
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We only spent a single night here before doing a battlefield tour but enjoyed our stay. Our room was probably one of the more poorly located ones in the hotel but as we were only there the one night we weren't concerned. The hotel was well located (near the Cathedral) the beds were comfortable, the price was reasonable (not cheap but not too expensive) and the staff were honest if not particularly attentive at times.

An example of the good service this hotel can deliver was demonstrated when my daughter left a number of items of clothing in the closet and while we were on the battlefield tour we received an email from the hotel alerting us to this. We then swung by the hotel on our way to the airport at the end of the tour and picked them up.

The only reason I wouldn't give the hotel a 5 was because the "express" breakfast took forever. We had to end up approaching staff several times to have it brought to our table and then when it was eventually brought to us (with no cutlery, no milk or sugar, no jam etc) we had no time to eat it as our tour operators had arrived to collect us. The whole point of ordering the "express" breakfast, which consisted only of a croissant and coffee eaten at the bar or a small barside table was to get in and out quickly. We even told the staff we were in a hurry when we ordered it but still it was incredibly slow and in the end we didn't get to enjoy what we paid for.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room overlooking the Cathedral?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wisewoman0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H7076, Directeur général at Mercure Amiens Cathedrale, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Deb,
Thank you for your review !
By this review you help us to improve service in our hotel. Be ensured that we already work on the express breakfast as you mentionned.
We hope to see you again in our hotel, to discover our city, with the Cathedral, the Hortillonnages and the Jules Verne's house.
Kind regards
Cyril VANTARD
Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in Amiens as we were to be collected from there for a WW1 battlefield tour. The room although not luxurious was spacious and nicely decorated. The location was amazing as we looked out of our window to the Amiens Cathedral. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. Breakfast just OK. Rate of AUD $180 good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H7076, Directeur général at Mercure Amiens Cathedrale, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Robyn,
Your review fill us of proud !
Your are very glad that you had good time in our hotel !
We want to thank you for the time you spend to write in this website.
We hope that you had enough time to discover our nice city, and maybe you'll want to discover it in winter, there is a very nice Christmas market in december.
Kind regards
Cyril VANTARD
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Simple, just where you need it to be. Parked outside with no problem, then walked everywhere after that. The room was really modern, and spotlessly clean. The staff were very helpful, gave us a map, and pointed out where to go that was good. Really no need as its all very good, and all in walking distance.The surrounding are beautiful, very clean, and a pleasure to have a stroll round with out having to do too much walking [ good for those who don't want to walk to much]. The only pitfall is that its a lot of money i think for a mid range hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H7076, Directeur général at Mercure Amiens Cathedrale, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Edward,
Thank you for your kind review !
As you mentionned we are well situated, in front of the magnificent Cathedral, and very near from the historic center.
We can see the Cathedral ligth show from several rooms.
We hope to see you another time in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Cyril VANTARD
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We used the hotel as a "base" to visit war gravesite of wife's great uncle for our first day of our 8 weeks in France. Our Privilege Room with 1 king-size bed room was ideal with a view of the Cathdral. Located close to the restaurants. The only downside was the lack on-site car parking. We needed to use a closeby car public car park. Make sure you take Euro cash or coin to pay for the parking. With my limited French I could not read the instructions to use credit card or cash card. The drop off and pick up car parking in front of the hotel is limited. Word of warning: Even though the car had a GPS we fortunately used our faithful Tom Tom (with downloaded Europe map) to guide us around. Highly recommended for non or limited French speaking Australians! Also the challenge of French toll ("Péage"). They vary in cost and some are manned and others are cash or credit card. But expect delays and look for the correct symbols for cash or card. We mis read one and it was for a pre paid tags only - had to back out of lane. But the French are very patient and understanding!!

Room Tip: Take your own GPS if driving and breakfast supplies if you are accustomed to light breakfasts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoorooImOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H7076, Directeur général at Mercure Amiens Cathedrale, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Customers,
Thank you so much for your kind review !
The entire team of the hotel is very proud of this compliments.
I hope to welcome you another time to discover the city and the landscape around ...
Best regards
Cyril VANTARD
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel and Amiens way exceeded our expectations when we stayed for a night on our way up to catch the ferry home. Amiens is a beautiful and interesting town, with a magnificent cathedral and pretty canals. The hotel is ideally located in the centre of town, right by the cathedral, restaurants, shops and canals, but quiet for a good night's rest. Our room was large and very comfortable and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We strolled a couple of hundred yards to an excellent restaurant for dinner, where we sat outside with a lovely view of the cathedral. We called at the Tourist Information Office next to the cathedral, who were very helpful in giving us a free English guide to the Somme battlefields - well worth having if you are interested in visiting these. We were able to park our car in the street outside the hotel and as it was Sunday there was no charge until midday Monday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenelopeL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H7076, Directeur général at Mercure Amiens Cathedrale, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Penelope
Thank you for your positive comments with regards to the hotel’s location.
I am delighted that you appreciated your stay. Your remarks encourage us to maintain a high quality level.
We hope that your comment will inspire others internauts to discover our hotel and our beautifull city.
Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in our hotel
Best regards
Cyril VANTARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amiens hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Prieure
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amiens
0.6 mi away
Campanile Amiens Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Amiens Centre Cathedrale
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Amiens Cathedrale
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marotte
Hotel Marotte
#6 of 20 in Amiens
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Amiens Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amiens Cathedrale

Property: Mercure Amiens Cathedrale
Address: 21 23 rue Flatters, 80000, Amiens, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Amiens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Amiens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amiens Cathedrale 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Amiens Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing