We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best choice of M.Hulot ....before us .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel De La Plage
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Saint-Nazaire
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Even rooms are small , this is one of the most charming place in France in front of the sea ...
The staff is very pleasant and gives you approriate advices about everything .
The sand beach is clean and a bath can be taken without any problem , just check water temperature .....

Room Tip: Ask for a front sea view ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdlpSaintNazaire, GHP Hotels at Best Western Hotel De La Plage, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

All the team of The Best Western Hotel de la Plage would like to thank you for your commentary about our hotel. It was a very pleasure to welcome you and help you in order to discover our lovely country.

Hoping to see you again for an other stay!!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 271 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel and restaurant with an old fashioned elegance about it, yes our room was small but the view, the sheer joy of the view, simply amazing.
The room is decorated in contemporary chic, the staff are all rushing around for everyone, willing to help with anything at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdlpSaintNazaire, GHP Hotels at Best Western Hotel De La Plage, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear guess,

All the hotel team would like to thank you for your commentary on its hotel.

We are happy to welcome our guess in our hotel located on the famous Mr Hulot's beach.

We hope to see you again for a next stay.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Once again I was traveling for work and our hosts reserved rooms for us in this very nice hotel. Right on the beach! As I like to do, I arrived a day before our meetings were scheduled to begin and I spent a beautiful, sunny day walking the area and visiting the beach. I'm glad I traveled a day early because the rest of the week was either overcast and windy or drizzling rain.

Sunday morning the little town of Saint Marc Sur Mer has an open air market about a block away from the hotel. Lots of little booths with specialty food. Cheeses, fruits, vegetables, meats, fishes and breads. There is a little store across the street and a couple of small restaurants close by.

I enjoyed the comfort of the hotel but the weather could have been better.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EC170131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdlpSaintNazaire, GHP Hotels at Best Western Hotel De La Plage, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Guess,

We would like to thank you for your commentary on our hotel.

It was a real pleasure to welcome you and we hope having to see you again for a new stay!!!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed over on the way south so that we could visit Nantes - the hotel is right on the beach in a small, pleasant, suburb of St Nazaire. Very pleasant and helpful staff, the room, with a view across the lovely beach, was not huge but perfectly acceptable, clean and well appointed. The storm crashing onto the beach lulled us to sleep! Hotel restaurant was very good - food was imaginative and good quality, service was good although once the rooms filled up (mainly with locals) after 8pm there were not really enough waiting staff to keep everyone happy. Definitely worth reserving if it is anything like busy. Not much alternative locally apart from a couple of bars and a pizza parlour and the restaurant is not a cheap option. Travelled into Nantes from here - concierge suggested that we drive to the Atlantis shopping centre on the west side of the city (about 40 mins) and take the tram from here - excellent way around the traffic - tram leaves from outside the southern side of the mall and costs E 1.50 to the centre, about 20 mins.

Room Tip: Worth the supplement for the sea view 2nd floor - car park view is less romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mnivalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdlpSaintNazaire, GHP Hotels at Best Western Hotel De La Plage, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Guess,

We would like to thank for your commentary.

It is a real pleasure to welcome you in our hotel and in our country.

Hoping to see again during a next stay.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very famous hotel, starred in a "M. Hulot" film of the fifties. Seen this hotel many times as we viewed the beach nearby, We booked in for four nights arrived just after the twice a week market which occupies the access street closed, ( Sunday and Thursday street closed until 3 PM). I am disabled and had checked before with the hotel to confirm there was a Blue Badge parking spot, ( extra width for drivers door to open fully). There was one, but when I saw the access to the hotel I was horror struck, 8 or 9 steep steps, no sign of a ramp, later confirmed there is not one, although there is planty of room to install one. Staff are very helpful it gettingl uggage in, but, I had great difficulty getting up the steps, the smokers use the steps to sit on and use the two hand rails also to sit on.
A bit of a problem with reception, sorted out by a trip by the receptionist to the "Office".
Very good room faceing the " M Hulot" beach.
I highly rate the hotel and restaurant and our room.
One of the best smaller French we have stayed, good disabled facilities inside, BUT those steps!!!

Room Tip: a room overlooking the " M Hulot" beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G3erd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Arrived in the dark, so it was hard to judge exactly where this place was. Next morning I opened the curtains and - wow, beach, sea! Restaurant is good, and also overlooks the beach. Other reviewers have noted the rather small rooms. Staff generally friendly, if you make the effort to speak a little French. Average continental breakfast. Room was too warm, and I could not turn off the radiator.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel de la Plage, Saint Marc Sur Mer, in March and had a wonderful time there. We upgraded to the terrace room (in order to fit the baby cot into the room) and we were so glad that we did. Although we only had one day of sunshine, it was absolutely worth the extra cost to sit out on our terrace and enjoy a beer watching the waves roll in on the beach.
The local restaurants and people were welcoming and accommodating.
The reception staff were particularly friendly and helpful.
We will return as soon as we are able to take more vacation time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBGB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Nazaire
4.9 mi away
Hotel du Beryl et Casino
Hotel du Beryl et Casino
#1 of 4 in Saint-Brevin-les-Pins
1,769 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Nazaire
5.4 mi away
Ibis Saint Nazaire Trignac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel De L'Europe
Comfort Hotel De L'Europe
#9 of 23 in Saint-Nazaire
69 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Saint Nazaire
2.3 mi away
HOTEL ECO NUIT Saint Nazaire
HOTEL ECO NUIT Saint Nazaire
#7 of 23 in Saint-Nazaire
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel De La Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel De La Plage

Address: 37 rue du Commandant Charcot | Plage de Monsieur Hulot, 44600, Saint-Nazaire, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Saint-Nazaire
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Saint-Nazaire
Price Range: $88 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel De La Plage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the BEST WESTERN Hôtel de la Plage, the setting for Jacques Tati’s famous film Les Vacances de Monsieur Hulot (‘Monsieur Hulot’s Holiday’). Set in the village of Saint Marc sur Mer, it is the only hotel on the Guérande peninsula that is right on the beach, looking out across the Atlantic Ocean. Completely refurbished in 2008, the hotel offers rooms that combine charm and comfort, each oneunique, decorated in different shades of colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Hotel De La Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Nazaire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing