We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A great surprise

We really didn’t want to go on the shipyard tour, thinking it would be a bore. What a mistake... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
LVSteven
,
Las Vegas, NV
Airbus factory - go visit it

Such a wonderful experience and I found out about it on here. Reserved a few days in advance and... read more

Reviewed September 6, 2016
p0lak
,
Winchester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 145 reviews
  
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
102
36
5
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
36
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dry dock seas coach photos shipyard construction cruise ships tour guide
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 145 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

Such a wonderful experience and I found out about it on here.

Reserved a few days in advance and did a French speaking tour but it was perfect and better than the Toulouse assembly plant. Here you walk in a real factory and observe planes being built in real time, such a wonderful experience. We had an A380 fuselage on a low-loader drive right past us.

I can speak French but I understand they do English tours over Summer.

We saw fuselages of all of the Airbus family being built right from adding parts together to form outer body, to the laying of electrics, water, hydraulics and fuel systems. Including military and civilian.

PS little tricky to get to from the Bridge (through an industrial estate) but parking literally opposite. Also convenient supermarket just at the car-park for a drink / food afterwards.

Ps not allowed to post link on here but this tour is part of standard "port" offering and all details on their web site.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank p0lak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

These two tours seem to be the same. We had a lovely English speaking guide who was very knowledgeable. We were collected from the submarine base by coach, and driven to the dry dock to see the MSC Meraviglia in its last stages of construction. She is to be launched next year and will be the largest cruise ship (6,500+).It was very interesting to hear of the different stages of construction, and to see the dry dock so closely. Also, in earlier stages of construction is the sister ship to Harmony of the Seas, which was completed here last year. We are cruise enthusiasts, and coming from Southampton see many of the finished vessels, so it was just up our street.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank trescomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

Although I rate this a 5 star..... there are 2 factors to bear in mind: (a) I'm a geek for any such practical "exhibit" such as this, (b) 90% of the time you are in the bus... so front seats are optimal! We took the English guided tour - which was very informative. You are allowed out to get somewhat up close to the ships in the dry dock. Unfortunately you are NOT allowed to take ANY photos :-(

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Naas-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

This visit is a must if you go to Saint-Nazaire - very instructive, the guide was excellent, she was very knowledgable about all ship building process, history etc. We could see two huge ships under construction close-up.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank baboeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews